Tag Archives: 1979

On May 30, 1980.

On May 30, 1980, “Jet” label released “G-Force”, the fourth Gary Moore album. It was recorded December 1979 – January 1980. At “Cherokee Studios” in Hollywood, “Record Plant” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Gary Moore, Mark Nauseef, Willie Dee and Tony Newton.


  • Gary Moore– lead and backing vocals, guitars, keyboards, string arrangements
  • Willie Dee – lead and backing vocals, bass, keyboards, Korgbass synthesizer
  • Tony Newton– bass guitar, string arrangements
  • Mark Nauseef– drums, percussion, percussion syntesiszer
  • Joachim Kuhn– additional keyboards
  • Tom Scott– saxophone, string arrangements
  • Thee Ox – marimba
  • Mack, Mark Sackett, Tom La Tondre – engineers
  • Dennis Mackay – remixing
  • Moshe Brakha – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Gary Moore, except where noted.

  1. You
  2. White Knuckles / Rockin’ and Rollin’ – Gary Moore, Mark Nauseef
  3. She’s Got You – Gary Moore, Mark Nauseef
  4. I Look at You
  5. Because of Your Love – Tony Newton, Willie Dee, Duane Hitchings
  6. You Kissed Me Sweetly – Gary Moore, Tony Newton, Willie Dee
  7. Hot Gossip
  8. The Woman’s in Love
  9. Dancin’ – Gary Moore, Mark Nauseef, Tony Newton, Willie Dee

On May 26, 1979.

On May 26, 1979, “Mercury” label released “Candy”, the fifth Con Funk Shun album. It was recorded December 1978 – April 1979, at “The Automatt” in San Francisco, and was produced by Michaell Cooper, Louis A. McCall, Felton Pilate, Karl Fuller, Cedric Martin, Danny Thomas and Paul Harrell.


  • Michael Vernon Cooper – lead and backing vocals, lead and rhythm guitar, electric sitar, percussion
  • Louis A. McCall– vocals, drums, electronic drums, percussion
  • Felton C. Pilate– lead vocals, trombone, trumpet, electric piano, synthesizer, percussion
  • Karl Fuller – vocals, trumpet, flugelhorn, trombone, percussion
  • Paul Harrell – vocals, soprano and tenor saxophone, flute, percussion
  • Cedric Martin – lead vocals, bass guitar, percussion
  • Danny A. Thomas – vocals, clavinet, organ, electric piano, synthesizer, percussion
  • Skip Scarborough– clavinet, piano
  • Sheila Escovedo– timbales
  • Jack Trotter, Michael Alexander – trumpet
  • Bill Summers– congas
  • Roger Glenn – flute
  • David Crawford – string arrangements, conductor
  • Terry Adams – concertmaster
  • Greg Blockman – MC
  • Linda Lou McCall – production assistant
  • Skip Scarborough – co – producer
  • Leslie Ann Jones – engineer
  • Don Cody – engineer, remix
  • Chris Minto, Chuck Gebhart, Ken Kessie, Stacy Baird – engineer assistant
  • Fred Catero – remix
  • Joe Hansch – mastering
  • Darris Destiny – art direction
  • John Youss – cover lettering
  • Jim Cornfield – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Michaell Cooper, Louis A. McCall, Felton Pilate, Karl Fuller, Cedric Martin, Danny Thomas and Paul Harrell.

  1. Fire When Ready
  2. Chase Me
  3. Not Ready
  4. Da Lady
  5. Candy
  6. (Let Me Put) Love On Your Mind
  7. Main Slice
  8. Images


On May 14, 1981.

On May 14, 1981, “A&M” label released “Breaking All the Rules”, the seventh Peter Frampton studio album. It was recorded 1979 – 1981, at “The Charlie Chaplin Sound Stage”, “A & M Studios”, and was produced by Peter Frampton, David Kershenbaum, Chris Kimsey and Harvey Goldberg.


  • Peter Frampton – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Steve Lukather- guitar
  • John Regan- bass guitar
  • Arthur Stead- piano, synthesizer, electric piano, organ, Fender Rhodes
  • Jeff Porcaro- drums, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Frampton except where noted.

  1. Dig What I Say
  2. I Don’t Wanna Let You Go
  3. Rise Up – Alessi Brothers
  4. Wasting the Night Away
  5. Going to L.A.
  6. You Kill Me
  7. Friday on My Mind – George Young, Harry Vanda
  8. Lost a Part of You
  9. Breaking All the Rules – Peter Frampton, Keith Reid

On April 23, 1979.

On April 23, 1979, Douglass Haywood Rauch died aged 28. He was musician (bass), known for his unique and pioneering use of thumb in a downward and upward motion, technique now commonly referred to as “double thumbing”. Rauch performed and recorded with Buzzy Linhart, Voices of East Harlem, Bunky and Jake, Carly Simon, Loading Zone, Gábor Szabó, Tony Williams, David Bowie, Lenny White, Billy Cobham, Papa John Creach, Betty Davis, John McLaughlin, the George Duke Band and Jan Hammer, but was best known as member of Santana.

On April 13, 1979.

On April 13, 1979, “Blue Plate” and “Virgin” labels released “Rainbow Dome Musick”, the sixth Steve Hillage album. It was recorded in 1979, and was produced by Steve Hillage and Miquette Giraudy. It was ranked among the “1,000 Greatest Albums of All Time” by The Guardian.


 Steve Hillage– lead guitar, electric guitar, glissando guitar, Fender Rhodes, ARP synthesizer, Moog synthesizer

  • Miquette Giraudy– double sequencer, Fender Rhodes, ARP Omni, Tibetan bells
  • Rupert Atwill – Eventide Harmoniser
  • Rupert Atwill / Laserphaze – design

Tracks listing:

  1. Garden of Paradise – Miguette Giraudy, Steve Hillage
  2. Four Ever Rainbow – Steve Hillage

On April 9, 1979.

On April 5, 1979, “CBS” label released “Laser Love”, the second After the Fire studio album. It was recorded July – August 1978, at “Record Plant” in New York City, and was produced by Muff Winwood, Rhett Davies, Rupert Hine, John Leckie, Andy Piercy, Peter Banks, John Russell and Igor Twidell.


  • Andy Piercy – vocals, guitar, bass
  • Peter Banks – keyboards
  • John Russell – guitar
  • Igor Twidell – drums

Track listing:

  1. Laser Love – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks
  2. Joy – Peter Banks, Andy Piercy, John Russell, Ivor Twiddell
  3. Take Me Higher – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks
  4. Life in the City – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks
  5. Suspended Animation – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks
  6. Like the Power of a Jet – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks
  7. One Rule For You – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks
  8. Time to Think – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks
  9. Timestar – Peter Banks
  10. Check It Out – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks


In February 1980.

In February 1980, “Polydor” label released “Gradually Going Tornado”, the fourth Bruford album. It was recorded October – November 1979, at “Surrey Sound Studios” in Surrey, UK, and was produced by Bill Bruford and Ron Malo.


  • Bill Bruford– drums
  • Dave Stewart– keyboards
  • John Clark – guitar
  • Jeff Berlin– vocals, bass
  • Georgie Born– cello
  • Amanda Parsons, Barbara Gaskin– choir
  • Ron Malo – engineer
  • Pete Buhlman – tape operator
  • Martin Moss – engineer, second engineer
  • Paul Neagu– art direction, design

Track listing:

  1. Age of Information – Bill Bruford, Dave Stewart
  2. Gothic 17 – Bill Bruford, Dave Stewart
  3. Joe Frazier – Jeff Berlin
  4. E.D. – Bill Bruford, Dave Stewart
  5. The Sliding Floor – Jeff Berlin, Bill Bruford, Dave Stewart
  6. Palewell Park – Bill Bruford
  7. Plans for J.D. – Bill Bruford
  8. Land’s End – Dave Stewart