Tag Archives: Derek Varnals

On February 11, 1977.

On February 11, 1977, “Deram” label released “Songwriter”, the second Justin Hayward album. It was recorded June – December 1976, at “Threshold” in London, and was produced by Tony Clarke, Justin Hayward and Martin Wyatt.


  • Justin Hayward – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, drums, bass, violin, cello, flute, tambourine
  • Jim Cockey – violin
  • Tom Tompkins – viola
  • Tim Tompkins – cello
  • Mel Galley– bass
  • Terry Rowley – guitar
  • Dave Holland– drums
  • Ken Freeman– keyboards
  • Doremi Hayward – backing vocals
  • Peter Knight- strings arranger, conductor
  • Tony Clarke, Derek Varnals, Dave Baker – engineer
  • Dean Rod – assistant engineer
  • Gary Ladinkski – mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by Justin Hayward.

  1. Tightrope
  2. Songwriter Part 1
  3. Songwriter Part 2
  4. Country Girl
  5. One Lonely Room
  6. Lay It on Me
  7. Stage Door
  8. Raised on Love
  9. Doin’ Time
  10. Nostradamus



In October 1968.

In October 1969, “Deram” label released “The Battle of North West Six”, the second Keef Hartley Band album. It was recorded in 1969, and was produced by Neil Slaven.


  • Keef Hartley– drums, percussion
  • Miller Anderson– vocals, guitars
  • Henry Lowther– trumpet, flugelhorn, violin, brass arrangements
  • Jim Jewell, Chris Mercer– tenor saxophone
  • Gary Thain– bass guitar
  • “Spit James” (Ian Cruickshank) – guitar
  • Mick Weaver– organ, piano, percussion
  • Mike Davis – trumpet
  • Harry Beckett– trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Lyn Dobson– tenor saxophone, flute
  • Barbara Thompson– baritone saxophone, flute
  • Ray Warleigh– flute
  • Mick Taylor– guitar
  • Derek Varnals – recording engineer
  • Adrian Martins, John Punter– assistant engineer
  • Art Wood– artwork
  • Richard Sacks – photography

Track listing:

  1. The Dansette Kid / Hartley Jam for Bread – Fiona Hewitson, Spit James, Keef Hartley, Gary Thain
  2. Don’t Give Up – Fiona Hewitson, Spit James, Keef Hartley, Gary Thain
  3. Me and My Woman – Gene Barge
  4. Hickory – Fiona Hewitson, Spit James, Keef Hartley, Gary Thain
  5. Don’t Be Afraid – Fiona Hewitson, Spit James, Keef Hartley, Peter Dines, Gary Thain
  6. Not Foolish, Not Wise – Fiona Hewitson, Spit James, Keef Hartley, Gary Thain
  7. Waiting Around – Fiona Hewitson, Keef Hartley, Gary Thain
  8. Tadpole – Fiona Hewitson, Keef Hartley, Gary Thain
  9. Poor Mabel (You’re Just Like Me) – Fiona Hewitson, Spit James, Keef Hartley, Gary Thain
  10. Believe In You – Fiona Hewitson, Keef Hartley, Gary Thain

On July 23, 1971.


On July 23, 1971, “Treshold Records” released “Every Good Boy Deserves Favour”, the seventh Moody Blues album. It was recorded November 1970 – March 1971, at “Wessex Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by Tony Clarke.


  • Justin Hayward– vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, sitar
  • John Lodge– vocals, bass, cello
  • Ray Thomas  vocals,  flute,  tambourine,  oboe,  woodwinds,  harmonica
  • Graeme Edge– electric and acoustic drums, percussion
  • Mike Pinder– vocals, mellotron, harpsichord, Hammond organ, piano, keyboards, Moog synthesizer
  • Derek Varnals – recording engineer
  • David Baker – assistant engineer
  • Harry Fisher – cutting engineer
  • Phil Travers – sleeve artist
  • Randall Nelson – lyrics sheet photograph

Track listing:

  1. Procession – Graeme Edge, Justin Hayward, John Lodge, Mike Pinder, Ray Thomas
  2. The Story in Your Eyes – Justin Hayward
  3. Our Guessing Game – Ray Thomas
  4. Emily’s Song – John Lodge
  5. After You Came – Graeme Edge
  6. One More Time to Live – John Lodge
  7. Nice to Be Here – Ray Thomas
  8. You Can Never Go Home – Justin Hayward
  9. My Song – Mike Pinder

On June 21, 1968.


On June 21, 1968, “Decca” label released “Bare Wires”, the eight John Mayall’s Bluesbrakers album. It was recorded in April 1968, at “Decca Studios”  in London, and was produced by Mike Vernon and John Mayall. “Bare Wires” was the last John Mayall studio album to feature the name “Bluesbreakers”.


  • John Mayall– vocals,  harmonica,  piano,  harpsichord,  organ, harmonium, guitar
  • Mick Taylor– lead guitar, Hawaiian guitar
  • Chris Mercer –tenor, baritone saxophone
  • Dick Heckstall-Smith– tenor, soprano saxophone
  • Jon Hiseman– drums, percussion
  • Henry Lowther– cornet, violin
  • Tony Reeves– string bass, bass guitar
  • Peter Green– guitar
  • Keef Hartley– drums
  • Derek Varnals – engineer
  • Pete Smith, Jan Persson –photography

Track listing:

All tracks by John Mayall, except where noted.

  1. Bare Wires Suite (Medley)
  • Bare Wires
  • Where Did I Belong
  • I Started Walking
  • Open Up A New Door
  • Fire
  • I Know Now
  • Look In The Mirror
  1. I’m a Stranger
  2. No Reply – John Mayall, Mick Taylor
  3. Hartley Quits – Mick Taylor
  4. Killing Time
  5. She’s Too Young
  6. Sandy