On February 1, 2003.

Mongo Santamaria

On February 1, 2003, Ramón “Mongo” Santamaría Rodríguez died aged 85. Being  a rumba quinto master and an Afro-Cuban Latin jazz percussionist, he has perfomed and recorded with Perez Prado, Tito Puente, Cal Tjader, Fania All Stars, Dizzy Gillespie, Toots Thielemans, Lalo Schifrin and Paul Horn. His 1977 album “Amanecer” won a “Grammy” award, and his hit rendition of Herbie Hancock’s “Watermelon Man” was inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame” in 1998. He is composer of the jazz standard “Afro Blue”, recorded by John Coltrane among others.


On February 1, 2010.

Hot Chip-One Life Stand

On February 1, 2010, “Parlaphone” label released “One Life Stand”, the fourth Hot Chip studio album. It was recorded 2008 – 2009, and was produced by Alexis Taylor,Joe Goddard, Owen Clarke, Al Doyle and Flex Martin .


  • Alexis Taylor – vocals, synthesizer, guitar, percussion, piano
  • Joe Goddard – vocals, synthesizer, percussion
  • Owen Clarke – guitar, bass, synthesizer, percussion
  • Al Doyle – guitar, backing vocals, synthesizer, percussion, bass, flugelhorn, steel pans
  • Felix Martin – drum machines, synthesizer, programming
  • Fimber Bravo – steelpan
  • Geese – strings, string arrangements, string engineer
  • Charles Hayward– drums, chorus vocal
  • Leo Taylor – drums
  • Darren Wallzo – design
  • Owen Clarke – design

All tracks by Alexis Taylor,Joe Goddard, Owen Clarke, Al Doyle and Flex Martin.

  1. Thieves in the Night
  2. Hand Me Down Your Love
  3. I Feel Better
  4. One Life Stand
  5. Brothers
  6. Slush
  7. Alley Cats
  8. We Have Love
  9. Keep Quiet
  10. Take It In

On February 1, 2005.

HUJP.PH.21233-3, 9/15/04, 4:52 PM, 16G, 5552x5616 (320+991), 100%, Eakins, 1/100 s, R69.3, G54.8, B77.9

On February 1, 2005, “Secretly Canadian” label released “I Am a Bird Now”, the second Antony and the Johnsons album.  It was recorded in 2004, and was produced by Antony Hegarty. On September 6, 2005, the album won the “Mercury Prize”.


  • Antony Hegarty– organ, piano, vocals
  • Julia Kent– cello
  • Todd Cohen – drums
  • Jeff Longston – bass
  • Maxim Moston – violin
  • Doug Wieselman – saxophone
  • Devendra Banhart– guitar, vocals
  • Steve Bernstein – horn
  • John Bollinger – drums
  • Keith Bonner – flute
  • Boy George– vocals
  • Parker Kindred- drums
  • Danielle Farina – viola
  • Jason Hart – piano
  • Rainy Orteca – bass
  • Lou Reed– guitar and vocals
  • Paul Shapiro– horn
  • Rufus Wainwright– vocals
  • Joan Wasser– viola
  • Julia Yasuda – Morse Code, vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Antony Hegarty.

  1. Hope There’s Someone
  2. My lady Story
  3. For Today I Am a Boy
  4. Man Is the Baby
  5. You Are My Sister
  6. What Can I Do
  7. Fistful of Love
  8. Spiralling
  9. Free at Last
  10. Bird Gerhi

On February 1, 2001.

Brush fire Fairy tales

On February 1, 2001, “Everloving Recordings” released “Brushfire Fairytales”, the debut Jack Johnson album. It was recorded in 2000, and was produced by JP Plunier.


  • Jack Johnson – vocals, guitars, piano
  • Adam Topol – drums, percussion
  • Merlo Podlewski – bass
  • Christopher Yeoh – mandolin
  • Tommy Jordan – steel drums
  • Ben Harper – slide guitar
  • Sam Beam – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Jack Johnson.

  1. Inaudible Melodies
  2. Middle Man
  3. Posters
  4. Sexy Plexi
  5. Flake
  6. Bubble Toes
  7. Fortunate Fool
  8. The News
  9. Drink the Water
  10. Mudfootball (for Moe Lerner)
  11. F-Stop Blues
  12. Losing Hope
  13. It’s All Understood

On February 1, 2000.


On February 1, 2000, “Dream Works” Label released “The Night”, the fifth and final Morphine studio album. It was completed just before the sudden July 1999 death of bass player and lead singer Mark Sandman, and was produced by Mark Sandman, Dana Colley and Jerome Deupree.


  • Mark Sandman– 2-string slide bass, vocals, organ, tritar, guitar, piano
  • Dana Colley– baritone sax, tenor sax, double sax, triangle
  • Jerome Deupree– drums, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Mark Sandman.

  1. The Night
  2. So Many Ways
  3. Souvenir
  4. Top Floor, Bottom Buzzer
  5. Like a Mirror
  6. A Good Woman is Hard to Find
  7. Rope on Fire
  8. I’m Yours, You’re Mine
  9. The Way We Met
  10. Slow Numbers
  11. Take Me with You

On February 1, 1994.


On February 1, 1994, “Reprise” label released “Dookie”, the third Green Day studio album.  It was recorded September – October 1993, at the “Fantasy Studios” in Berkeley, and was produced by Rob Cavallo and Green Day.  The album was certified Diamond in US by the “RIIA” for sale of 10 million copies. It  won “Grammy Award” for “Best Alternative Music Album” in 1995 and is ranked at number 193 on magazine Rolling Stone’s list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Billie Joe Armstrong— lead vocals, guitar
  • Mike Dirnt— bass, backing vocals
  • Tré Cool— drums, guitar, lead vocals
  • Richie Bucher — cover artist
  • Ken Schles – photography
  • Pat Hynes – booklet artwork

Track listing:

All lyrics by Billie Joe Armstrong, except where noted.  All music by Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt and Tré Cool.

  1. Burnout
  2. Having a Blast
  3. Chump
  4. Longview
  5. Welcome to Paradise
  6. Pulling Teeth
  7. Basket Case
  8. She
  9. Sassafras Roots
  10. When I Come Around
  11. Coming Clean
  12. Emenius Sleepus – lyrics by Mike Dimt
  13. In the End
  14. O.D. / All by Myself


On February 1, 1986.


On February 1, 1986, “Homestead” released “Atomizer”, the debut Big Black album.  It was recorded in 1985, and was produced by Steve Albini, Santiago Durango and Dave Riley. The album was ranked at number 11 in “Alternative Press” magazine list of “Top Albums of ’85 to ‘95”; magazine “Spin” ranked “Atomizer” at number 83 in its list of “100 Alternative Albums” and at number 92 in its list of “Top 100 (+5) Albums of the Last 20 Years” and “NME” ranked the album at number 372 in its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Steve Albini- guitar, vocals, drum machine programming
  • Santiago Durango– guitar
  • Dave Riley- bass guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Albini, Santiago Durango and Dave Riley.

  1. Jordan, Minnesota
  2. Passing Complexion
  3. Big Money
  4. Kerosene
  5. Bad Houses
  6. Fists of Love
  7. Stinking Drunk
  8. Bazooka Joe
  9. Strange Things
  10. Cables (live)