Tag Archives: 1976

On January 1, 1976.

On January 1, 1976, “Polydor” label released “Hot”, the 45th James Brown studio album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by James Brown.


  • James Brown – lead vocals, arrangements
  • Dave Matthews– arrangements
  • Bob Both- recording supervisor, engineer
  • David Stone, Major Little – engineer
  • Michael Doret – artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by James Brown; except where noted.

  1. Hot (I Need to Be Loved, Loved, Loved, Loved)
  2. So Long – Irving Melsher, Remus Harris, Russ Morgan
  3. (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons – Deek Watson, William Best
  4. Try Me
  5. The Future Shock of the World
  6. Woman
  7. Most of All 0 Hank Thompson
  8. Goodnight My Love – Gus Arnheim, Harry Tobias, Jules Lemare

Please, Please, Please


On December 13, 1977.

On December 13, 1977, “Atlantic” label released “Blue Lights in the Basement”, the sixth Roberta Flack studio album. It was recorded 1976 – 1977, and was produced by Rubina Flake, Joe Ferla and Gene McDaniels.


  • Roberta Flack– vocals, keyboards, arrangements
  • Paul Griffin– keyboards
  • Ronnie Foster– keyboards, background vocals
  • Don Grolnick– keyboards
  • Rob Mounsey– keyboards
  • Leon Pendarvis– keyboards, background vocals, musical arrangements
  • Harry Whitaker – keyboards, musical arrangements
  • Reggie Lucas– guitar
  • Hugh McCracken– guitar, musical arrangements
  • Jeff Mironov – guitar
  • David Spinozza– guitar
  • John Tropea– guitar
  • Michael Kamen– oboe solo, musical arrangements
  • Anthony Jackson– bass guitar
  • Basil Fearrington – bass
  • Will Lee– bass guitar
  • Gary King– bass, musical arrangements
  • Steve Gadd– drums
  • Allan Schwartzberg– drums
  • Jimmy Wong – drums
  • Howard King – drums
  • Idris Muhammad– drums
  • Crusher Bennett – percussion
  • David Carey – percussion
  • Jimmy Maelen– percussion
  • James Mtume– percussion, background vocals
  • Jim Gilstrap, Lani Groves, Gwen Guthrie, Yvonne Lewis, Gene McDaniels, Zach Sanders, Brenda White, Deniece Williams– background vocals

Track listing:

  1. Why Don’t You Move in with Me – Gene McDaniels
  2. The Closer I Get to You – Reggie Lucas, James Mtume
  3. Fine, Fine Day – Rachel Perry
  4. This Time I’ll Be Sweeter – Pat Grant, Gwen Guthrie
  5. 25th of Last December – Gene McDaniels
  6. After You – Michael Masser, Ron Miller
  7. I’d Like to Be Baby to You – Morgan Ames
  8. Soul Deep – Wayne Carson
  9. Love is the Healing – Gene McDaniels
  10. Where I’ll Find You – David McHugh

In December 1976.

In December 1976, “Milestone” label released “Pastels”, the ninth Ron Carter album. It was recorded in October 1976, at “Fantasy Studios” in Berkeley, California, and was produced by Retrac.


  • Ron Carter- bass, piccolo bass, arranger
  • Kenny Barron- piano
  • Hugh McCracken- electric and acoustic guitar, harmonica
  • Harvey Mason- drums
  • Sanford Allen – concertmaster
  • Virginia Baker, Myra Bucky, Fei-Pang Ching, Ronald Erickson, Daniel Kobialka, Roy Oakley Jr., Nathan Rubin, Emily Van Valkenburgh, Mark Volkert – violin
  • Arthur Bauch, Denis DeCoteau, Daniel Yale – viola
  • Garfield Moore, Kermit Moore, Melinda Ross – cello
  • Don Sebesky- conductor, arranger

Track listing:

All tracks by Ron Carter

  1. Woolaphant
  2. Ballad
  3. One Bass Rag
  4. Pastels
  5. 12 + 12


On November 4, 1997.

On November 4, 1997, “S3” and “Rykodisc” labels released “Tracks and Traces”, the only Harmonia ’76 album. It was recorded September 1976 at “Harmonia Studio” in Forst, and was produced by Brian Eno, Hans-Joachim Roedelius, Michael Rother and Dieter Moebius.


  • Michael Rother– e-guitar, keyboards, drum machine
  • Dieter Moebius– synthesizer, mini harp
  • Hans-Joachim Roedelius– keyboards
  • Brian Eno– synthesizer, e-bass, voice, lyrics

Track listing:

Music by Brian Eno, Hans-Joachim Roedelius, Michael Rother and Dieter Moebius, except where noted.

  1. Vamos Companeros
  2. By the Riverside
  3. Luneburg Heath – lyrics by Brian Eno
  4. Sometimes in Autumn
  5. Weird Dream
  6. Almost
  7. Les Demoiselles
  8. When Shade Was Born
  9. Trace

On October 13, 1976.

On October 13, 1976, “Attic” label released the self-titled, debut Triumph album. It was recorded in 1976, and was produced by Mike Levine and Doug Hill.


  • Rik Emmett– vocals, guitars, synthesizers,
  • Gil Moore– vocals, drums
  • Michael Levine– bass, keyboards
  • Laurie Delgrande – keyboards
  • Brian Bell – engineer, mixing
  • George Semkiw – remixing
  • Mick Walsh, Mark Wright – assistant

Track listing:

  1. 24 Hours a Day – Rik Emmett
  2. Be My Lover – Rik Emmett
  3. Don’t Take My Life – Gil Moore
  4. Street Fighter – lyrics by Rik Emmett, music by Gil Moore
  5. Street Fighter (Reprise) – lyrics by Rik Emmett, music by Gil Moore
  6. What’s Another Day of Rock ‘n Roll – Gil Moore
  7. Easy Life – lyrics by Rik Emmett, music by Mike Levine
  8. Let Me Get Next to You – lyrics by Rik Emmett, music by Gil Moore, Rik Emmett
  9. Blinding Light Show / Moonchild – music by Rik Emmett, Chris Brockway, Denton Young, Rik Emmett


On October 9, 1976.

On October 9, 1976, “RCA” label released “Virgin Killer”, the fourth Scorpions studio album. It was recorded in 1976, at “Dierks Studios” in Stommeln, Germany, and was produced by Dieter Dierks.


  • Klaus Meine– lead vocals
  • Ulrich Roth– lead guitar, lead and backing vocals
  • Rudolf Schenker– rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Francis Buchholz– bass, backing vocals
  • Rudy Lenners– drums, percussion
  • Achim Kirschning– synthesizer, keyboards
  • Dieter Dierks– arrangement
  • Steffan Böhle – cover art, design
  • Michael von Gimbut – photography

Track listing:

  1. Pictured Life – Klaus Meine, Ulrich Roth, Rudolf Schenker
  2. Catch Your Train – Klaus Meine, Rudolf Schenker
  3. In Your Park – Klaus Meine, Rudolf Schenker
  4. Backstage Queen – Klaus Meine, Rudolf Schenker
  5. Virgin Killer – Ulrich Roth
  6. Hell – Cat – Ulrich Roth
  7. Crying Days – Klaus Meine, Rudolf Schenker
  8. Polar Nights – Ulrich Roth
  9. Yellow Raven – Ulrich Roth


On October 8, 1976.

On October 8, 1976, “Nemperor” label released “School Days”, the fourth Stanley Clarke studio album. It was recorded in June 1976, at “Electric Lady Studios” in New York Cty, “A&M Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Stanley Clarke and Ken Scott.


  • Stanley Clarke – vocals, electric, piccolo and acoustic bass guitar, handbells, acoustic piano, humming, gong, chimes, arranger, ctic andonductor
  • George Duke– keyboards
  • Ray Gomez – electric and, rhythm guitar
  • Icarus Johnson– acoustic and electric guitar
  • John McLaughlin– acoustic guitar
  • David Sancious– keyboards, Minimoog, organ, electric guitar
  • Gerry Brown– drums, handbells
  • Billy Cobham– drums, Moog 1500
  • Steve Gadd– drums
  • Milt Holland– percussion, triangls
  • Tom Malone, Dave Taylor– trombone
  • Jon Faddis, Alan Rubin,Lew Soloff – trumpet
  • Earl Chapin, John Clark, Peter Gordon, Wilmer Wise – horns
  • Al Aarons, Stewart Blumberg, George Bohanon, Buddy Childers, Robert Findley, Gary Grant, Lew McCreary, Jack Nimitz, William Peterson, Dalton Smith – brass
  • Marilyn Baker, Thomas Buffum, David Campbell, Rollice Dale, Robert Dubow, Janice Gower, Karen Jones, Dennis Karmazyn, Gordon Marron, Lya Stern, Ron Strauss, Marcia Van Dyke& John Wittenberg – strings
  • Lynn Dreese Breslin, Bob Defrin – art direction
  • Ken Scott – engineer, remixing
  • Jerry Solomon, Ed Thacker, Michael Frondelli – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Stanley Clarke.

  1. School Days
  2. Quiet Afternoon
  3. The Dancer
  4. Desert Song
  5. Hot Fun
  6. Life Is Just a Game