Tag Archives: Bob Young

On May 10, 2020.

On May 10, 2020, John Michael McKenzie died aged 64. He was musician (bass, guitar, backing vocals), member of the bands Global Village Trucking Company and Man. He recorded and performed with Eurythmics, The Pretenders, Alison Moyet, Lionel Richie, Dr. John, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Annette Peacock, Steve Hillage, Noel McCalla, Bob Young, Shusha Guppy, Wham!, Deke Leonard, Morrissey-Mullen, Claire Hamill, Space Monkey, Jim Diamond, Bob Dylan, Al Corley, Jeffrey Lee Pierce, Microdisney, Five Star, Endgames, John Mizarolli, Gary Moore, Ian Paice, Jaki Graham, Don Airey, Richard Bailey, Peter Auty, Billy Bremner, Terry Stannard, Simon Kirke, Earl Slick, Graham Lyle, Chris Thompson, Patti Austin, Latin Quarter, Phil Manzanera, Matt Bianco, Pete Brown, Helen Watson, Kevin Rowland, Shakira, David Bowie, Tina Turner, Eric Burdon, Kajagoogoo, Johnny Mathis, Everything But The Girl, Todd Sharpville, Branford Marsalis, Rui Veloso, Tim Finn, Ive Mendes, Tom Scott, David Dundas, Danny Tenaglia, The Christians, Phenix Horns, Duran Duran’s Andy Taylor, Jimmy Iovine, Dave Stewart, Wild, Leon Ware, Eternal, James Ingram, Francis Rossi, Karl Jenkins, Albert Lee, Barbara Dickson, Davy Spillane, Charles Aznavour, Raw Stylus, Linda Taylor, Blair Cunningham, Andy Newmark, Teresa Teng, Annabel Lamb, Nadirah X, Bob Clearmountain, Mitchell Froom, Arthur Louis, and Reggae Philharmonic Orchestra.

On december 23, 2003.

On December 23, 2003, “Universal” label released “Riffs”, the twenty-sixth Status Quo studio album. It was recorded in 2002, at “Ridge Farm Studios” in Rusper, UK, “State of The Ark Studios” in Richmond, UK, and was produced by Mike Paxman.


  • Francis Rossi – vocals, lead guitar
  • Rick Parfitt – vocals, guitar
  • John Edwards – bass, vocals
  • Andy Bown – keyboards
  • Matt Letley – drums

Track listing:

  1. Caroline – Francis Rossi, Bob Young
  2. I Fought The Law – Sonny Curtis
  3. Born To Be Wild – Mars Bonfire
  4. Takin’ Care of Business – Randy Bachman
  5. Wild One – Johnny O’Keefe, David Owens, Johnny Greenan
  6. On The Road Again – Floyd Jones, Alan Wilson
  7. Tobacco Road – John D. Loudermilk
  8. Centerfold – Seth Justman
  9. All Day And All Of The Night – Ray Davies
  10. Don’t Bring Me Down – Jeff Lynne
  11. Junior’s Wailing – Kieran White, Martin Pugh
  12. Pump It Up – Elvis Costello
  13. Down the Dustpipe – Carl Grossman
  14. Whatever You Want – Rick Parfitt, Andy Bown
  15. Rockin’ All Over The World – John Fogerty

In November 1977.

In November 1977, “Vertigo” label released “Rockin’ All Over the World”, the tenth Status Quo studio album. It was recorded in 1977, at “Studio Bohus” in Sweden, and was produced by Pip Williams.


  • Francis Rossi– guitar, vocals
  • Rick Parfitt– guitar, vocals
  • Alan Lancaster– bass, vocals
  • John Coghlan– drums
  • Andy Bown– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Frank Ricotti- percussion

Track listing:

  1. Hard Time – Francis Rossi, Rick Parfitt
  2. Can’t Give You More – Francis Rossi, Bob Young
  3. Let’s Ride – Alan Lancaster
  4. Baby Boy – Francis Rossi, Bob Young
  5. You Don’t Own Me – Alan Lancaster, Mick Green
  6. Rockers Rollin’ – Rick Parfitt, Jackie Lynton
  7. Rockin’ All Over the World – John Fogerty
  8. Who Am I – Pip Williams, Peter Hutchins
  9. Too Far Gone – Alan Lancaster
  10. For You – Rick Parfitt
  11. Dirty Water – Francis Rossi, Bob Young
  12. Hold You Back – Francis Rossi, Rick Parfitt, Bob Young

In September 1969.

In September 1969, “Pye” label released “Spare Parts”, the second Status Quo album. It was recorded January – September 1969, at “Pye Studios” in London, and was produced by John Schroeder.


  • Francis Rossi- guitar, vocals
  • Rick Parfitt- guitar, vocals
  • Alan Lancaster- bass, vocals
  • John Coghlan- drums
  • Roy Lynes- organ, vocals

Track listing:

  1. Face Without a Soul – Francis Rossi, Rick Parfitt
  2. You’re Just What I Was Looking for Today – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  3. Are You Growing Tired of My Love – Anthony King
  4. Antique Angelique – Alan Lancaster, Bob Young
  5. So Ends Another Life – Alan Lancaster
  6. Poor Old Man – Francis Rossi, Rick Parfitt
  7. Mind Detector – A. King
  8. The Clown – Alan Lancaster, Bob Young, Paul Nixon
  9. Velvet Curtains – King
  10. Little Miss Nothing – Francis Rossi, Rick Parfitt
  11. When I Awake – Alan Lancaster, Bob Young
  12. Nothing at All – Alan Lancaster, Roy Lynes, Bob Young


In August 1970.

In August 1970, “Pye” label released “Ma Kelly’s Greasy Spoon”, the third Status Quo studio album. It was recorded in 1970, at “Pye Studios” in London, and was produced by John Schroeder.


  • Francis Rossi- guitar, vocals
  • Rick Parfitt- guitar, vocals
  • Alan Lancaster- bass, guitar, vocals
  • John Coghlan- drums
  • Roy Lynes- organ

Track listing:

  1. Spinning Wheel Blues – Francis Rossi, Bob Young
  2. Daughter – Alan Lancaster
  3. Everything – Francis Rossi, Rick Parfitt
  4. Shy Fly – Francis Rossi, Bob Young
  5. (April) Spring, Summer and Wednesdays – Francis Rossi, Bob Young
  6. Junior’s Wailing – Kieran White, Martin Pugh
  7. Lakky Lady – Francis Rossi, Rick Parfitt
  8. Need Your Love – Francis Rossi, Bob Young
  9. Lazy Poker Blues – Peter Green, Clifford Adams
  10. Is it Really Me/Gotta Go Home – Alan Lancaster