Tag Archives: 1991

On September 30, 1991.

On September 30, 1991, “FFRR Records” label released the self-titled, debut Orbital (known as the Green Album) album. It was recorded in 1991, and was produced by Paul Hartnoll and Phil Hartnoll.


  • Paul Hartnoll – performer
  • Phil Hartnoll – performer
  • Tim Hunt – engineer
  • Herbert Lesch – assistant engineer
  • Fultano ’91 – cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Hartnoll and Phil Hartnoll.

  1. The Moebius
  2. Speed Freak
  3. Oolaa
  4. Desert Storm
  5. Fahrenheit 303
  6. Steel Cube Idolatry
  7. High Rise
  8. Chime (live)
  9. Midnight (live)
  10. Belfast
  11. I Think It’s Disgusting (Outro)

On July 23, 1991.

On July 23, 1991, “Polygram do Brazil Ltda” label released “João”, the 30th João Gilberto album. It was recorded in 1991, and was produced by Mayrton Bahia.


  • Joao Gilberto – voice, guitar
  • Clare Fischer– keyboards, string arrangements
  • Jim Hughart– acoustic bass
  • Joe Correro – drums
  • Michito Sanchez – percussion

Track listing:

  1. Eu Sambo Mesmo (I Really Samba) – Janet Almeida
  2. Siga (Go On) – Fernando Lobo, Helio Guimarães
  3. Rosinha – (Little Rose) – Jonas Silva
  4. Málaga – Fred Bongusto
  5. Una Mujer (A Woman) – Paul Misraki, S. Pontal Riso, C. Olivare
  6. Eu e Meu Coração (My Heart and I) – Inaldo Vilarinho, Antonio Botelho
  7. You Do Something to Me – Cole Porter
  8. Palpite Infeliz (Unhappy Remark) – Noel Rosa
  9. Ave Maria no Morro (Ave Maria on the Hill) – Herivelto Martins
  10. Sampa – Caetano Veloso
  11. Sorriu pra Mim (Smiled at Me) – Garoto, Luiz Claudio
  12. Que Reste-t-il de Nos Amours (I Wish You Love) – Charles Trenet, Leon Chauliac

On July 7, 1992.

On July 7, 1992, “ATCO” label released “Images and Words”, the second Dream Theater studio album. It was recorded October – December 1991, at “BearTracks Studios” in Suffern, New York; “The Hit Factory” in New York City, and was produced by David Prater.


  • James LaBrie– lead vocals
  • John Petrucci– guitar, background vocals
  • Kevin Moore– keyboard
  • John Myung– bass
  • Mike Portnoy– drums, percussion, background vocals
  • Jay Beckenstein– soprano saxophone
  • David Prater – mixing
  • Doug Oberkircher – engineer, mixing\
  • Steve Regina – assistant engineer
  • Ted Jensen– mastering
  • Larry Freemantle – art direction

Track listing:

All music by James LaBrie, John Petrucci, Kevin Moore, John Myung and Mike Portnoy, except where noted. “Wait for Sleep” by Kevin Moore.

  1. Pull Me Under – lyrics by Kevin Moore
  2. Another Day – John Petrucci
  3. Take the Time – lyrics by James LaBrie, John Petrucci, Kevin Moore, John Myung, Mike Portnoy
  4. Surrounded – lyrics by Kevin Moore
  5. Metropolis—Part I: ‘The Miracle and the Sleeper – lyrics by John Petrucci
  6. Under a Glass Moon – lyrics by John Petrucci
  7. Wait for Sleep – lyrics by Kevin Moore
  8. Learning to Live – John Myung

On June 12, 2018.

On June 12, 2018, Philip John “Jon” Hiseman died aged 73. He was musician,  recording engineer, record producer and music publisher, regarded as one of the best and most influential drummers in the history of the rock music. He has worked with many famous musicians and bands including Jack Bruce, John Mayall, Tempest, United Jazz + Rock Ensemble, JCM, but was best known as founding member and drummer of Colosseum. Hiseman released two solo albums:

  • A Night in the Sun– 1982
  • About Time Too!– 1991


On June 9, 2017.

On June 9, 2017, “Dualtone” label released “Chuck”, the twentieth and final Chuck Berry studio album. It was recorded 1991 – 2014, and was produced by Chuck Berry.


  • Chuck Berry– lead vocals, electric guitar

The Blueberry Hill Band

  • Robert Lohr – piano
  • Jimmy Marsala – bass guitar
  • Keith Robinson – drums
  • Charles Berry Jr. – guitar
  • Ingrid Berry – vocals, harmonica

Additional musicians

  • Charles Berry III, Tom Morello, Gary Clark Jr.– guitar
  • Nathaniel Rateliff, The New Respects – background vocals
  • Debra Dobkin– drums, percussion
  • Jeremy Lulito – additional drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Chuck Berry, except where noted..

  1. Wonderful Woman
  2. Big Boys
  3. You Go to My Head – Haven Gillespie,  Fred Coots
  4. 3/4 Time (Enchiladas) – Tony Joe White
  5. Darlin
  6. Lady B. Goode
  7. She Still Loves You
  8. Jamaica Moon
  9. Dutchman
  10. Eyes of Man

On May 24, 1991.

On May 24, 1991, Harold Eugene “Gene” Clark died aged 46. He was singer-songwriter and musician (tambourine, harmonica, guitar), member of  McGuinn, Clark and Hillman, best known as founding member of the Byrds, and author of some of the band’s best-known originals “I’ll Feel a Whole Lot Better”, “Eight Miles High”, “She Don’t Care About Time”, and “Set You Free This Time”. Clark released six solo albums.

On May 22, 1992.

On May 22, 1992, “Private Music” label released “Time Takes Time”, the tenth Ringo Starr album. It was recorded March – September 1991, February 1992, and was produced by Don Was, Jeff Lynne,   Peter Asher and Phil Ramone.


  • Ringo Starr– lead vocals, drums, percussion
  • Jeff Lynne– guitars, bass, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Mark Goldenberg, Waddy Wachtel– guitars
  • Andrew Gold, Roger Manning, Andy Sturmer– guitars, backing vocals
  • Michael Landau, David Grissom, Michael Thompson, Jeff Baxter– guitars
  • Mark Hart– guitars, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Benmont Tench, Robbie Buchanan, Jeffrey Vanston, Jamie Muhoberac– keyboards
  • James “Hutch” Hutchinson, Bob Glaub, Neil Stubenhaus– bass
  • Peter Asher– tambourine, backing vocals
  • Mark Hudson– percussion, backing vocals
  • Jim Horn– saxophone
  • Suzie Katayama – cello
  • Harry Nilsson– vocals
  • Raven Kane, Rosemary Butler, Valerie Carter, Terri Wood, Carmen Twillie, Wendy Fraser, Stephanie Spruill, Andrea Robinson, Bobbi Page, Doug Fieger, Berton Averre, Mark Hart, Craig Copeland, Naomi Star, Darlene Koldenhoven, Kathryn Cotter, Mark Warman, Brian Wilson, Doug Fieger, Brian O’Doherty – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Weight of the World – Brian O’Doherty, Fred Velez
  2. Don’t Know a Thing About Love – Richard Feldman, Stan Lynch
  3. Don’t Go Where the Road Don’t Go – Richard Starkey, Johnny Warman, Gary Grainger
  4. Golden Blunders – Jonathan Auer, Kenneth Stringfellow
  5. All in the Name of Love – Jerry Lynn Williams
  6. After All These Years – Richard Starkey, Johnny Warman
  7. I Don’t believe You – Andy Sturmer, Roger Manning
  8. Runaways – Richard Starkey, Johnny Warman
  9. It’s a Heartbeat – Diane Warren
  10. What Goes Around – Rick Suchow