Tag Archives: second album

In December 1974.

In December 1974, “Nemperor” and “Atlantic” labels released the self-titled, second Stanley Clarke studio album. It was recorded in 1974, at “Electric Lady Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Stanley Clarke.


  • Stanley Clarke – vocals, bass guitar, double bass, guitar, piano
  • Jan Hammer– keyboards
  • Bill Connors– guitar
  • Tony Williams– drums
  • Airto Moreira– percussion
  • David Taylor – trombone, brasses
  • Jon Faddis, James Buffington, Lew Soloff, Garnett Brown, Peter Gordon – brasses
  • David Nadien, Charles McCracken, Jesse Levy, Carol Buck, Beverly Lauridsen, Harry Cykman, Harold Kohon, Paul Gershman, Harry Lookofsky, Emanuel Green – string section
  • Michael Gibbs– string and brass arrangement
  • Ken Scott– engineer
  • Brian Gardner– mastering engineer
  • Dave Whitman – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Stanley Clarke; except where noted.

  1. Vulcan Princess
  2. Yesterday Princess – Stanley Clarke, Carolyn Clarke
  3. Lopsy Lu
  4. Power
  5. Spanish Phases for Strings & Bass – Michael Gibbs
  6. Life Suite
  • Part I
  • Part II
  • Part III
  • Part IV

In December 1969.

In December 1969, “Capitol” label released “Shady Grove”, the second Quicksilver Messenger Service studio album. It was recorded July – September 199, at “Wally Heider Studios” and “Pacific High Recorders” in San Francisco, and was produced by John Palladino.


  • John Cipollina– vocals, guitar
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano, organ, celeste, harpsichord, cello
  • David Freiberg– vocals, bass, guitar, viola
  • Greg Elmore– drums, percussion
  • Dan Healy, Bob Shumaker, Dave Brown, Mike Leary – engineer
  • Dan Healy, Quicksilver Messenger Service, Snarly Grumble – mixing
  • John Palladino – executive producer

Track listing:

  1. Shady Grove – O. Wands
  2. Flute Song – Denise Jewkes
  3. Three or Four Feet from Home – John Cipollina
  4. Too Far – David Freiberg
  5. Holy Moly – Nick Gravenites
  6. Joseph’s Coat – John Cipollina, Nick Gravenites
  7. Flashing Lonesome – David Freiberg, Denise Jewkes
  8. Words Can’t Say – David Freiberg, Denise Jewkes
  9. Edward, the Mad Shirt Grinder – Nicky Hopkins

In December 1956.

In December 1956, “Blue Note” label released “Whims of Chambers”, the second  Paul Chambers album. It was recorded on September 21, 1956, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Paul Chambers- bass
  • Donald Byrd- trumpet
  • John Coltrane- tenor saxophone
  • Kenny Burrell- guitar
  • Horace Silver- piano
  • Philly Joe Jones- drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder – engineer
  • Francis Wolff – cover photo
  • Reid Miles – cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Chambers, except where noted.

  1. Omicron – Donald Byrd
  2. Whims of Chambers
  3. Nita – John Coltrane
  4. We Six – Donald Byrd
  5. Dear Ann
  6. Tale of the Fingers
  7. Just for the Love – John Coltrane

In November 1983.

On November 30, 1983, “Epitaph” label released “Into the Unknown” the second Bad Religion album. It was recorded in 1983, at “Perspective Sound” in Sun Valley, California, and was produced by Greg Graffin and Brett Gurewitz.


  • Greg Graffin- vocals, synthesizer, piano, acoustic guitar
  • Brett Gurewitz- electric guitar, acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • Paul Dedona- bass guitar
  • Davy Goldman- drums
  • Jim Mankey- engineering

 Track listing:

  1. It’s Only Over When…- Greg Graffin
  2. Chasing the Wild Goose – Brett Gurewitz
  3. Billy Gnosis – Brett Gurewitz
  4. Time and Disregard – Greg Graffin
  • Part I
  • Part II
  • Part III
  • Part IV
  1. The Dichotomy – Brett Gurewitz
  2. Million Days – Greg Graffin
  3. Losing Generation – Greg Graffin
  4. …You Give Up – Greg Graffin


In November 1988.

In November 1988, “Factory” label released “Bummed”, the second Happy Mondays album. It was recorded in August 1988, at “Slaughterhouse” in Great Driffeld, East Yorkshire, ”Strawberry Studios” in Stockport, Greater Manchester, and was produced by Martin Hannett.


  • Shaun Ryder– vocals
  • Paul “Horse” Ryder– bass
  • Mark “Cow” Day– guitar
  • Paul Davis– keyboards
  • Gary Whelan– drums
  • Mark “Bez” Berry– Bez
  • Dave Hassell – percussion
  • Steve Hopkins- piano
  • Horseman – banjo
  • The Slaughterhouse, Colin Richardson, John Spence, John Pennington, Strawberry, Laurence Diana – engineers
  • Central Station Design – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Shaun Ryder, Paul Ryder, Mark Day, Gary Whelan and Mark Berry, except where noted.

  1. Country Song
  2. Moving in With
  3. Mad Cyril – opens with the line “We’ve Been Courteous”
  4. Fat Lady Wrestlers
  5. Performance
  6. Brain Dead – Ryder’s opening “You’re rendering that scaffolding dangerous!” is a quote from the movie “Gimme Shelter”
  7. Wrote for Luck
  8. Bring a Friend
  9. Do It Better
  10. Lazy Itis – the song borrows from “Ticket to Ride” by John Lennon and Paul McCartney, and nods to “Family Affair” and “Gonna Make You a Star” by David Essex


On November 28, 2005.

On November 28, 2005, “Atlantic” label released “One Way Ticket to Hell …and Back”, the second  Darkness studio album. It was recorded in 2005, and was produced by Roy Thomas Baker.


  • Justin Hawkins– lead and backing vocals; lead and rhythm guitars; piano; Hammond organ; Mini-moog; synths; sitar
  • Dan Hawkins– rhythm and lead guitars; bass guitars; tubular bells; marching drums; tambourine; triangle; backing vocals
  • Ed Graham– drums
  • Richie Edwards– bass guitars; backing vocals
  • Freddy Gomez – pan flute
  • Stuart Cassells – bagpipes

Track listing:

All tracks by Justin Hawkins and Dan Hawkins except where noted.

  1. One Way Ticket – Justin Hawkins, Dan Hawkins, Frankie Poullain
  2. Knockers – Justin Hawkins, Dan Hawkins, Frankie Poullain
  3. Is It Just Me? – Justin Hawkins, Dan Hawkins, Frankie Poullain
  4. Dinner Lady Arms
  5. Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time – Justin Hawkins, Dan Hawkins, Frankie Poullain
  6. Hazel Eyes
  7. Bald – Justin Hawkins, Dan Hawkins, Ed Graham
  8. Girlfriend
  9. English Country Garden
  10. Blind Man

On November 26, 1996.

On November 26, 1996, “EMI” label released “Broken China” the second and the final Richard Wright solo album. It was recorded in 1996, at “Studio Harmonie” in  France; “Whitfield Street Studios”, “RAK Studios” and “The Astoriain London, and was produced by Richard Wright, Anthony Moore and Laurie Latham.


  • Richard Wright– vocals, keyboards, programming
  • Anthony Moore– computer programming, arrangements, ‘telephone vocal’
  • Sinéad O’Connor– lead vocals
  • Tim Renwick, Dominic Miller, Steven Bolton – guitars
  • Pino Palladino– bass guitar
  • Manu Katché– drums, percussion
  • Sian Bell – cello
  • Kate St. John– oboe, cor anglais
  • Maz Palladino – backing vocals
  • Storm Thorgerson, Peter Curzon- sleeve design
  • Tony May – photography
  • Jason Reddy – computer
  • Julien Mils, Finlay Cowan – artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Richard Wright, except where noted.

  1. Breaking Water – Richard Wright, Anthony Moore
  2. Night of a Thousand Furry Toys – Richard Wright, Anthony Moore
  3. Hidden Fear – Richard Wright, Gerry Gordon
  4. Runaway
  5. Unfair Ground
  6. Satellite
  7. Woman of Custom
  8. Interlude
  9. Black Cloud
  10. Far from the Harbour Wall – Richard Wright, Anthony Moore
  11. Drowning
  12. Reaching for the Rail – Richard Wright, Anthony Moore
  13. Blue Room in Venice – Richard Wright, Gerry Gordon
  14. Sweet July
  15. Along the Shoreline – Richard Wright, Anthony Moore
  16. Breakthrough – Richard Wright, Anthony Moore