Tag Archives: 2004

On May 18, 2004.

On May 18, 2004, “Reprise” label released “Now Here is Nowhere”, the debut  Secret Machines album. It was recorded 2003 – 2004, at “Stratosphere Sound” in Manhatan, New York, and was produced by Jeff Blenkinsopp, Brandon Curtis, Benjamin Curtis and Josh Garza.


  • Brandon Curtis- vocals, bass guitar, keyboard
  • Benjamin Curtis- guitar, backing vocals
  • Josh Garza- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Brandon Curtis, Benjamin Curtis and Josh Garza.

  1. First Wave Intact
  2. Sad and Lonely
  3. The Leaves Are Gone
  4. Nowhere Again
  5. The Road Leads Where It’s Led
  6. Pharaoh’s Daughter
  7. You Are Chains
  8. Light’s On
  9. Now Here is Nowhere

On May 10, 2005.

On May 10, 2005, “Blue Note” label released “Joyous Encounter”, the 22nd Joe Lovano album. It was recorded in September 2004, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Joe Lovano.


  • Joe Lovano – curved soprano, soprano and tenor saxophone
  • Hank Jones – piano
  • George Mraz – bass
  • Paul Motian – drums

Track listing:

  1. Autumn in New York – Vernon Duke
  2. Bird’s Eye View – Joe Lovano
  3. Don’t Ever Leave Me – Thad Jones
  4. Alone Together – Howard Dietz, Arthur Schwartz
  5. Six and Four – Oliver Nelson
  6. Pannonica – Thelonious Monk
  7. Consummation – Hank Jones
  8. Quiet Lady -Thad Jones
  9. Joyous Encounter – Joe Lovano
  10. A Child Is Born – Thad Jones
  11. Crescent – John Coltrane


On April 26, 2004.

On April 26, 2004, “ECM” label released “Class Trip”,the 29th John Abercrombie  album. It was recorded in February 2003, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • John Abercrombie– guitar
  • Mark Feldman– violin
  • Marc Johnson– bass
  • Joey Baron– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by John Abercrombie, except where noted.

  1. Dansir
  2. Risky Business
  3. Descending Grace
  4. Illinoise – John Abercrombie, Joey Baron, Mark Feldman, Marc Johnson
  5. Cat Walk
  6. Excuse My Shoes
  7. Swirls
  8. Jack and Betty
  9. Class Trip
  10. Soldier’s Song – Béla Bartók
  11. Epilogue – John Abercrombie, Joey Baron, Mark Feldman, Marc Johnson

On March 29, 2005.

On March 29, 2005, “InsideOut Music” label released “Elements of Persuasion”, the third James LaBrie album. It was recorded 2004 – 2005, at “Iguana Recording Studios”, “Cawaja Sound”, “Ear Kandy Studios”, and was produced by James LaBrie and Matt Guillory.


  • James LaBrie- all vocals, arrangements
  • Marco Sfogli- lead and rhythm guitars
  • Matt Guillory- keyboards, guitar
  • Bryan Beller- bass
  • Mike Mangini- drums
  • Matt Guillory – arrangements
  • Richard Chycki – recording, mixing
  • Edmund Monsef – recording
  • Steve Chahley, Tom Wilson – engineers

Track listing:

All lyrics by James LaBrie except where noted; all music by James LaBrie and Matt Guillory except where noted.

  1. Crucify – lyrics by Matt Guillory
  2. Alone – lyrics by Matt Guillory
  3. Freaks – music by James LaBrie, Matt Guillory, Brian Wherry
  4. Invisible – music by James LaBrie, Matt Guillory, Brian Wherry
  5. Lost – music by Matt Guillory
  6. Undecided – music by James LaBrie, Matt Guillory, Brian Wherry
  7. Smashed
  8. Pretender – music by James LaBrie, Matt Guillory, Brian Wherry
  9. Slightly Out of Reach
  10. Oblivious – music by James LaBrie, Matt Guillory, Brian Wherry
  11. In Too Deep
  12. Drained

On March 20, 2002.

On March 20, 2002, “GrOb Records” label released “Звездопад” (Starfall), the 20th Гражданская Оборона (Civil Defense) album. It was recorded August – November 2001; track “Fog” was recorded on December 14, 2003, at Yegor Letov concert in Barnaul;  track “The Sun Will Rise” was recorded on April 29, 2004, at a concert in the “Palace of Culture” in Moscow, and was produced by Yegor Letov. The cover design features works by Romanian naivist painter Mihai Dascalu  and Croatian naivist painter Ivan Generalich


  • Yegor Letov- vocal, guitar, design, photography
  • Alexander Chesnakov – guitars, bass
  • Natalya Chumakova- vocal, electric bass
  • Alexander Vladykin- organ
  • Alexander Andryushkin- drums, bass
  • Sergey Letov- flute, saxophone
  • Chumakov – mastering
  • S. Popkov, N. Chumakova – photography

Track listing:

  1. Song of the Red Army (from the TV movie Dirk) – lyrics by Okudzhava, music by S. Pozhlakov
  2. Song of the Circus (from the telecast Day After Day) – lyrics by M. Ancharov, music by I. Kataev
  3. I Will Go to the Distant Station – lyrics by M. Tanich, music by V. Shainsky
  4. There Was a War – Okudzhava
  5. Starfall – lyrics by Dobronravov, music by A. Pakhmutova
  6. North Wind – lyrics by I. Goff, music by J. Frenkel
  7. City of Childhood – lyrics by Christmas, music by F. Miller
  8. For the Rest of Life (from the movie For the Rest of Life) – lyrics by P. Fomenko, music by V. Basner
  9. Word is Comrade – lyrics by M. Ancharov, music by I. Kataev
  10. Caravel – lyrics by A. Kalle, music by V. Kalle
  11. White Silence – Vysotsky
  12. Red Horse – lyrics by Plyatkovsky, music by M. Fradkin
  13. Song About Black Gouache and Hope – Matveyeva
  14. The Sun Rises (from the animated movie “The Bremen Town Musicians) – lyrics by Entin, music by G. Gladkov
  15. I Made a Decision – lyrics by Pozhenyan, music by M. Tariverdiev
  16. The Sun Will Rise (live) – lyrics by Y. Entin, music by G. Gladkov


On March 8, 2005.

On March 8, 2005, “Ipecac Recordings” label released “Black Oni”, the fifth Guapo album. It was recorded 2004 – 2005, at “Zed One Studios” in London, and was produced by Pete Lyons.


  • Matt Thompson – bass, guitar, electronics
  • Dave Smith – drums, percussion
  • Daniel O’Sullivan – electric piano, keyboards, harmonium, mellotron, guitar, electronics
  • Jaime Gomez Arellano – mastering
  • Pete Lyons – mixing
  • Yukimaro Takematsu – art direction, design, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Matt Thompson, Dave Smith and Daniel O’Sullivan.

  1. I
  2. II
  3. III
  4. IV
  5. V


On February 9, 2004.

On February 9, 2004, “Merge” label released “Aw Cmon”, the seventh Lambchop album. It was recorded and released at the same time as the album “No You Cmon”, and both were released together as a double album pack as well as separately. It was recorded in 2003, at “The Beech House” in Nashville, TN, and was produced by Kurt Wagner and Mark Nevers.


  • Kurt Wagner – vocals, guitar, juno, mixing
  • Curtiss Pernice, Willie Tyler – electric and acoustic guitar
  • Paul Niehaus – electric and steel guitar
  • Alex McManus – guitar
  • Matt Swanson – bass
  • Benny Martin, Sam Baker – drums
  • Jonathan Marx, Marc William Trovillion – electronics
  • Tony Crow – piano
  • Deanna Varagona – vocals
  • The Nashville String Machine – strings
  • Lloyd Barry – arranger
  • Mark Nevers – engineer, mixing
  • John Kelton – editing
  • Jim DeMain – mastering
  • Wayne White – painting, art cover

Track listing:

All tracks by Kurt Wagner, except where noted.

  1. Being Tyler – Kurt Wagner, William Tyler
  2. Four Pounds in Two Days
  3. Steve McQueen
  4. The Lone Official
  5. Something’s Going On
  6. Nothing But a Blur from a Bullet Train
  7. Each Time I Bring It Up It Seems to Bring You Down
  8. Timothy B. Schmidt
  9. Women Help to Create the Kind of Men They Despise – Kurt Wagner, William Tyler
  10. I Hate Candy
  11. I Haven’t Heard a Word I’ve Said
  12. Action Figure