Tag Archives: 1970

In January 1971.

In January 1971, “Warner Bros” label released the self-titled, debut Little Feat album. It was recorded August – September 1970,  at “United Western Recorders” and “The Record Plant” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Russ Titelman.


  • Lowell George– lead and backing vocals, alead, rhythm and slide guitars, harmonica
  • Bill Payne– lead and backing, keyboards, piano
  • Roy Estrada– bass, backing vocals
  • Richard Hayward– drums, backing vocals
  • Russ Titelman– percussion, backing vocals, piano
  • Ry Cooder– slide guitar
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow– pedal steel
  • Kirby Johnson – string and horn arrangements

Track listing:

  1. Snakes on Everything – Bill Payne
  2. Strawberry Flats – Bill Payne, Lowell George
  3. Truck Stop Girl – Bill Payne, Lowell George
  4. Brides of Jesus – Bill Payne, Lowell George
  5. Willin’ – Lowel George
  6. Hamburger Midnight – Lowell George, Roy Estrada
  7. Forty-Four Blues/ How Many More Years – Roosevelt Sykes, Chester Burnett
  8. Crack in Your Door – Lowell George
  9. I’ve Been the One – Lowell George
  10. Takin’ My Time – Bill Payne
  11. Crazy Captain Gunboat Willie – Bill Payne, Lowell George

On January 23, 1970.

On January 23, 1970, “Reprise” label released the self-titled, debut Jeremy Spencer album. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced by Jeremy Spencer.


  • Jeremy Spencer– vocals, slide guitar, piano
  • Mick Fleetwood– drums, congas, percussion
  • John McVie– bass guitar
  • Danny Kirwan– guitar, backing vocals
  • Peter Green– banjo
  • Stephen Gregory – saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Jeremy Spencer, except where noted.

  1. Linda
  2. The Shape I’m In – Lee Cathy, Otis Blackwell
  3. Mean Blues
  4. String-a-long – Jimmy Duncan, Robert Doyle
  5. Here Comes Charlie (With His Dancing Shoes On)
  6. Teenage Love Affair
  7. Jenny Lee
  8. Don’t Go Please Stay
  9. You Made a Hit – Walt Maynard
  10. Take a Look Around Mrs Brown
  11. Surfin’ Girl
  12. If I Could Swim the Mountain

On January 19, 1970.

On January 19, 1970, “Polskie Nagrania Muza” label released “Enigmatic”, the fourth Czesław Niemen album. It was recorded in 1969, and was produced by Zofia Gajewska.

  • Czesław Niemen– vocal, Hammond organ
  • Michał Urbaniak– tenor saxophone, flute
  • Zbigniew Namysłowski– alto saxophone
  • Janusz Zieliński– bass
  • Tomasz Jaśkiewicz– guitar
  • Czesław Bartkowski– drums
  • Zbigniew Sztyc– tenor saxophone
  • Alibabki– background vocals
  • Jacek Złotkowski – engineer
  • Marian Sanecki – photography

Track listing:

All music by Czesław Niemen, lyrics as noted.

  1. Bema pamięci żałobny rapsod – lyrics by Cyprian Kamil Norwid
  2. Jednego serca – lyrics by Adam Asnyk
  3. Kwiaty ojczyste – lyrics by Tadeusz Kubiak
  4. Mów do mnie jeszcze – lyrics by Kazimierz Przerwa-Tetmajer

In January 1970.

In January 1970, “London” label released the self-titled, debut Frijid Pink album. It was recorded 1969 – 1970, and was produced by Michael Valvano.


  • Kelly Green – lead vocals
  • Gary Ray Thompson – guitar
  • Tom Harris– bass
  • Richard Stevers – drums
  • Larry Zelanka – keyboards

Track listing:

  1. God Gave Me You – Gary Ray Thompson, Tom Beaudry
  2. Crying Shame – Michael Valvano
  3. I’m On My Way – Gary Ray Thompson, Tom Beaudry
  4. Drivin’ Blues – Gary Ray Thompson, Tom Beaudry
  5. Tell Me Why – Gary Ray Thompson, Tom Beaudry
  6. End Of The Line – Gary Ray Thompson, Tom Beaudry
  7. House of the Rising Sun – traditional, arr. by Kelly Green, Gary Ray Thompson, Tom Harris, Richard Stevens
  8. I Want To Be Your Lover – Gary Ray Thompson, Tom Beaudry, Michael Valvano
  9. Boozin’ Blues – Gary Ray Thompson, Tom Beaudry
  10. Heartbreak Hotel – Mae Boren Axton, Thomas Durden, Elvis Presley) (bonus track)
  11. Music For The People – Gary Ray Thompson, Tom Beaudry (bonus track)

On January 15, 1970.

On January 15, 1970, “Atlantic” label released “This Girl’s in Love with You”, the sixteenth Aretha Franklin studio album. It was recorded January 8 – 9, and October 3, 1969, and was produced by Jerry Wexler, Tom Dowd and Arif Mardin.


  • Aretha Franklin– vocals, piano
  • Duane Allman– guitar
  • Barry Beckett– keyboards
  • Roger Hawkins– drums
  • Eddie Hinton– guitar
  • David Hood– bass
  • Jimmy Johnson– guitar
  • Jerry Weaver – guitar
  • Robert Honablue – engineering
  • King Curtis– tenor saxophone, horns

Track listing:

  1. Son of a Preacher Man – John Hurley, Ronnie Wilkins
  2. Share Your Love with Me – Al Braggs, Deadric Malone
  3. The Dark End of the Street – Chips Moman, Dan Penn
  4. Let It Be – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  5. Eleanor Rigby – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  6. This Girl’s in Love with You – Burt Bacharach,  Hal David
  7. It Ain’t Fair – Ronnie Miller
  8. The Weight – Robbie Robertson
  9. Call Me – Aretha Franklin
  10. Sit Down and Cry – Clyde Otis, Lou Stallman

In December 1970.

In December 1970, “Phillips” label released the debut, self-titled Lucifer’s Friend album. It was recorded in November 1970, and was produced by Herbert Hildebrandt-Winhauer.


  • John Lawton– lead vocals
  • Peter Hesslein – vocals, lead guitars, percussion
  • Peter Hecht – organ, piano, French horn
  • Dieter Horns – vocals, bass
  • Joachim Rietenbach – drums, percussion
  • Günther Zipelius – engineer
  • Henning Ruete, Horst Andritschke – mixing
  • Juligan Studio – photography, cover design

Track listing:

  1. Ride in the Sky – Peter Hesslein, John Lawton
  2. Everybody’s Clown – Joachim Rietenbach, Dieter Horns, Docker, Peter Hecht, Peter Hesslein
  3. Keep Goin’ – Dieter Horns, Docker, Peter Hecht, Peter Hesslein
  4. Toxic Shadows – Docker, Peter Hesslein
  5. Free Baby – Dieter Horns, John Lawton, Peter Hecht, Peter Hesslein
  6. Baby You’re a Liar – Joachim Rietenbach, Dieter Horns, Docker, Peter Hecht, Peter Hesslein
  7. In the Time of Job When Mammon Was a Yippie – Dieter Horns, Docker, Peter Hecht, Peter Hesslein
  8. Lucifer’s Friend – Joachim Rietenbach, Dieter Horns, Herbert Hildebrandt-Winhauer, Peter Hecht, Peter Hesslein

On December 1, 1971.

On December 1, 1971, “Harvest” label released the self – titled, debut Electric Light Orchestra album. It was recorded 1970 – 1971, at “Philips Studios” in London, and was produced by Roy Wood and Jeff Lynne.


  • Jeff Lynne– vocals, piano, acoustic and electric guitar, percussion,  bass, Moog synthesizer
  • Roy Wood– vocals, cello, classical acoustic guitar, bass, double bass, oboe, bassoon, clarinet, recorder, slide guitar, percussion, bass clarinet, krumhorn
  • Bev Bevan– drums, timpani, percussion
  • Bill Hunt – French horn, hunting horn, piccolo trumpet
  • Steve Woolam – violin

Track listing:

  1. 10538 Overture – Jeff Lynne
  2. Look at Me Now – Roy Wood
  3. Nellie Takes Her Bow – Jeff Lynne
  4. The Battle of Marston Moor (July 2nd 1644) – Roy Wood
  5. First Movement (Jumping Biz) – Roy Wood
  6. Radio – Jeff Lynne
  7. Manhattan Rumble (49th Street Massacre) – Jeff Lynne
  8. Queen of the Hours – Jeff Lynne
  9. Whisper in the Night – Roy Wood