Tag Archives: traditional

On August 14, 2001.

On August 14, 2001, “Rounder” by label released “New Favorite”, the ninth Alison Krauss & Union Station album. It was recorded in 2001, and was produced by Alison Krauss, Dan Tyminski, Ron Block, Jerry Douglas, Barry Bales and Larry Atamanuik.


  • Alison Krauss– lead vocals, fiddle, viola
  • Dan Tyminski– background vocals, acoustic guitar, mandolin
  • Ron Block– background vocals, acoustic guitar, banjo
  • Jerry Douglas– dobro, lap steel guitar
  • Barry Bales– background vocals, upright bass
  • Larry Atamanuik – drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Let Me Touch You for Awhile – Robert Lee Castleman
  2. The Boy Who Wouldn’t Hoe Corn – traditional
  3. The Lucky One – Robert Lee Castleman
  4. Choctaw Hayride – Jerry Douglas
  5. Crazy Faith – Mark Simos
  6. Momma Cried – Bob Lucas
  7. I’m Gone – Eric Kaz, Wendy Waldman
  8. Daylight – Bob Lucas
  9. Bright Sunny South – traditional
  10. Stars – Dan Fogelberg
  11. It All Comes Down to You – Ron Block
  12. Take Me for Longing – Mark Simos
  13. New Favorite – David Rawlings, Gillian Welch

In July 1969.

In July 1969, “Elektra” label released “The Original Delaney & Bonnie”, the second   Delaney & Bonnie studio album. It was recorded in 1969, at “Elektra Sound Recorders Studios”, in Los Angeles, and was produced by Delaney Bramlett and David Anderle.


  • Bonnie Bramlett- vocals
  • Delaney Bramlett- guitars, vocals, arrangements
  • Leon Russell- guitars, piano, arrangements
  • Jerry McGee – guitars
  • Carl Radle- bass guitar
  • Bobby Whitlock- organ, keyboards, vocals
  • Bobby Keys- saxophone
  • Jim Price- trombone, trumpet, horns
  • Rita Coolidge- backing vocals
  • Jim Keltner, Jim Gordon- drums, percussion
  • Jimmie Haskell – string arrangements
  • John Haeny: engineer
  • Barry Feinstein: photography

Track listing:

  1. Get Ourselves Together – Delaney Bramlett, Bonnie Bramlett, Carl Radle
  2. Someday – Delaney Bramlett, Jerry Allison, Bonnie Bramlett, Doug Gilmore
  3. Ghetto – Delaney Bramlett, Bettye Crutcher, Homer Banks, Bonnie Bramlett
  4. When the Battle Is Over – Mac Rebennack, Jessie Hill
  5. Dirty Old Man – Delaney Bramlett, Mac Davis
  6. Love Me a Little Longer – Delaney Bramlett, Bonnie Bramlett
  7. I Can’t Take It Much Longer – Delaney Bramlett, Joey Cooper
  8. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man – Dan Penn, Chips Moman
  9. Soldiers of the Cross – traditional
  10. Gift of Love – Delaney Bramlett, Mac Davis

On June 2, 2017.

On June 2, 2017, “Infectious Music” and “Canvasback Music” label released “Relaxer”, the third alt-J studio album. It was recorded August 2016 – January 2017, at “Iguana Studios” in Brixton,”Abbey Road Studios” in Westminster, “The Church Studios” in Crouch End, “Strongroom Studios” in Shoreditch, “Ely Cathedral” in Ely, and was produced by Charlie Andrew. The album art was taken from a video game made specifically for the band by Japanese artist Osamu Sato. It was inspired by Sato’s 1998 “PlayStation” video game LSD.


  • Joe Newman – guitar, vocals
  • Thom Sonny Green– drums, percussion, programming
  • Gus Unger-Hamilton – keyboards, vocals
  • Ellie Rowsell, Marika Hackman– vocals
  • Hinako Omori – background vocals
  • Ely Cathedral Boy Choristers – choir
  • London Metropolitan Orchestra– strings
  • Joe Auckland – trumpet
  • Adrian Hallowell – trombone
  • Mike Kearsey – trombone
  • Trevor Mires – trombone
  • Martin Williams – tenor saxophone
  • Charlie Andrew – mixing, engineering, programming
  • Brett Cox, Jay Pocknell – engineering
  • Stefano Civetta, Paul Pritchard, Graeme Baldwin – assistant engineering
  • Dick Beetham – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Newman, Gus Unger-Hamilton and Thom Sonny Green, except where noted.

  1. 3WW
  2. In Cold Blood
  3. House of the Rising Sun – traditional
  4. Hit Me Like That Share
  5. Deadcrush
  6. Adeline – Joe Newman, Gus Unger-Hamilton, Thom Sonny Green, Hans Zimmer
  7. Last Year
  8. Pleader


On May 9, 2006.

On May 9, 2006, “Anti Records” label released “Springtime Can Kill You”, the second Jolie Holland studio album. It was recorded in 2006, and was produced by Jolie Holland.


  • Jolie Holland – voice, piano, whistle, box fiddle, guitar
  • Brian Miller – guitars, piano, percussion, rhodes, electric bass, glockenspiel
  • Keith Cary – upright bass, harmony vocals, tuba, lap steel, cello, hawaiian guitar
  • David Mihaly – drum kit, tiny bells
  • Peter Musselman – french horn, accordion
  • Ara Anderson – baritone horn, pump organ
  • Feddi Price – mellophone
  • Olive Mitra – electric bass
  • Sonny Smith- Hammond B3 organ
  • Carvell Wallace, Kate Klaire – harmony vocals
  • David Dondero – voice

Track listing:

All tracks by Jolie Holland except where noted.

  1. Crush in the Ghetto
  2. Mehitabel’s Blues – Jolie Holland, Brian Miller
  3. Springtime Can Kill You – Jolie Holland, Brian Miller
  4. Crazy Dreams – CR Avery
  5. You’re Not Satisfied – adaptation of “Though You’re Not Satisfied” by Riley Pucket
  6. Stubborn Beast
  7. Don’t Tell ‘Em
  8. Moonshiner
  9. Ghostly Girl
  10. Nothing Left to Do but Dream
  11. Adieu False Heart – traditional
  12. Mexican Blue


On April 27, 2004.

On April 27, 2004, “Anti Records” label released “Escondida” (Spanish / Portugeses – Hidden), the first Jolie Holland studio album. It was recorded in 2004, and was produced by Jolie Holland and Lemon DeGeorge.


  • Jolie Holland – voice, guitar, piano, ukulele
  • Dave Mihaly – drums, marimba, voice
  • Brian Miller – electric guitar, acoustic guitar, voice
  • Keith Cary – double bass, mandolin, banjo
  • Ara Anderson – trumpet
  • Enzo Garcia – musical saw
  • Paul Scriver – soprano saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Jolie Holland, except where noted.

  1. Sascha
  2. Black Stars
  3. Old Fashioned Morphine
  4. Amen
  5. Mad Tom of Bedlam
  6. Poor Girl’s Blues
  7. Goodbye California
  8. Do You?
  9. Darlin Ukelele
  10. Damn Shame
  11. Tiny Idyll/Lil Missy
  12. Faded Coat of Blue – traditional



In April 1962.

In April 1962, “ABC-Paramount” label released “Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music”, the 19th Ray Charles album. It was recorded in February 1962, at “Capitol Studios” in New York City and “United Recording Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Sid Feller, Ray Charles and Joe Adams. In 1999, the album was inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”. In 2001, the album track “I Can’t Stop Loving You” was inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”. in 2001,  the album was cited by “The Recording Academy” as a recording of “historical significance. “I Can’t Stop Loving You” was ranked number 49 on “Country Music Television’s” list of the “100 Greatest Songs of Country Music”  In 2001, “VH1” channel listed the album in its list of “The 100 Greatest Albums of R ‘N’ R”. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 104 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Ray Charles– vocals, piano
  • Hank Crawford– alto saxophone
  • Gil Fuller, Gerald Wilson– big band arrangements
  • Marty Paich– string arrangements
  • Todd Everett – liner notes
  • Bill Inglot, Ken Perry – remastering
  • Michael Ochs Archives, Hugh Bell – photography
  • Bill Putnam, Gene Thompson, Johnny Cue.Bob Arnold, Frank Abbey – engineering

Track listing:

  1. Bye Bye Love – Boudleaux Bryant, Felice Bryant
  2. You Don’t Know Me – Eddy Arnold, Cindy Walker
  3. Half As Much – Curley Williams
  4. I Love You So Much It Hurts – Floyd Tillman
  5. Just a Little Lovin’ (Will Go a Long Way) – Eddy Arnold, Zeke Clements
  6. Born To Lose – Frankie Brown, (Ted Daffan)
  7. Worried Mind – Ted Daffan, Jimmie Davis
  8. It Makes No Difference Now – Floyd Tillman, Jimmie Davis
  9. You Win Again – Hank Williams
  10. Careless Love – traditional, arranged by Ray Charles
  11. I Can’t Stop Loving You – Don Gibson
  12. Hey, Good Lookin’ – Hank Williams