Tag Archives: The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

On May 10, 2020.

On May 10, 2020, John Michael McKenzie died aged 64. He was musician (bass, guitar, backing vocals), member of the bands Global Village Trucking Company and Man. He recorded and performed with Eurythmics, The Pretenders, Alison Moyet, Lionel Richie, Dr. John, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Annette Peacock, Steve Hillage, Noel McCalla, Bob Young, Shusha Guppy, Wham!, Deke Leonard, Morrissey-Mullen, Claire Hamill, Space Monkey, Jim Diamond, Bob Dylan, Al Corley, Jeffrey Lee Pierce, Microdisney, Five Star, Endgames, John Mizarolli, Gary Moore, Ian Paice, Jaki Graham, Don Airey, Richard Bailey, Peter Auty, Billy Bremner, Terry Stannard, Simon Kirke, Earl Slick, Graham Lyle, Chris Thompson, Patti Austin, Latin Quarter, Phil Manzanera, Matt Bianco, Pete Brown, Helen Watson, Kevin Rowland, Shakira, David Bowie, Tina Turner, Eric Burdon, Kajagoogoo, Johnny Mathis, Everything But The Girl, Todd Sharpville, Branford Marsalis, Rui Veloso, Tim Finn, Ive Mendes, Tom Scott, David Dundas, Danny Tenaglia, The Christians, Phenix Horns, Duran Duran’s Andy Taylor, Jimmy Iovine, Dave Stewart, Wild, Leon Ware, Eternal, James Ingram, Francis Rossi, Karl Jenkins, Albert Lee, Barbara Dickson, Davy Spillane, Charles Aznavour, Raw Stylus, Linda Taylor, Blair Cunningham, Andy Newmark, Teresa Teng, Annabel Lamb, Nadirah X, Bob Clearmountain, Mitchell Froom, Arthur Louis, and Reggae Philharmonic Orchestra.

On November 7, 1977.

On November 7, 1977, “A&M” label released “A Pauper in Paradise”, the fifth Gino Vannelli studio album. It was recorded in 1977, at “AIR Studios”, and “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Gino Vanelli, and Joe Vanelli.


  • Gino Vannelli – lead vocals, arranger
  • Joe Vannelli – Fender Rhodes, synthesizers, acoustic piano, synthesizer programming, backing vocals; synthesizer, arstring and brass arrangements
  • Bill Meyers – acoustic piano, synthesizers, synth bass, backing vocals
  • Chris Rhyne – keyboards, synth bass
  • Mark Davis – bass guitar
  • Casey Scheuerell – drums
  • John J. Mandel – timpani, percussion
  • Dido Morris – congas, bongos
  • Dick Morrissey – tenor saxophone
  • Don Sebesky – orchestration, conductor
  • Barry Griffiths – orchestra leader
  • The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra – orchestra
  • Joanie Bartels – backing vocals
  • Joanne Jayde – backing vocals
  • Jay Stone – backing vocals
  • The John McCarthy Choir – choir
  • Norm Kinney; John Kurlander – engineer
  • Steve Prestage – assistant engineer
  • Jon Kelly – remixi
  • Bernie Grundman – mastering
  • Fabio Nicola, Roland Young – art direction
  • Joanne Jayde – design
  • Beth Kelly – poster photography
  • Paul McCreath – back cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Gino Vannelli.

  1. Mardi Gras
  2. Valleys of Valhalla
  3. The Surest Things Can Change
  4. One Night with You
  5. A Song and Dance
  6. Black and Blue
  7. A Pauper in Paradise (In Four Movements)

In July 1972.

In July 1972, “Reprise” label released “The Academy in Peril”, the second John cale album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Shipton Manor” in Oxfordshire, “St. Giles Church” in Cripplegate, UK, and was produced by John Cale. The cover concept and art was by Andy Warhol.


  • John Cale – bass, guitar, keyboards, viola
  • Adam Miller – vocals
  • Del Newman – drums
  • Ron Wood– slide guitar
  • Legs Larry Smith– narration
  • The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Jean Bois – mixing engineer
  • Ed Thrasher– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by John Cale.

  1. The Philosopher
  2. Brahms
  3. Legs Larry at Television Centre
  4. The Academy in Peril
  5. Intro / Days of Steam
  6. 3 Orchestral Pieces: Faust/The Balance/Captain Morgan’s Lament
  7. King Harry
  8. John Milton