Tag Archives: Clifford Jordan

Clifford Jordan: Masters from Different Worlds

On March 1, 1994, “Mapleshade” label released “Masters from Different Worlds”, the 32nd Clifford Jordan album. It was recorded in December 1989, at “Mapleshade Studios” in Upper Marlboro, MD, and was produced by Fred Kaplan and Pierre Sprey.


  • Clifford Jordan – soprano and tenor saxophone
  • Ran Blake – piano
  • Julian Priester – trombone
  • Windmill Saxophone Quartet:
  • Jesse Meman – alto saxophone
  • Tom Monroe, Ken Plant – tenor saxophone
  • Clayton Englar – baritone saxophone
  • Steve Williams – drums
  • Alfredo Mojica – congas
  • Claudia Polley – vocals

Track listing:

  1. Something to Live For – Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn
  2. A Touch of Evil – Ran Blake
  3. Arline – Ran Blake
  4. Laura – David Raksin, Johnny Mercer
  5. Short Life of Barbara Monk – Ran Blake
  6. Vanguard – Ran Blake
  7. Julia – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  8. Wives and Lovers – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  9. Doug’s Prelude – Clifford Jordan
  10. Mood Indigo – Duke Ellington, Barney Bigard, Irving Mills

Mal Waldron: What It Is

In December 1981, “Enja” label released “What It Is”, the 58th Mal Waldron album. It was recorded in November 1981, at “Vanguard Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Horst Weber.


  • Mal Waldron — piano
  • Clifford Jordan — tenor saxophone
  • Cecil McBee — bass
  • Dannie Richmond — drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Mal Waldron except where noted.

  1. Charlie Parker’s Last Supper – Clifford Jordan
  2. Hymn from the Inferno
  3. What It Is

Joe Zawinul: Money in the Pocket

In April 1966, “Atlantic” label released “Money in the Pocket”, the debut Joe Zawinul album. It was recorded in February 1966, at “Atlantic Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Joel Dorn.


  • Joe Zawinul – piano
  • Blue Mitchell – trumpet
  • Joe Henderson – tenor saxophone
  • Clifford Jordan – tenor saxophone
  • Pepper Adams – baritone saxophone 
  • Bob Cranshaw – bass
  • Sam Jones – bass
  • Louis Hayes – drums 
  • Roy McCurdy – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Zawinul except where noted.

  1. Money in the Pocket
  2. If – Joe Henderson
  3. My One and Only Love – Guy Wood, Robert Mellin
  4. Midnight Mood
  5. Some More of Dat – Sam Jones
  6. Sharon’s Waltz – Rudy Stevenson
  7. Riverbed
  8. Del Sasser – Sam Jones

Paul Chambers: Paul Chambers Quintet

In April 1958, “Blue Note” label released “Paul Chambers Quintet”, the fourth Paul Chambers studio album. It was recorded in May 1957, “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Donald Byrd – trumpet 
  • Clifford Jordan – tenor saxophone 
  • Tommy Flanagan – piano
  • Elvin Jones – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Chambers except where noted

  1. Minor Run-Down – Benny Golson
  2. The Hand of Love
  3. Softly, as in a Morning Sunrise – Oscar Hammerstein II, Sigmund Romberg
  4. Four Strings – Benny Golson
  5. What’s New? – Johnny Burke, Bob Haggart
  6. Beauteous

J. J. Johnson: J. J. Inc

On April 10. 1961, “Columbia” label released “J.J. Inc.” the 19th J. J. Johnson album. It was recorded in August 1960, and was produced by Teo Macero.


  • J. J. Johnson – trombone
  • Freddie Hubbard – trumpet
  • Clifford Jordan – tenor saxophone
  • Cedar Walton – piano
  • Arthur Harper – double bass
  • Albert Heath – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by J.J. Johnson.

  1. Mohawk
  2. Minor Mist
  3. In Walked Horace
  4. Fatback
  5. Aquarius
  6. Shutterbug

Howard Johnson

On January 11, 2021, Howard Lewis Johnson died aged 79. He was musician (tuba, baritone saxophone, bass clarinet, trumpet), member and leader of the tuba ensembles Tuba Libre, Substructure, and Gravity. He recorded and performed with some of the world best known musicians and bands, including George Gruntz, Hank Crawford, Gil Evans, Charles Mingus, Hank Crawford, Rahsaan Roland Kirk, Archie Shepp, Hank Mobley, Levon Helm, Tomasz Stanko, Gary Burton, Gábor Szabó, Bob Thiele, Charlie Haden, Jazz Composers, Andrew Hill, Leon Thomas, Johnny Coles, Taj Mahal, Charles Tolliver, The Band, Carla Bley, John Lennon, Sam Rivers, Gato Barbieri, Jaco Pastorius, Muddy Waters, Dexter Gordon, Clifford Jordan, David “Fathead” Newman,  James Taylor, Jack De Johnette, Jimmy Heath, Franco Ambrosetti, George Gruntz, Miles Davis, Quincy Jones, NDR Big Band, Ray Anderson, Barbara Dennerlein, John Scofield, T. S. Monk, Mario Pavone, and Chet Baker. As leader he released four albums.

In December 1957.

In December 1957, “Blue Note” label released “Cliff Craft”, the fourth Clifford Jordan album. It was recorded in November 1957, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  1. Clifford Jordan – tenor saxophone
  2. Art Farmer – trumpet 
  3. Sonny Clark – piano
  4. George Tucker – bass
  5. Louis Hayes – drums

Track listing:

 All tracks by Cliff Jordan, except where noted.

  1. Laconia
  2. Soul-Lo Blues
  3. Cliff Craft
  4. Confirmation – Charlie Parker
  5. Sophisticated Lady – Duke Ellington, Irving Mills, Mitchell Parish
  6. Anthropology – Dizzy Gillespie, Charlie Parker

Stanley Cowell

On December 17, 2020, Stanley Cowell died aged 79. He was musician (piano), co-founder of the “Strata-East Records” label, and professor at the “Music Department of the Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers”, the “State University of New Jersey”. He recorded with many famous jazz musicians including Gary Bartz, Larry Coryell, Richard Davis, Sonny Fortune, Roy Haynes, Jimmy Heath, The Heath Brothers, Stan Getz, Johnny Griffin, Bobby Hutcherson, J. J. Johnson, Clifford Jordan, Oliver Nelson, Jimmy Owens, Art Pepper, Buddy Terry, Charles Sullivan, Charles Toliver, Roland Kirk, Marion Brown, Harold Land, and Max Roach. As leader Cowell released 34 albums.

Don Cherry

On October 19, 1995, Donald Eugene Cherry died aged 58. He was a musician (trumpet), one of the pioneers in world fusion in the 60s and 70s. Cherry recorded and performed with a number of musicians and bands including Ornette Coleman, Paul Bley, Sonny Rollins, New York Contemporary Five, Naná Vasconcelos, La Monte Young, Abdullah Ibrahim, Carla Bley, Charlie Haden, Allen Ginsberg, Charles Brackeen, Codona, Albert Ayler, Clifford Jordan, Steve Lacy, Michael Mantler, Sunny Murray, Jim Pepper, George Russell, Sun Ra, Lou Reed, Charlie Rouse, Albert Heath, James Mtume, Herbie Hancock, Ed Blackwell, Steve Hillage, Collin Walcott, Latif Khan, Johnny Dyani, Masahiko Togashi, Bengt Berger, Rip Rig + Panic, Bengt Berger Bitter Funeral Beer Band, Dag Vag, Frank Lowe, Jai Uttal, and Ed Blackwell.

In July 1957.

In July 1957, “Blue Note” label released “Blowing in from Chicago”, the debut Clifford Jordan album. It was recorded in March 1957, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Clifford Jordan – tenor saxophone
  • John Gilmore- tenor saxophone
  • Horace Silver- piano
  • Curly Russell- bass
  • Art Blakey– drums

Track listing:

  1. Status Quo – John Neely
  2. Bo-Till – Clifford Jordan
  3. Blue Lights – Gigi Gryce
  4. Billie’s Bounce – Charlie Parker
  5. Evil Eye – Clifford Jordan
  6. Everywhere – Horace Silver