Tag Archives: 2003

In April 1962.

In April 1962, “ABC-Paramount” label released “Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music”, the 19th Ray Charles album. It was recorded in February 1962, at “Capitol Studios” in New York City and “United Recording Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Sid Feller, Ray Charles and Joe Adams. In 1999, the album was inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”. In 2001, the album track “I Can’t Stop Loving You” was inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”. in 2001,  the album was cited by “The Recording Academy” as a recording of “historical significance. “I Can’t Stop Loving You” was ranked number 49 on “Country Music Television’s” list of the “100 Greatest Songs of Country Music”  In 2001, “VH1” channel listed the album in its list of “The 100 Greatest Albums of R ‘N’ R”. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 104 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Ray Charles– vocals, piano
  • Hank Crawford– alto saxophone
  • Gil Fuller, Gerald Wilson– big band arrangements
  • Marty Paich– string arrangements
  • Todd Everett – liner notes
  • Bill Inglot, Ken Perry – remastering
  • Michael Ochs Archives, Hugh Bell – photography
  • Bill Putnam, Gene Thompson, Johnny Cue.Bob Arnold, Frank Abbey – engineering

Track listing:

  1. Bye Bye Love – Boudleaux Bryant, Felice Bryant
  2. You Don’t Know Me – Eddy Arnold, Cindy Walker
  3. Half As Much – Curley Williams
  4. I Love You So Much It Hurts – Floyd Tillman
  5. Just a Little Lovin’ (Will Go a Long Way) – Eddy Arnold, Zeke Clements
  6. Born To Lose – Frankie Brown, (Ted Daffan)
  7. Worried Mind – Ted Daffan, Jimmie Davis
  8. It Makes No Difference Now – Floyd Tillman, Jimmie Davis
  9. You Win Again – Hank Williams
  10. Careless Love – traditional, arranged by Ray Charles
  11. I Can’t Stop Loving You – Don Gibson
  12. Hey, Good Lookin’ – Hank Williams



On April 8, 2003.

On April 8, 2003, “Matador” label released “Summer Sun”, the tenth Yo La Tengo studio album. It was recorded in 2003, in Nashville, and was produced by Roger Moutenot.


  • Ira Kaplan– vocals, guitars, piano
  • Georgia Hubley– vocals, drums, piano, vocals
  • James McNew– vocals, bass
  • Roy Campbell, Jr. – trumpet
  • Daniel Carter – tenor and alto saxophone
  • Katie Gentile – violin
  • Tim Harris – cello
  • Sabir Mateen – alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, flute
  • Paul Niehaus – pedal steel guitar
  • William Parker – upright bass
  • Phil Morrison – sleeve photography
  • Alex Kirzhner – sleeve layout
  • Alex the Great – recording
  • Greg Calbi – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Ira Kaplan, Georgia Hubley and James McNew, except where noted.

  1. Beach Party Tonight
  2. Little Eyes
  3. Nothing But You and Me
  4. Season of the Shark
  5. Today is the Day
  6. Tiny Birds
  7. How To Make a Baby Elephant Float
  8. Georgia vs  Yo La Tengo
  9. Don’t Have To Be Sad
  10. Winter A Go-Go
  11. Moonrock Mambo
  12. Let’s Be Still
  13. Take Care

On March 30, 2004.

On March 30, 2004, “Volcom Entertainment” label released “In With the Old”, the third Pepper studio album. It was recorded September – October 2003, at “The Hive”, and was produced by Zack Barnhorst, Richard Woolcott and Ron St. Germain.


  • Zack Barnhorst – vocals, guitar, arrangements, engineer, mixing
  • Bret Bollinger – vocals, bass, arrangements
  • Kaleo Wassman – vocals, guitar, arrangements
  • Yesod Williams – drums, percussion, arrangements
  • Ronnie King – keyboards
  • Joe Gastwirt – mastering
  • Ryan Immegart – photography, layout design

Track listing:

All tracks by Zack Barnhorst.

  1. Back Home
  2. Are You Down?
  3. Love Affair
  4. Use Me
  5. Seven Weeks
  6. Ashes
  7. Border Town
  8. Wanna Know You
  9. Keep Your Head Bangin
  10. Your 45
  11. Punk Rock Cowboy
  12. Look What I Found

On March 29, 2004.

On March 29, 2004, “Source” label released “Alphabetical”, the second Phoenix studio album. It was recorded 2003 – 2004, and was produced by Tony Hoffer, Deck D’Arcy, Laurent Brancowitz, Thomas Mars and Christian Mazzalai.


  • Deck D’Arcy – bass, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Laurent Brancowitz– guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Thomas Mars– vocals
  • Christian Mazzalai – guitar, backing vocals
  • Ivan Beck – acoustic guitar
  • Pino Palladino – bass
  • Jm Mery – additional keyboards
  • Alex Locascio – drums, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Deck D’Arcy, Laurent Brancowitz, Thomas Mars, Christian Mazzalai.

  1. Everything Is Everything
  2. Run Run Run
  3. I’m an Actor
  4. Love for Granted
  5. Victim of the Crime
  6. (You Can’t Blame It On) Anybody
  7. Congratulations
  8. If It’s Not with You
  9. Holdin’ on Together
  10. Alphabetical

On March 23, 2004.

On March 23, 2004, “Capitol” label released “Winning Days”, the second Vines studio album. It was recorded in 2003, at “Bearsville Studios” in Woodstock, New York, and was produced by Rob Schnapf.


  • Craig Nicholls- vocals, guitars, percussion, Moog synthesizer
  • Patrick Matthews- bass guitar, piano, keyboards
  • Ryan Griffiths- guitars
  • Hamish Rosser- drums, percussion
  • Rob Schnapf- mixing
  • Doug Boehm- engineering, mixing
  • Susanna Howe- booklet photography
  • Love Police– sleeve design

Track listing:

All tracks by Craig Nicholls, except  where noted.

  1. Ride
  2. Animal Machine
  3. TV Pro
  4. Autumn Shade II
  5. Evil Town
  6. Winning Days
  7. She’s Got Something to Say to Me
  8. Rainfall
  9. Amnesia
  10. Sun Child
  11. T.W

In March 1966.

In March 1966, “Dunhill” label released “If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears”, the debut Mamas & the Papas album. It was recorded 1965 – 1966, and was produce by Lou Adler. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it at number 127 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Denny Doherty– vocals
  • Cass Elliot– vocals
  • John Phillips– vocals, guitar
  • Michelle Phillips– vocals
  • F. Sloan– guitars, additional vocals
  • Larry Knechtel- keyboards
  • Hal Blaine– drums
  • Joe Osborn– bass guitar
  • Bud Shank– flute
  • Peter Pilafian – electric violin
  • Bones Howe– engineer
  • Guy Webster – photography

Track listing:

  1. Monday, Monday – John Phillips
  2. Straight Shooter – John Phillips
  3. Got a Feelin’ – John Phillips, Denny Doherty
  4. I Call Your Name – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  5. Do You Wanna Dance – Bobby Freeman
  6. Go Where You Wanna Go – John Phillips
  7. California Dreamin’ – John Phillips, Michelle Phillips
  8. Spanish Harlem – Jerry Leiber, Phil Spector
  9. Somebody Groovy – John Phillips
  10. Hey Girl – John Phillips, Michelle Phillips
  11. You Baby – Steve Barri,  F. Sloan
  12. The ‘In’ Crowd – Billy Page

On February 8, 1977.

On February 8, 1977, “Elektra” label released “Marquee Moon”, the debut Television studio album. It was recorded in September 1976, at “A&R Recording” in New York City, and was produced by Andy Johns and Tom Verlaine. In 2003, “NME” magazine named “Marque Moon” the fourth-greatest album of all time. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it at number 128 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.


  • Tom Verlaine– guitar, keyboards, lead vocals
  • Billy Ficca– drums
  • Richard Lloyd– guitar, vocals
  • Fred Smith– bass guitar, vocals
  • Jim Boyer – assistant engineering
  • Greg Calbi, Lee Hulko – mastering
  • Jimmy Douglass – assistant mixing
  • Andy Johns– engineering, mixing
  • Tony Lane – art direction
  • Billy Lobo – back cover artwork
  • Robert Mapplethorpe– photography
  • Randy Mason – assistant mixing
  • John Telfer – management

Track listing:

All tracks by Tom Verlaine, except where noted.

  1. See No Evil
  2. Venus
  3. Friction
  4. Marquee Moon
  5. Elevation
  6. Guiding Light – Tom Verlaine, Richard Lloyd
  7. Prove It
  8. Torn Curtain