Tag Archives: 2000

In November 1976.

In November 1976, “Asylum” label released “Hejira”, the eighth Joni Mitchell studio album. It was recorded in 1976, at “A&M Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Joni Mitchell. In 1991, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album cover at number 11 on its list of the “Greatest Album Covers of all Time”. In 2000, “Spex” magazine critics voted it the 55th greatest album of the 20th century.


  • Joni Mitchell – vocals, acoustic and electric guitars
  • Larry Carlton– electric and acoustic guitar
  • Jaco Pastorius– bass guitar
  • Max Bennett– bass guitar
  • Chuck Domanico– double bass
  • John Guerin– drums
  • Bobbye Hall– percussion
  • Victor Feldman– vibraphone
  • Neil Young– harmonica
  • Abe Most– clarinet
  • Chuck Findley, Tom Scott– horns
  • Henry Lewy– production, recording, mixing
  • Steve Katz– assistant production, mixing
  • Keith Williamson – art direction
  • Joel Bernstein, Norman Seeff– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Joni Mitchell.

  1. Coyote
  2. Amelia
  3. Furry Sings the Blues
  4. Hejira
  5. Song for Sharon
  6. Black Crow
  7. Blue Motel Room
  8. Refugee of the Roads

On November 6, 2000.

On November 6, 2000, “Eagle” label released “The Unutterable”, the 21st Fall album. It was recorded in 2000, and was produced by Grant Showbiz and Mark E. Smith.


  • Mark E. Smith– vocals, sound effects
  • Neville Wilding – guitar, backing vocals; lead vocals
  • Adam Helal – bass guitar, Pro Tools, backing vocals
  • Tom Head – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Julia Nagle– keyboards, guitar, backing vocals, programming
  • Kazuko Hohki, Steve Evets- vocals
  • Ben Pritchard – guitar
  • Grant Showbiz- backing vocals
  • Rob Ayling – executive producer
  • Pascal Le Gras- cover art

Track listing:

All tracks by Mark E. Smith, Tom Head, Adam Helal, Julia Nagle and Neville Wilding, except where noted

  1. Cyber Insekt
  2. Two Librans
  3. B
  4. Sons of Temperance
  5. Dr Bucks’ Letter
  6. Hot Runes
  7. Way Round – Mark E.Smith, Tom Head, Adam Helal, Julia Nagle
  8. Octo Realm/Ketamine Sun – Mark E.Smith, Julia Nagle, Adam Helal, Tom Head, Grant Cunliffe
  9. Serum
  10. Unutterable
  11. Pumpkin Soup and Mashed Potatoes – Mark E.Smith, Cunliffe, Adam Helal, Julia Nagle
  12. Hands Up Billy – Neville Wilding
  13. Midwatch 1953
  14. Devolute
  15. Das Katerer – Mark E.Smith, Julia Nagle, Simon Wolstencroft


On September 26, 2000.

On September 26, 2000, “Drive-Thru” label released the self-titled, second New Found Glory studio album. It was recorded in June 2006, at “Elysian Fields Studios” in Boca Raton, Florida, and was produced by Neal Avron.


  • Jordan Pundik– lead vocals
  • Chad Gilbert– lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Steve Klein – rhythm guitar
  • Ian Grushka – bass guitar
  • Cyrus Bolooki – drums, percussion
  • Neal Avron– mixing
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering
  • Tim Stedman – artwork, design
  • Justin Stephens – photography
  • Gary Ashley – A&R

Track listing:

All tracks by Jordan Pundik, Chad Gilbert, Steve Klein, Ian Grushka and Cyrus Bolooki.

  1. Better Off Dead
  2. Dressed to Kill
  3. Sincerely Me
  4. Hit or Miss
  5. Second to Last
  6. Eyesore
  7. Vegas
  8. Sucker
  9. Black & Blue
  10. Boy Crazy
  11. All About Her
  12. Ballad for the Lost Romantics

On September 5, 2000.

On September 5, 2000, “Polydor” label released “Machina II/The Friends & Enemies of Modern Music”, the sixth Smashing Pumpkinsn studio album. It was released for free on the Internet, plans for a standard physical release, bundled with the first part “Machina/The Machines of God”, were revealed to happen sometime in 2013, but has since been postponed constantly. It was recorded 1999 – 2000, and was produced by Billy Corgan and Flood.


  • Billy Corgan– vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards, piano
  • James Iha– guitars, vocals
  • D’Arcy Wretzky– bass guitar
  • Melissa Auf der Maur– bass guitar
  • Jimmy Chamberlin– drums, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Billy Corgan, except where noted.

  1. Glass
  2. Cash Car Star
  3. Dross
  4. Real Love
  5. Go – James Iha
  6. Let Me Give the World to You
  7. Innosense
  8. Home
  9. Blue Skies Bring Tears
  10. White Spyder
  11. In My Body
  12. If There Is a God
  13. Le Deux Machina
  14. Atom Bomb


On August 20, 2002.

On August 20, 2002, “Sub Pop” label released “Since We’ve Become Translucent”, the sixth Mudhoney album. It was recorded April 2000–February 2002, and was produced by Mark Arm, Steve Turner, Guy Maddison and Dan Peters.


  • Mark Arm- vocals, guitar, organ, piano
  • Steve Turner- electric guitar, backing vocals
  • Guy Maddison- bass guitar
  • Dan Peters– drums
  • Jo Claxton – violin.
  • Martin Feveyear – backing vocals
  • Craig Flory – horn arrangements, sax
  • Jeff McGrath – trumpet
  • Greg Powers – trombone
  • Wayne Kramer – bass guitar

Track listing:

  1. Baby, Can You Dig the Light?
  2. The Straight Life
  3. Where the Flavor Is
  4. In the Winner’s Circle
  5. Our Time Is Now
  6. Dyin’ for It
  7. Inside Job
  8. Take It Like a Man
  9. Crooked and Wide
  10. Sonic Infusion

On August 8, 2017.

On August 8, 2017, Glen Travis Campbell died aged 81. He was country and rock singer, musician, songwriter, television host, and actor. Campbell released more than 70 albums; sold 45 million records and won 12 “RIAA” Gold albums, four Platinum and one double-Platinum album. In 1967 Campbell won four “Grammy Awards” in the country and pop categories. In 2000, 2004 and 2009, Campbell won “Grammy Hall of Fame Awards and in 2012, he won the “Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award”. He also won awards for “Male Vocalist of the Year” the “Country Music Association (CMA)” and the “Academy of Country Music (ACM)”, and took the “CMA’s” top award as 1968 Entertainer of the Year. In his 50 years long career, Campbell has recorded and performed with many famous musicians including Bobby Darin, Ricky Nelson, Dean Martin, Nat King Cole, The Monkees, Nancy Sinatra, Merle Haggard,  Jan and Dean, Elvis Presley, Frank Sinatra, Phil Spector, Ricky Nelson and The Beach Boys.

On July 23, 2001.

On July 23, 2001, “Epic” label released “Rings Around the World”, the fifth Super Furry Animals studio album. It was recorded April – September 2000, at “Monnow Valley Studios” in Rockfield, Monmouthshire, and “Bearsville Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Chris Shaw, Gruff Rhys, Huw Bunford, Guto Pryce, Cian Ciaran and Dafydd Leuan. “Mojo” magazine voted “Rings Around the World” album of year 2001.


  • Gruff Rhys– lead vocals, rhythm guitar, harmonica
  • Huw Bunford– lead guitar, backing vocals, pedal steel
  • Guto Pryce– bass guitar
  • Cian Ciaran– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Dafydd Leuan – drums, backing vocals
  • Howard Gott, Harriet Harris, Sally Herbert, Steven Hussey, Jackie Norrie – violin
  • Sonia Slany, Lucy Theo, Brian Wright – violin
  • Nick Barr, Sophia Sirota, Clare Smith – viola
  • Nick Cooper, Sophie Harris – cello
  • Matt Sibley – saxophone
  • Gary Alesbrook – trumpet
  • Tony Robinson – trumpet, flugel horn, trombone
  • Beti Rhys – harp
  • John Telfer – flute
  • John Cale– piano
  • Osian Gwynedd – piano
  • Kris Jenkins – percussion
  • Anna Smith – backing vocals
  • Paul McCartney– carrot and celery 

    Track listing:

    All tracks by Chris Shaw, Gruff Rhys, Huw Bunford, Guto Pryce, Cian Ciaran and Dafydd Leuan, except where noted.

    1. Alternate Route to Vulcan Street
    2. Sidewalk Serfer Girl
    3. (Drawing) Rings Around the World
    4. It’s Not the End of the World?
    5. Receptacle for the Respectable
    6. (A) Touch Sensitive – contains a sample of “Ann” by Dave Alexander
    7. Shoot Doris Day
    8. Miniature
    9. No Sympathy
    10. Juxtapozed with U
    11. Presidential Suite
    12. Run! Christian, Run!
    13. Fragile Happiness