Tag Archives: Earl Slick

On May 10, 2020.

On May 10, 2020, John Michael McKenzie died aged 64. He was musician (bass, guitar, backing vocals), member of the bands Global Village Trucking Company and Man. He recorded and performed with Eurythmics, The Pretenders, Alison Moyet, Lionel Richie, Dr. John, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Annette Peacock, Steve Hillage, Noel McCalla, Bob Young, Shusha Guppy, Wham!, Deke Leonard, Morrissey-Mullen, Claire Hamill, Space Monkey, Jim Diamond, Bob Dylan, Al Corley, Jeffrey Lee Pierce, Microdisney, Five Star, Endgames, John Mizarolli, Gary Moore, Ian Paice, Jaki Graham, Don Airey, Richard Bailey, Peter Auty, Billy Bremner, Terry Stannard, Simon Kirke, Earl Slick, Graham Lyle, Chris Thompson, Patti Austin, Latin Quarter, Phil Manzanera, Matt Bianco, Pete Brown, Helen Watson, Kevin Rowland, Shakira, David Bowie, Tina Turner, Eric Burdon, Kajagoogoo, Johnny Mathis, Everything But The Girl, Todd Sharpville, Branford Marsalis, Rui Veloso, Tim Finn, Ive Mendes, Tom Scott, David Dundas, Danny Tenaglia, The Christians, Phenix Horns, Duran Duran’s Andy Taylor, Jimmy Iovine, Dave Stewart, Wild, Leon Ware, Eternal, James Ingram, Francis Rossi, Karl Jenkins, Albert Lee, Barbara Dickson, Davy Spillane, Charles Aznavour, Raw Stylus, Linda Taylor, Blair Cunningham, Andy Newmark, Teresa Teng, Annabel Lamb, Nadirah X, Bob Clearmountain, Mitchell Froom, Arthur Louis, and Reggae Philharmonic Orchestra.

On May 24, 1974.


On May 24, 1974, “RCA” label released “Diamond Dogs”, the eighth David Bowie studio album. It was recorded January 1974 – February 1974, at “Island Studios” and “Olympic Studios” in London, “Ludolph Studios”, in Nederhorst den Berg, and was produced by David Bowie. Thematically, the album is mixture of the George Orwell’s novel “1984” and Bowie’s vision of a post-apocalyptic world.


  • David Bowie- vocals, guitars, saxes, Moog synthesizer, Mellotron, mixing engineer
  • Earl Slick- guitar
  • Mike Garson- keyboards
  • Herbie Flowers- bass guitar
  • Tony Newman- drums
  • Aynsley Dunbar- drums
  • Alan Parker- guitar
  • Tony Visconti- strings, mixing
  • Keith Harwood- engineer, mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by David Bowie, except where noted.

  • 1.      Future Legend
  • 2.      Diamond Dogs
  • 3.      Sweet Thing
  • 4.      Candidate
  • 5.      Sweet Thing (Reprise)
  • 6.      Rebel Rebel
  • 7.      Rock ‘n’ Roll with Me – David Bowie, Warren Peace
  • 8.      We Are the Dead
  • 9.      1984
  • 10. Big Brother
  • 11. Chant of the Ever Circling Skeletal Family

On January 23, 1976.


On January 23, 1976, “RCA” label released “Station to Station”, the tenth David Bowie studio album. It was recorded September – November 1975, at the “Cherokee Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by David Bowie and Harry Maslin. In 2003, the album was ranked No. 323 on “Rolling Stone” magazine’s list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • David Bowie– vocals, guitar, tenor and alto saxophone, Moog synthesiser, mellotron
  • Carlos Alomar– guitar
  • Roy Bittan– piano
  • Dennis Davis– drums
  • George Murray– bass guitar
  • Warren Peace– backing vocals
  • Earl Slick– guitar
  • Steve Shapiro –photography

All tracks by David Bowie, except where noted.

  1. Station to Station
  2. Golden Years
  3. Word on a Wing
  4. TVC 15
  5. Stay
  6. Wild Is the Wind – Ned Washington, Dimitri Tiomkin

On November 17, 1980.

JohnLennon-double fantasy

On November 17, 1980, “Geffen” label released “Double Fantasy”, album by John Lennon and Yoko Ono.  It was the seventh and final studio album released by Lennon in his lifetime, three weeks after its release, Lennon was murdered. The album was recorded from August 7 to September 22, 1980, at the “The Hit Factory” in New York, and was produced by John Lennon, Yoko Ono and Jack Douglas. In 1981, “Double Fantasy” won “Grammy” for “Album of the Year”.


  • John Lennon– lead, harmony and background vocals; rhythm and acoustic guitars,  piano, keyboards, arranger
  • Yoko Ono– lead and background vocals; arranger
  • Earl Slick, Hugh McCracken– lead guitar
  • Tony Levin– bass
  • George Small– keyboards
  • Andy Newmark– drums
  • Arthur Jenkins– percussion
  • Ed Walsh – Oberheim synthesizer
  • Robert Greenidge– steel drum
  • Matthew Cunningham – hammer dulcimer
  • Randy Stein – English concertina
  • Howard Johnson, Grant Hungerford, John Parran, Seldon Powell, George “Young” Opalisky, Roger Rosenberg, David Tofani, Ronald Tooley – horns
  • Tony Davillo – hornarrangements and musical associate
  • Michelle Simpson, Cassandra Wooten, Cheryl Mason Jacks, Eric Troyer, Benny Cummings Singers, The Kings Temple Choir – background vocals
  • Kishin Shinoyama– cover photo, photography

Track listing:

  1. (Just Like) Starting Over – John Lennon
  2. Kiss Kiss Kiss – Yoko Ono
  3. Cleanup Time – John Lennon
  4. Give Me Something – Yoko Ono
  5. I’m Losing You – John Lennon
  6. I’m Moving On – Yoko Ono
  7. Beautiful Boy – John Lennon
  8. Watching the Wheels – John Lennon
  9. Yes, I’m Your Angel – Yoko Ono
  10. Woman – John Lennon
  11. Beautiful Boys – Yoko Ono
  12. Dear Yoko – John Lennon
  13. Every Man Has a Woman Who loves Him – Yoko Ono
  14. Hard Times Are Over – Yoko Ono