Tag Archives: 1975

On April 1, 1976.

On April 1, 1976, “ECM” label “Balladyna”, the fifth Tomasz Stanko album. It was recorded in December 1975, at “Tonstudio Bauer” in Ludwigsburg, Germany, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Tomasz Stańko – trumpet
  • Tomasz Szukalski – tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
  • Dave Holland – bass
  • Edward Vesala – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Tomasz Stanko, except where noted.

  1. First Song
  2. Tale – Dve Holland, Tomasz Stanko, Edward Vesala
  3. Num – Edward Vesala
  4. Duet – Dave Holland, Tomasz Stanko
  5. Balladyna
  6. Last Song
  7. Nenaliina


On March 3, 1975.

On March 3, 1975, “A&M” label released “Frampton”, the fourth Peter Frampton studio album. It was recorded October 1974 – February 1975, at “Ronnie Lane’s Mobile Studio” in Clearwell Castle, Gloucestershire, and was produced by Peter Frampton.


  • Peter Frampton- lead vocals, acoustic, lead and rhythm guitar, piano, organ, talkbox, bass guitar
  • Andy Bown- bass guitar
  • John Siomos- drums, percussion
  • Poli Palmer– vibes
  • Chris Kimsey, Andy Knight – engineer
  • George Marino – mixing, mastering
  • Doug Sax, Arnie Acosta – mastering
  • Vartan, Roland Young, Junie Osaki – art direction
  • Mike Zagaris – photography
  • Beth Stempel, Bill Levenson – supervisor, coordinator

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Frampton.

  1. Day’s Dawning
  2. Show Me the Way
  3. One More Time
  4. The Crying Clown
  5. Fanfare
  6. Nowhere’s Too Far (for My Baby)
  7. Nassau
  8. Baby, I Love Your Way
  9. Apple of Your Eye
  10. Penny for Your Thoughts
  11. (I’ll Give You) Money

On February 26, 1976.

On February 26, 1976, “Atlantic” label released “Aurora”, the 13th Jean-Luc Ponty album. It was recorded in December 1975, at “Cherokee Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jean-Luc Ponty.


  • Jean-Luc Ponty– acoustic and electric violin, violectra, autoharp, keyboards
  • Daryl Stuermer– acoustic and electric guitars
  • Patrice Rushen– acoustic and electric piano, synthesizer
  • Tom Fowler– electric bass
  • Norman Fearrington – drums, percussion
  • Larry Hirsch – engineer, mixing
  • George Putko – engineer, studio assistant
  • Zal Schreiber – mastering
  • Jim Marshall– photography
  • Jean-Paul Oren – photography
  • Phil A. Ceccola – cover photo

Track listing:

All tracks by Jean-Luc Ponty.

  1. Is Once Enough?
  2. Renaissance
  3. Aurora, Pt. 1
  4. Aurora, Pt. 2
  5. Passenger of the Dark
  6. Lost Forest
  7. Between You and Me
  8. Waking Dream

In February 1976.

In February 1976, “EMI” label released “Timeless Flight”, the fourth Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel studio album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by Steve Harley.


  • Steve Harley- vocals
  • Jim Cregan- guitar, backing vocals
  • George Ford – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Duncan Mackay- keyboards, string arrangement
  • Stuart Elliott- drums, percussion
  • Lindsey Elliott – percussion
  • Patricia Paay- backing vocals
  • Yvonne Keeley, Barry St. John- backing vocals
  • Madeline Bell, Peter Clarke, Larry Steele, Liza Strike, Leroy Wiggins, Joy Yates – backing vocals
  • Peter Kelsey – engineer
  • Tony Clark – remix engineer, engineer
  • Ray Hendriksen – engineer
  • John Kurlander – engineer
  • John Leckie– engineer
  • Chris Blair – master cutter
  • Mick Rock- sleeve design, photography, art direction
  • Steve Ridgeway – art direction, lettering
  • Julie Harris – lettering

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Harley.

  1. Red is a Mean, Mean Colour
  2. White, White Dove
  3. Understand
  4. All Men Are Hungry
  5. Black or White
  6. Everything Changes
  7. Nothing is Scared
  8. Don’t Go, Don’t Cry


On October 1, 1975.

On October 1, 1975, “Atlantic” label released “Changes One”, the 47th Charles Mingus album. It was recorded in December 1974, at “Atlantic Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Ilhan Mimaroglu.


  • Charles Mingus– bass
  • Jack Walrath– trumpet
  • George Adams– tenor saxophone
  • Don Pullen– piano
  • Dannie Richmond– drums
  • Nesuhi Ertegün– executive producer
  • Gene Paul– recording engineer
  • Paula Scher– cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Charles Mingus except where noted.

  1. Remember Rockefeller at Attica
  2. Sue’s Changes
  3. Devil Blues – George Adams, Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown, Charlie Mingus
  4. Duke Ellington’s Sound of Love


On July 11, 1975.

On July 11, 1975, “Threshold” and “Decca” labels released “From Mighty Oaks” the debut Ray Thomas album. It was recorded 1974 – 1975, and was produced by Ray Thomas and Derek Varnals.


  •  Ray Thomas – lead and backing vocals, flute, bass flute, harmonica
  • Richard Hewson– orchestral arranger, conductor
  • J. Cole– pedal steel guitar
  • Nicky James – backing vocals, percussion
  • John Jones – acoustic guitar, electric guitar, backing vocals
  • Trevor Jones – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Mike Moran– keyboards
  • Dave Potts – drums, percussion
  • Mike Silver– acoustic guitar, backing vocal
  • Derek Varnals – recording engineer
  • Dave Baker – 2nd engineer
  • Phil Travers – illustration, design
  • Graham Hughes – photography
  • Mike Pulland – photography

Track listing:

  1. From Mighty Oaks – Ray Thomas, Nicky James
  2. Hey Mama Life – Ray Thomas, Nicky James
  3. Play It Again – Ray Thomas, Nicky James
  4. Rock-A-Bye Baby Blues – Nicky James
  5. High Above My Head – Ray Thomas, Nicky James
  6. Love Is the Key – Ray Thomas, Nicky James
  7. You Make Me Feel Alright – Ray Thomas, Nicky James
  8. Adam and I – Ray Thomas, Nicky James
  9. I Wish We Could Fly – Ray Thomas


On June 18, 1976.

On June 18, 1976, “Riva” label released “A Night on the Town”, the seventh Rod Stewart album. It was recorded December 1975 – April 1976, at “Cherokee Recording Studios” in Hollywood, “Muscle Shoals Sound” in Sheffield, “Criteria” in  Miami” in Nederland, CO, and was produced by Tom Dowd. The cover art is based on Pierre-Auguste Renoir’s painting “Bal du moulin de la Galette”.


  • Rod Stewart – vocals
  • Donald Dunn, Bob Glaub, David Hood, Willie Weeks, Lee Sklar– bass guitar
  • Steve Cropper, Billy Peek, Joe Walsh, Jesse Ed Davis, David Lindley, Fred Tackett– guitar
  • John Barlow Jarvis, David Foster, Barry Beckett, J. Smith – keyboards
  • Roger Hawkins, Andy Newmark, Al Jackson Jr., Rick Shlosser– drums
  • Tommy Vig, Joe Lala– percussion
  • Jimmy Horowitz, Mel Lewis, Arif Mardin– string arrangements
  • Tower of Power Horn section – French horn
  • Jerry Jumonville, Plas Johnson– tenor saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Rod Stewart, except where noted.

Slow Side

  1. Tonight’s the Night (Gonna Be Alright)
  2. The First Cut Is the Deepest – Cat Stevens
  3. Fool for You
  4. The Killing of Georgie (Part I and II)

Fast Side

  1. The Balltrap
  2. Pretty Flamingo – Mark Barkan
  3. Big Bayou – Gib Guilbeau
  4. The Wild Side of Life – Arlie Carter, William Warren
  5. Trade Winds – Ralph MacDonald, William Salter