Tag Archives: 2008

On January 21, 2008.

On January 21, 2008, “Domino” label released “Falling off the Lavender Bridge”, the debut Lightspeed Champion (Devonté Hynes) album. It was recorded in 2007, at “ARC Studios” in Omaha, Nebraska, and was produced by Mike Mogis.


  • Devonté Hynes- vocals, guitar
  • Emmy the Great- additional vocals
  • Tim Kasher- additional vocals
  • Derek Pressnall, Kianna Alarid, Susan Sanchez, David Coyote Bones, Nik Fackler, Joe Knapp- group vocals
  • Clark Baechle- drums
  • Kimberley Salistean, Cynthia Ricker, Donna Carnes and Tracy Sands – strings
  • Nate Walcott- strings arrangement
  • Tom Clarke – cello
  • Miguel Picanco – oboe
  • Mark Benson – clarinet
  • Karen Murphy – flute
  • Mike Mogis- producer, mixer, engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Devonté Hynes.

  1. Number One
  2. Galaxy of the Lost
  3. Tell Me What It’s Worth
  4. All to Shit
  5. Midnight Surprise
  6. Devil Tricks for a Bitch
  7. I Could Have Done This Myself
  8. Salty Water
  9. Dry Lips
  10. Everyone I Know Is Listening to Crunk
  11. Let the Bitches Die
  12. No Surprise (for Wendela) / Midnight Surprise

On January 15, 2008.

On January 15, 2008, “Nonesuch” label released “Distortion”, the eighth Magnetic Fields studio album. It was recorded in 2007, at “Mother West” in New York, and was produced by Stephin Merritt.


  • Stephin Merritt– vocals, instrumentation, production, mixing
  • Claudia Gonson– drums, piano, Farfisa organ, backing vocals, management
  • Sam Davol– cello
  • John Woo– lead guitar
  • Shirley Simms – vocals
  • Daniel Handler– accordion
  • Klasinski, I. Pearle, R. Stevens – “orgiasts”
  • Charles Newman– mixing
  • Tom Rogers – mixing, additional mastering
  • Robert Stevens – engineeringassistance
  • Jeff Lipton – mastering
  • Evan Gaffney Design – sleeve design
  • Marcelo Krasilcic – sleeve photography
  • Michael English – logo design

.Track listing:

All tracks by Stephin Merritt.

  1. Three-Way
  2. California Girls
  3. Old Fools
  4. Xavier Says
  5. Mistletoe
  6. Please Stop Dancing
  7. Drive On, Driver
  8. Too Drunk to Dream
  9. Till the Bitter End
  10. I’ll Dream Alone
  11. The Nun’s Litany
  12. Zombie Boy
  13. Courtesans


On January 14, 2008.

On January 14, 2008, “Cinq7” label released “A Mouthful”, the debut The Dø album. It was recorded in 2007, and was produced by Olivia Merilahti and Dan Levy.


  • Olivia Merilahti – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Dan Levy – various instruments

Track listing:

All tracks by Olivia Bouyssou Merilahti and Dan Levy.

  1. Playground Hustle
  2. At Last!
  3. On My Shoulders
  4. Song for Lovers
  5. The Bridge Is Broken
  6. Stay (Just a Little Bit More)
  7. Unissasi laulelet
  8. Tammie
  9. Queen Dot Kong
  10. Coda
  11. Searching Gold
  12. When Was I Last Home?
  13. Travel Light
  14. Aha
  15. In My Box

On January 12, 2010.

On January 12, 2010, “Capitol” label released “Of the Blue Colour of the Sky”, the third OK Go studio album. It was recorded October 2008 – May 2009, at “Tarbox Road Studios” in Cassadaga, New York, and was produced by Dave Fridmann.


  • Damian Kulash, Jr.— lead vocals, guitars, programming, percussion
  • Tim Nordwind — bass, vocals, glockenspiel
  • Dan Konopka — drums
  • Andy Ross— guitars, keyboards, vocals
  • Mark Mullins— trombone
  • Brian L. Perkins — clapping
  • Greg Calbi — audio mastering

Track listing:

  1. WTF? – Damian Kulash, Jr.
  2. This Too Shall Pass – Damian Kulash, Jr., Timothy Nordwind
  3. All Is Not Lost – Damian Kulash, Jr., Timothy Nordwind
  4. Needing / Getting – Damian Kulash, Jr., Timothy Nordwind
  5. Skyscrapers – Damian Kulash, Jr.
  6. White Knuckles – Damian Kulash, Jr.
  7. I Want You So Bad I Can’t Breathe – Timothy Nordwind
  8. End Love – Timothy Nordwind, Damian Kulash, Jr.
  9. Before the Earth Was Round – Damian Kulash, Jr.
  10. Last Leaf – Damian Kulash, Jr.
  11. Back from Kathmandu – Damian Kulash, Jr.
  12. While You Were Asleep – Andy Ross
  13. In the Glass – Damian Kulash, Jr.


On December 22, 2014.

On December 22, 2014, John Robert “Joe” Cocker, died aged 70. He was singer and musician, with unique gritty voice and stage movements. He gained world popularity with his performance of the Beatles song “With a Little Help from My Friends” at  “Woodstock”  and “Isle of Wight” festivals in 1969. Cocker has received several awards, including a 1983 “Grammy Award” for his song “Up Where We Belong”;  2007 a bronze “Sheffield Legends” plaque in his hometown and in 2008 “OBE” at Buckingham Palace for services to music. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked him at number 97 on its list of the “100 Greatest Singers”.


On December 8, 2009.

On December 8, 2009, “Big Rig” label released “Pin Points and Gin Joints”, the eighth The Mighty Mighty Bosstones studio album. It was recorded November 2008 – July 2009, and was produced by Ted Hult.


  • Dicky Barrett– lead vocals
  • Lawrence Katz – guitar, backing vocals
  • Joe Gittleman– bass, backing vocals
  • Joe Sirois– drums
  • Tim “Johnny Vegas” Burton– saxophone
  • Kevin Lenear – saxophone
  • Chris Rhodes– trombone
  • Ben Carr – Bosstone, backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks  by Dicky Barrett and Joe Gittleman, except where noted.

  1. Graffiti Worth Reading
  2. Nah, Nah, Nah, Nah, Nah
  3. The Route That I Took
  4. You Left Right?
  5. Too Many Stars – Dicky Barrett, Lawrence Katz
  6. Your Life
  7. I Wrote It
  8. Not to Me on That Night – Dicky Barrett, Lawrence Katz
  9. Wasted Summers
  10. Sister Mary
  11. The Death Valley Vipers
  12. It Will Be
  13. The Bricklayer’s Story
  14. A Pretty Sad Excuse
  15. Feeling Today


On November 24, 2008.

On November 24, 2008, Michael Gary Pearson aka Michael Lee died aged 39. He was drummer who toured and recorded with many famous musicians and music acts, including Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, The Cult, Echo & the Bunnymen, Aerosmith, Lenny Kravitz, Jeff Martin, Little Angels,  Ian Gillan, The Quireboys and Thin Lizzy.