Tag Archives: London

In July 1976.

In July 1976, “Vertigo” label released “Howlin’ Wind”, the debut Graham Parker and The Rumour album. It was recorded in 1976, at “Eden Studios” in London, and was produced by Nick Lowe.


  • Graham Parker– vocals, acoustic guitar, Fender rhythm guitar
  • Brinsley Schwarz– guitar, Hammond organ, backing vocals
  • Bob Andrews– Lowrey organ, Hammond organ, piano, backing vocals
  • Martin Belmont– guitar, backing vocals
  • Steve Goulding– drums, backing vocals
  • Andrew Bodnar– Fender bass
  • Stewart Lynas – brass arrangement
  • Herschel Holder – trumpet
  • Dave Conners – first tenor saxophone
  • Brinsley Schwarz – second tenor saxophone
  • Danny Ellis– trombone
  • John “Viscount” Earle– saxophone
  • Paul Bailey – guitar
  • Dave Otway – drums
  • Paul Riley– bass guitar
  • Noel Brown – slide guitar, dobro
  • Dave Edmunds– guitar
  • Ed Deane– slide guitar
  • Stewart Lynas – alto saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Graham Parker.

  1. White Honey
  2. Nothin’s Gonna Pull Us Apart
  3. Silly Thing
  4. Gypsy Blood
  5. Between You and Me
  6. Back to Schooldays
  7. Soul Shoes
  8. Lady Doctor
  9. You’ve Got to Be Kidding
  10. Howlin’ Wind
  11. Not If It Pleases Me
  12. Don’t Ask Me Questions



In July 1976.

In July 1976, “RCA” label released “Year of the Cat”, the seventh Al Stewart studio album. It was recorded in 1976, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Alan Parsons. The cover design was by Hipgnosis and illustrator Colin Elgie.


  • Al Stewart – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Peter White- guitar, keyboards
  • John Perry – background vocals
  • Tim Renwick- guitar
  • Andrew Powell- string arrangements
  • Bobby Bruce – violin
  • Marion Driscoll – percussion
  • Stuart Elliott- drums, percussion
  • George Ford – bass
  • Phil Kenzie- alto saxophone
  • Don Lobster – keyboards
  • David Pack- background vocals
  • Tony Rivers- background vocals
  • Graham Smith – harmonica
  • Peter Wood- keyboards

Track listing:

All tracks by Al Stewart, except where noted.

  1. Lord Grenville
  2. On the Border
  3. Midas Shadow
  4. Sand in Your Shoes
  5. If it Doesn’t Come Naturally, Leave It
  6. Flying Sorcery
  7. Broadway Hotel
  8. One Stage Before
  9. Year of the Cat – Al Stewart, Peter Wood

In July 1975.

In July 1975, “Chrysalis” label released “Force It”, the fourth UFO studio album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Morgan Studios”, “Wessex Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by Leo Lyons. The cover art was by Hipgnosis.

• Phil Mogg – vocals
• Michael Schenker – guitar
• Pete Way – bass
• Andy Parker – drums
• Chick Churchill – keyboards
• Leo LyonsMike Bobak, Mike Thompson – engineers

Track listing:
All tracks by Michael Schenker and Phil Mogg, except where noted.
1. Let It Roll
2. Shoot Shoot – Michael Schenker, Phil Moog, Pete Way, Andy Parker
3. High Flyer
4. Love Lost Love
5. Out in the Street – Pete Way, Phil Moog
6. Mother Mary – Michael Schenker, Phil Moog, Pete Way, Andy Parker
7. Too Much of Nothing
8. Dance Your Life Away
9. This Kid’s” (including “Between the Walls”, written by Michael Schenker)


On July 15, 1983.

On July 15, 1983, “Mercury” label released “The Crossing”, the debut Big Country studio album. It was recorded in May 1983, at “The Manor” in Oxfordshire, “RAK Studios” in London, and was produced by Steve Lillywhite. In December 1983, “The Crossing” was certified Platinum in Canada by “CRIA”, and in February 1984 it was certified Platinum in UK by the “BPI”.


  • Stuart Adamson– vocals, guitar, piano, e-bow
  • Bruce Watson– guitar, mandolin, sitar, vocals, e-bow
  • Tony Butler– bass, vocals
  • Mark Brzezicki– drums, percussion, vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Stuart Adamson, Mark Brzezicki, Tony Butler, Bruce Watson, except where noted.

  1. In a Big Country
  2. Chance
  3. 1000 Stars
  4. The Storm
  5. Harvest Home
  6. Lost Patrol
  7. Close Action
  8. Fields of Fire (400 Miles)
  9. Porrohman


In July 1973.

In July 1973, “RCA” label released “Berlin” the third Lou Reed solo album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Morgan Studios” in London, “Record Plant Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Bob Ezrin. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Berlin” at number 344 on its list the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”


  • Lou Reed – vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Bob Ezrin– piano, mellotron, arrangement
  • Steve Hunter– electric guitar
  • Dick Wagner– electric guitar, background vocals
  • Jack Bruce– bass
  • Aynsley Dunbar– drums
  • Steve Winwood– organ, harmonium
  • Michael Brecker– tenor saxophone
  • Randy Brecker– trumpet
  • Tony Levin– bass
  • J. Wilson– drums
  • Allan Macmillan – piano
  • Gene Martynec– acoustic guitar, synthesizer, vocal arrangement, bass
  • Jon Pierson – bass trombone
  • Blue Weaver– piano
  • Steve Hyden, Elizabeth March, Lou Reed, Dick Wagner – choir
  • Jim Reeves – engineer
  • Allan Macmillan – arrangement

Track listing:

All tracks by Lou Reed.

  1. Berlin
  2. Lady Day
  3. Men of Good Fortune
  4. Caroline Says I
  5. How Do You Think It Feels
  6. Oh, Jim
  7. Caroline Says II
  8. The Kids
  9. The Bed
  10. Sad Song

On July 9, 1983.

On July 9, 1983, “Innervision” label released “Fantastic”, the debut Wham! studio album. It was recorded 1981 – 1983, at “Maison Rouge Studios” in London, and was produced by Steve Brown, George Michael and Bob Carter. The album was certified Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”, and 3 x Platinum in UK by the “BPI”.


  • George Michael – vocals, background vocals, keyboards
  • Robert Ahwai, Andrew Ridgeley – guitar
  • Jess Bailey, Bob Carter, Anne Dudley, Tommy Eyre – keyboards
  • Baps, Guy Barker, Raoul, Colin Graham, Chris Hunter, Roddy Lorimer, Iain MacKintosh, Ian Ritchie, Paul Cox, Geoff Daley, Martin Drover – horn
  • Graham Broad, Trevor Murrell– drums
  • Jimmy Chambers, George Chandler Linda Hayes, Shirlie Holliman, Tony Jackson, Josie James, Katie Kisson, Stevie Lang, C. Lee, Sylvia Mason – background vocals
  • Andy Duncan – drums, percussion
  • Deon Estus, Brad Lang, John McKenzie– bass
  • Luis Jardim, Tony Moroni – percussion
  • Dave Mortimer – shouts
  • Paul Ridgeley – guitar, shouts
  • Chris Craymer, Janusz Guttner – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by George Michael, except where noted.

  1. Bad Boys
  2. A Ray of Sunshine
  3. Love Machine – Pete Moore, Billy Griffin
  4. Wham Rap! (Enjoy What You Do) – Michael Andrew Ridgeley
  5. Club Tropicana – Michael Andrew Ridgeley
  6. Nothing Looks the Same in the Light
  7. Come On
  8. Young Guns (Go for It!)

On July 8, 2016.

On July 8, 2016, “Play It Again Sam” label released “Take Her Up to Monto”, the fourth Róisín Murphy studio album. It was recorded 2014 – 2016, at “RMS Studios”, “Fish Factory Studio” in London, and was produced by Eddie Stevens.


  • Róisín Murphy – vocals, art direction, concept, design
  • Eddie Stevens– production, floor tom, flute, guitar, keyboards, percussion, programming, violin, backing vocals
  • Dave DeRose – drums, floor tom
  • Jamie McCreddie – guitar
  • Rob Malarkey – bass
  • Jodie Scantlebury – backing vocals
  • Rhianna Kenny – backing vocals
  • Eddie Stevens – mixer, engineer
  • Darius Van Helfteren – mastering
  • Ally McNeil – additional programming
  • Mark Allaway – engineer
  • Ben Wearing – photography
  • Ian Anderson – art direction, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Róisín Murphy and Eddie Stevens.

  1. Mastermind
  2. Pretty Gardens
  3. Thoughts Wasted
  4. Lip Service
  5. Ten Miles High
  6. Whatever
  7. Romantic Comedy
  8. Nervous Sleep
  9. Sitting and Counting