Tag Archives: May

On March 29, 2019.

On March 29, 2019, “Nonesuch” label released “Come What May”, the 20th Joshua Redman album. It was recorded in May 2018, at “Sear Sound” in New York City, and was produced by Joshua Redman.


  • Joshua Redman – tenor saxophone
  • Reuben Rogers– bass
  • Gregory Hutchinson– drums
  • Aaron Goldberg– piano

Track listing:

All tracks by Joshua Redman.

  1. Circle of Life
  2. I’ll Go Mine
  3. Come What May
  4. How We Do
  5. DGAF
  6. Stagger Bear
  7. Vast

On March 16, 2010.

On March 16, 2010, “Nonesuch” label released “Highway Rider”, the 26th Brad Mehldau album. It was recorded February – May 2009, at “Ocean Way Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Jon Brion.


  • Brad Mehldau– piano, pump organ, Yamaha CS-80 polyphonic analog synthesizer, orchestral bells, handclaps
  • Jeff Ballard– percussion, snare brush, drums, handclaps
  • Joshua Redman– soprano and tenor saxophone, handclaps
  • Larry Grenadier– bass, handclaps
  • Matt Chamberlain– drums, handclaps
  • Dan Coleman – orchestra conductor
  • The Fleurettes – vocals
  • Jon Brion- mixing
  • Gregg Koller – engineer, mixing
  • Eric Caudieux– engineer
  • Alan Yoshida – mastering
  • Robert Hurwitz – executive producer
  • Richard Misrach– cover photograph
  • Lawrence Azerrad – graphic design

Track listing:

All tracks by Brad Mehldau.

  1. John Boy
  2. Don’t Be Sad
  3. At the Tollbooth
  4. Highway Rider
  5. The Falcon Will Fly Again
  6. Now You Must Climb Alone
  7. Walking the Peak
  8. We’ll Cross the River Together
  9. Capriccio
  10. Sky Turning Grey (for Elliot Smith)
  11. Into the City
  12. Old West
  13. Come With Me
  14. Always Departing

In February 1972.

In February 1972, “Groove Merchant” label released “Sundance”, the fourth Chick Corea album. It was recorded in May 1969, and was produced by Sonny Lester.


  • Chick Corea– piano
  • Hubert Laws– flute, piccolo flute
  • Bennie Maupin– tenor saxophone
  • Woody Shaw– trumpet
  • Dave Holland– bass
  • Jack De Johnette– drums
  • Horace Arnold– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Chick Corea.

  1. The Brain
  2. Song of Wind
  3. Converge
  4. Sundance


On February 3, 2017.

On February 3, 2017, “ECM” label released “Daylight Ghosts”, the eight Craig Taborn album. It was recorded in May 2016, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Craig Taborn– piano, electronics
  • Chris Speed– tenor saxophone, clarinet
  • Chris Lightcap– double bass, bass guitar
  • Dave King– drums, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Craig Taborn, except where noted.

  1. The Shining One
  2. Abandoned Reminder
  3. Daylight Ghosts
  4. New Glory
  5. The Great Silence
  6. Ancient
  7. Jamaican Farewell – Roscoe Mitchell
  8. Subtle Living Equations
  9. Phantom Radio

On January 8, 2017.

On January 8, 2017, “Columbia” and “Sony” labels, released posthumously “No Plan”, EP by David Bowie. It was recorded January – May 2015, and was produced by Tony Visconti and David Bowie.


  • David Bowie– vocals, acoustic and Fender guitars
  • Donny McCaslin– saxophone, flute, woodwinds
  • Jason Lindner– piano, Wurlitzer organ, keyboards
  • Tim Lefebvre– bass
  • Mark Guiliana– drums, percussion
  • Ben Monder– guitar
  • Kevin Killen– engineering
  • Kabir Hermon – engineering assistance
  • Erin Tonkon – engineering assistance
  • Tony Visconti– mixing, engineering
  • Tom Elmhirst– final master mix
  • Joe Visciano– final master mix assistant
  • Joe LaPorta– mastering
  • Barnbrook– cover design
  • DSS – front cover star image
  • Jimmy King – David Bowie image

Track listing:

All tracks by David Bowie.

  1. Lazarus
  2. No Plan
  3. Killing a Little Time
  4. When I Met You


On January 1, 1979.

On January 1, 1979, “ECM” label released “Nice Guys”, the 25th Art Ensemble of Chicago album. It was recorded in May 1978, at “Tonstudio Bauer” in Ludwigsburg, Germany, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Roscoe Mitchell: saxophones, clarinets, flute, percussion instruments
  • Lester Bowie: trumpet, celeste, bass drum
  • Malachi Favors Maghostut: bass, percussion instruments, melodica
  • Joseph Jarman: vocal, saxophones, clarinets, percussion instruments
  • Don Moye: vocal, drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Ja – Lester Bowie
  2. Nice Guys – Roscoe Mitchell
  3. Folkus – Don Moye
  4. 597–59 – Joseph Jarman
  5. CYP – Roscoe Mitchell
  6. Dreaming of the Master – Joseph Jarman

On November 25, 1970.

On November 25, 1970, “Columbia” label released “Christmas and the Beads of Sweat”, the fourth Laura Nyro album. It was recorded in May 1970, in New York City, and was produced by Felix Cavaliere and Arif Mardin.


  • Laura Nyro – vocals, piano, arrangements
  • Barry Beckett– vibraphone
  • Felix Cavaliere– organ, bells
  • Roger Hawkins– drums
  • Eddie Hinton– electric guitar
  • David Hood– bass
  • Jack Jennings – percussion
  • Stuart Scharf– acoustic guitar
  • Duane Allman– guitar
  • Richard Davis– bass
  • Alice Coltrane– harp
  • Dino Danelli– drums
  • Cornell Dupree– electric guitar
  • Joe Farrell– woodwinds
  • Ashod Garabedian – oud
  • Ralph MacDonald– percussion
  • Chuck Rainey– bass
  • Michael Szittai – cimbalin
  • Arif Mardin– arrangements, conductor
  • Roy Segal, Tim Geelan – engineer
  • Jerry Lee Smith, Doug Pomeroy -assistant engineer
  • Beth O’Brien – cover portrait

Track listing:

All tracks by Laura Nyro, except where noted.

  1. Brown Earth
  2. When I Was a Freeport and You Were the Main Drag
  3. Blackpatch
  4. Been on a Train
  5. Up on the Roof – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  6. Upstairs by a Chinese Lamp
  7. Map to the Treasure
  8. Beads of Sweat
  9. Christmas in My Soul