Tag Archives: 2006

On January 16, 2007.

On January 16, 2007, “Koch” label released “Meet The Smithereens!”, the seventh  Smithereens album. It was recorded in 2006, and was produced by Dennis Diken, Jim Babjak, Kurt Reil and Pat DiNizio.


  • Pat DiNizio– vocals, guitar
  • Jim Babjak– guitar, vocals
  • Severo “The Thrilla” Jornacion – bass
  • Dennis Diken– drums, percussion, vocals
  • Kurt Reil– harmony vocals, recording, mixing
  • Kristin Reil – percussion
  • John Hawken – piano
  • Dave Amels – organ

Track listing:

All tracks by John Lennon and Paul McCartney, except where noted.

  1. I Want to Hold Your Hand
  2. I Saw Her Standing There
  3. This Boy
  4. It Won’t Be Long
  5. All I’ve Got to Do
  6. All My Loving
  7. Don’t Bother Me – George Harrison
  8. Little Child
  9. Till There Was You – Meredith Willson
  10. Hold Me Tight
  11. I Wanna Be Your Man
  12. Not a Second Time

On January 13, 2006.

On January 13, 2006, “SPV” label released “Soul of a Man”, album by Eric Burdon, dedicated to Ray Charles, John Lee Hooker and the city of New Orleans. It was recorded in 2005, and was produced by Tony Braunagel.


  • Eric Burdon – vocals
  • Carl Carlton- guitar, slide guitar
  • Johnny Lee Schell- guitar, slide guitar, background vocals
  • Jon Cleary- piano
  • James Hutchinson- bass
  • Reggie McBride – bass
  • Les Lovett – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Nick Love – trombone
  • John Sublett- saxophone
  • Rod Piazza- harmonica
  • Lenny Castro- percussion
  • Tony Braunagel- drums

Track listing:

  1. Soul of a Man – Blind Willie Johnson
  2. Kingsize Jones – Jimmy Wood, J.J. Holliday
  3. Red Cross Store – Fred McDowell
  4. Como Se Llama Mama – Gregg Sutton, John Heron
  5. Forty Days and Forty Nights – Bernard Roth
  6. Feeling Blue – Eric Bibb, Fredrik Boström
  7. Never Give Up Blues – David Munyon
  8. GTO – Munyon
  9. Forty-Four – Roosevelt Sykes, Eurreal Wilford Montgomery
  10. Slow Moving Train – John Keller
  11. Don’t Ever Let Nobody Drag Your Spirit Down – Charlotte Hoglund, Eric Bibb
  12. Devil Run – John Bundrick
  13. I Don’t Mind – John Bundrick
  14. Circuit Rider – Billy Watts, David Raven, Pete Anderson, Taras Prodaniuk


On January 6, 2006.

On December 6, 2006, Louis Allen Rawls died aged 92. He was singer, actor, voice actor, songwriter, and music producer, known for his singing ability, winner of three “Grammy Awards”, all for “Best Male R&B Vocal Performance”. He released more than 60 albums, and sold more than 40 million records worldwide.

On January 3, 2006.

On January 3, 2006, “RCA” label released “First Impressions of Earth”, the third   Strokes studio album. It was recorded January–May 2005 in Sestri Levante, and was produced by David Kahne and Gordon Raphael.


  • Julian Casablancas- vocals, drums
  • Albert Hammond, Jr.- guitar
  • Nick Valensi- guitar, mellotron
  • Nikolai Fraiture- bass guitar
  • Fabrizio Moretti- drums, percussion
  • Bob Ludwig, Howie Weinberg– mastering
  • Andy Wallace- mixing
  • Steve Sisco – assistant mixing engineer
  • David Kahne– engineer
  • Piero Fornasetti – disc art work
  • Lothar Quinte – cover art
  • Günter Fruhtrunk – rear cover art
  • James Bellesini – album design for Love Police
  • Dan Winters – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Julian Casablancas, except where noted.

  1. You Only Live Once
  2. Juicebox
  3. Heart in a Cage
  4. Razorblade
  5. On the Other Side
  6. Vision of Division
  7. Ask Me Anything – Julian Casablancas, Nick Valensi
  8. Electricityscape
  9. Killing Lies – Julian Casablancas, Nikolai Fraiture
  10. Fear of Sleep
  11. 15 Minutes
  12. Ize of the World
  13. Evening Sun – Julian Casablancas, Fabrizio Moretti
  14. Red Light

In November 1968.

In November 1968, “Warner Bros” label released “Astral Weeks”, the second Van Morrison studio album.It was recorded September – October at “Century Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Lewis Merenstein. In 1995 “Mojo” magazine ranked “Astral Weeks” at number two on its list of the greatest albums of all time; in 1998 it was voted the 9th greatest album of all time in a “Music of the Millennium” poll conducted by “HMV”, “Channel 4” and “The Guardian”; in 2000, “Q” magazine ranked it at number 6 on its list of the “100 Greatest British Albums Ever”; in 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it at number 19 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”, and in 2006, “Time” magazine included “Astral Weeks” in its list of the “All-TIME 100 Albums”.


  • Van Morrison— vocals, acoustic guitar
  • John Payne — flute; soprano saxophone
  • Jay Berliner— classical and steel-string acoustic guitars
  • Richard Davis— double bass
  • Warren Smith, Jr.— percussion, vibraphone
  • Connie Kay— drums
  • Larry Fallon— string arrangements, conductor; harpsichord
  • Barry Kornfeld — acoustic guitar
  • Brooks Arthur — engineer
  • Ed Thrasher— art director
  • Joel Brodsky— photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison.

Part One: In The Beginning

  1. Astral Weeks
  2. Beside You
  3. Sweet Thing
  4. Cyprus Avenue

Part Two: Afterwards

  1. The Way Young Lovers Do
  2. Madame George
  3. Ballerina
  4. Slim Slow Slider

On October 6, 2006.

On October 6, 2006, “Capitol” label released “Imaginary Kingdom”, the seventh Tim Finn solo album. It was recorded in 2006, and was produced by Bobby Huff.


  • Tim Finn- vocals, acoustic guitar, piano, backing vocals, conga, foot drums, celeste, synth FX, pump organ, Indian flute, keys, rhodes, banana drum, prepared piano, vocal arrangement
  • Bobby Huff – drums, backing vocals, percussion, programming, piano, organ, keys, electric guitar, backing vocals, vocal arrangement
  • John Painter- bass, french horn, keys, electric guitar, lap steel guitar, percussion, trombone, trumpet, recorder, dilruba, acoustic guitar, portachord, stylophone
  • Dale Oliver – electric guitar, slide guitar, 12-string guitar, electric sitar
  • Robbie Huff – electric guitar
  • Victor Broden – bass
  • Phil Madeira – organ
  • Nirva Dorsaint – backing vocals
  • Fleming McWilliams – guest vocalist
  • Matt Walker – cello
  • Harper Finn – child’s voice
  • Tony Backhouse – vocal arrangement

Track listing:

All tracks by Tim Finn.

  1. Couldn’t Be Done
  2. Still the Song
  3. Astounding Moon
  4. Midnight Coma
  5. Salt to the Sea
  6. Horizon
  7. Dead Flowers
  8. Resting (Your Hand Lightly)
  9. Show Yourself
  10. Winter Light
  11. So Precious
  12. Unsinkable