Tag Archives: Steve Hillage

On February 13, 1976.

On February 13, 1976, “Virgin” label released “Shamal”, the sixth Gong studio album. It was recorded in December 1975, at “Basing Street Studios” and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Nick Mason.


  • Mike Howlett– bass guitar, vocals
  • Didier Malherbe– tenor sax, soprano sax, flute, bansuri, gongs
  • Mireille Bauer– marimba, glockenspiel, xylophone, percussion, gongs
  • Pierre Moerlen– drums, vibraphone, tubular bells
  • Patrice Lemoine – organ, piano, synthesizer
  • Steve Hillage– acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Miquette Giraudy, Sandy Colley – vocals
  • Jorge Pinchevsky – violin
  • Phil Ault, Dave Hutchins, Ben Tavera King, Rick Curtain, Ben King: engineer
  • Clive Arrowsmith: artwork, photography

Track listing:

  1. Wingful of Eyes – Mike Howlett
  2. Chandra – Patrice Lemoine
  3. Bambooji – Didier Malherbe
  4. Cat in Clark’s Shoes – Didier Malherbe
  5. Mandrake – Pierre Moerlen
  6. Shamal – Mike Howlett, Didier Malherbe, Patrice Lemoine, Mireille Bauer

In August 1981.

In August 1981, “Virgin” label released “Sons and Fascination/Sister Feelings Call”, the fourth Simple Minds album. It was recorded in 1981, and was produced by Steve Hillage. “Sons and Fascination”  and “Sister Feelings Call” were two separate albums, assembled from the same sessions and released at the same time and, in some instances, sold as a double-LP set.


  • Jim Kerr– vocals
  • Charlie Burchill– guitars
  • Mick MacNeil– keyboards
  • Derek Forbes– basses
  • Brian McGee– drums
  • Ken Lockie
  • Jaqui

Track listing:

Sons and Fascination

All lyrics by Jim Kerr, all music by Jim Kerr, Charlie Burchill, Mick MacNeil, Derek Forbes and Brian McGee.

  1. In Trance as Mission
  2. Sweat in Bullet
  3. 70 Cities as Love Brings the Fall
  4. Boys From Brazil
  5. Love Song
  6. This Earth That You Walk Upon
  7. Sons and Fascination
  8. Seeing out the Angel

Sister Feelings Call

All lyrics by Jim Kerr, all music by Jim Kerr, Charlie Burchill, Mick MacNeil, Derek Forbes and Brian McGee.

  1. Theme for Great Cities
  2. The American
  3. 20th Century Promised Land
  4. Wonderful in Young Life
  5. League of Nations
  6. Careful in Career
  7. Sound in 70 Cities” (Dub mix of “70 Cities as Love Brings the Fall”)

In May 1973.

In May 1973, “Harvest” label released “Bananamour”, the fourth Kevin Ayers studio album. It was recorded September-October 1972, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Kevin Ayers and Andrew King.


  • Kevin Ayers- guitar, vocals
  • Archie Legget – bass, harmony and lead vocals
  • Eddie Sparrow – drums
  • Steve Hillage- leead guitar
  • Mike Ratledge- organ
  • Robert Wyatt- harmony vocal
  • David Bedford- orchestral arrangement
  • Howie Casey- tenor saxophone
  • Dave Caswell – trumpet
  • Tristan Fry- cymbal
  • Lyle Jenkins – baritone saxophone
  • Ronnie Price – piano
  • Barry St. John- vocals
  • Liza Strike – vocals
  • Doris Troy- vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Kevin Ayers

  1. Don’t Let It Get You Down (For Rachel)
  2. Shouting in a Bucket Blues
  3. When Your Parents Go to Sleep
  4. Interview
  5. Internotional Anthem
  6. Decadence
  7. Oh! Wot A Dream
  8. Hymn
  9. Beware of the Dog


On May 25, 1973.


On May 25, 1973, “Virgin” label released “Flying Teapot”, the fourth Gong album. It was recorded in January 1973, at “The Manor Studios” in Oxford, and was produced by Giorgio Gomelsky. In the “Q” & “Mojo” magazines “Classic Special Edition Pink Floyd & The Story of Prog Rock”, “Flying Teapot” was ranked at number 35 on the list of the “40 Cosmic Rock Albums”.


  • Daevid Allen– vocals, guitar
  • Gilli Smyth– vocals
  • Tim Blake– keyboards, vocals
  • Didier Malherbe– saxes, flute
  • Steve Hillage– guitar
  • Christian Tritsch– guitar
  • Francis Moze– keyboards, bass guitar
  • Laurie Allan– drums
  • Rachid Houari – percussion

Track listing:

  1. Radio Gnome Invisible – Daevid Allen
  2. Flying Teapot – Daevid Allen, Francis Moze
  3. The Pot Head Pixies – Daevid Allen
  4. The Octave Doctors And The Crystal Machine – Tim Blake
  5. Zero The Hero And The Witch’s Spell – Daevid Allen, Tim Blake, Christian Tritsch
  6. Witch’s Song/I Am Your Pussy – Gill Smyth, Daevid Allen

On April 11, 1975.


On April 11, 1975, “Virgin” label released “Fish Rising”, the debut Steve Hillage solo album. It was recorded at “Manor Studio” in September 1974 and, “Manor Mobile” in January 1975, and was produced by Steve Hillage and Simon Heyworth.


  • Steve Hillage (listed as Steve Hillfish) – lead vocals, electric guitar
  • Miquette Giraudy (listed as Bombaloni Yoni) – background vocals, keyboards, synthesizers
  • Mike Howlett– bass
  • Pierre Moerlen– drums, marimba, darbuka
  • Tim Blake (listed as Moonweed) – synthesizers, tamboura
  • Didier Malherbe (listed as Bloomdido Glid de Breeze) – sax, flute
  • Lindsay Cooper– bassoon
  • Dave Stewart– organ, piano

Track listing:

All music by Steve Hillage, lyrics by Steve Hillage and Miquette Giraudy.

  1. Solar Musick Suite
  2. Sun Song (I Love its Holy Mystery)
  3. Canterbury Sunrise
  4. Hiram Afterglid Meets the Dervish
  5. Sun Song (reprise)
  6. Fish
  7. Meditation of the Snake
  8. The Salmon Song
  9. Salmon Pool
  10. Solomon’s Atlantis Salmon
  11. Swimming with the Salmon
  12. King of the Fishes
  13. Aftaglid
  14. Sun Moon Surfing
  15. The Great Wave and the Boat of Hermes
  16. The Silver Ladder
  17. Astral Meadows
  18. The Lafta Yoga Song
  19. Glidding
  20. The Golden Vibe / Outglid

On December 7, 1973.

Angels Egg

On December 7, 1973, “Virgin” label released “Angels Egg”, the fifth Gong album. It was recorded August 1973, at the “Manor Mobile” in France, and was produced by Gong. ”Angels Egg” is the second of the Gong’s “Radio Gnome” trilogy of albums, following “Flying Teapot” and preceding “You”.


  • Bloomdido Bad De Grass (Didier Malherbe) – tenor / soprano  saxophone , floot, bi-focal vocal
  • Shakti Yoni (Gilli Smyth) – space whisper, loin cackle
  • Being esq. (Mike Howlett, spelled Howlitt on composer credits) – basso profundo
  • Capt. Hillage (Steve Hillage) – lewd guitar
  • Hi T. Moonweed (the favourite) (Tim Blake) – Cynthia “size a”, lady voce
  • Pierre de Strasbourg (Pierre Moerlen, spelled Moerlin on composer credits) – bread & batteur drums, vibes, marimba
  • Mirielle de Strasbourg (Mireille Bauer) – glockenspiel
  • Dingo Virgin (Daevid Allen) – local vocals, aluminium croon, glissando guitar

Track listing

  1. Other Side of the Sky – Tim Blake, Daevid Allen
  2. Sold to the Highest Buddha – Mike Howlett, Daevid Allen
  3. Castle in the Clouds – Steve Hillage
  4. Prostitute Poem – Gilli Smyth, Steve Hillage
  5. Givin My Luv to You – Daevid Allen
  6. Selene – Daevid Allen
  7. Flute Salad – Didier Malherbe
  8. Oily Way – Daevid Allen, Didier Malherbe
  9. Outer Temple – Tim Blake, Steve Hillage
  10. Inner Temple – Daevid Allen, Didier Malherbe
  11. Percolations – Pierre Moerlen
  12. Love is How u Make It – Pierre Moerlen, Daevid Allen
  13. I Niver Glid Before – Steve Hillage
  14. Eat That Phone Book Coda – Didier Malherbe