Tag Archives: Phenix Horns

On May 10, 2020.

On May 10, 2020, John Michael McKenzie died aged 64. He was musician (bass, guitar, backing vocals), member of the bands Global Village Trucking Company and Man. He recorded and performed with Eurythmics, The Pretenders, Alison Moyet, Lionel Richie, Dr. John, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Annette Peacock, Steve Hillage, Noel McCalla, Bob Young, Shusha Guppy, Wham!, Deke Leonard, Morrissey-Mullen, Claire Hamill, Space Monkey, Jim Diamond, Bob Dylan, Al Corley, Jeffrey Lee Pierce, Microdisney, Five Star, Endgames, John Mizarolli, Gary Moore, Ian Paice, Jaki Graham, Don Airey, Richard Bailey, Peter Auty, Billy Bremner, Terry Stannard, Simon Kirke, Earl Slick, Graham Lyle, Chris Thompson, Patti Austin, Latin Quarter, Phil Manzanera, Matt Bianco, Pete Brown, Helen Watson, Kevin Rowland, Shakira, David Bowie, Tina Turner, Eric Burdon, Kajagoogoo, Johnny Mathis, Everything But The Girl, Todd Sharpville, Branford Marsalis, Rui Veloso, Tim Finn, Ive Mendes, Tom Scott, David Dundas, Danny Tenaglia, The Christians, Phenix Horns, Duran Duran’s Andy Taylor, Jimmy Iovine, Dave Stewart, Wild, Leon Ware, Eternal, James Ingram, Francis Rossi, Karl Jenkins, Albert Lee, Barbara Dickson, Davy Spillane, Charles Aznavour, Raw Stylus, Linda Taylor, Blair Cunningham, Andy Newmark, Teresa Teng, Annabel Lamb, Nadirah X, Bob Clearmountain, Mitchell Froom, Arthur Louis, and Reggae Philharmonic Orchestra.

On April 2, 1991.


On April 2, 1991, “Virgin” label released “Mama Said”, the second Lenny Kravitz studio album. It was recorded in 1990, and was produced by Lenny Kravitz.


  • Lenny Kravitz – vocals, guitar, keyboards, bass, drums
  • Slash– guitar solos
  • Dean Menta– lead guitar
  • Karl Denson– saxophone
  • Butch Tomas– saxophone
  • Henry Hirsch – bass
  • Phenix Horns– horns
  • Engineering by David Domanich and Henry Hirsch
  • Mastered by Greg Calbi at “Sterling Sound Studios”
  • Mixed by Henry Hirsch at “Waterfront Studios”
  • Melanie Nissen – art direction
  • Tom Bouman – design
  • James Colderaro – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Lenny Kravitz, except where noted.

  1. Fields of Joy – Michael Kamen and Hal Fredricks
  2. Always on the Run – Lenny Kravitz and Slash
  3. Stand by My Woman – Lenny Kravitz, Henry Hirsch, Stephen Mark Pasch and Anthony Krizan
  4. It Ain’t Over ’til It’s Over
  5. More Than Anything in This World
  6. What Goes Around Comes Around
  7. The Difference Is Why
  8. Stop Draggin’ Around
  9. Flowers for Zoë
  10. Fields of Joy (Reprise) – Michael Kamen and Hal Fredricks
  11. All I Ever Wanted – Lenny Kravitz and Sean Ono Lennon
  12. When the Morning Turns to Night
  13. What the Fuck Are We Saying?
  14. Butterfly