Tag Archives: Ornette Coleman

On May 25, 2018.

On May 25, 2018, “Nonesuch” label released “Still Dreaming”, the 19th Joshua Redman album. It was recorded in April 2017, at “Sear Sound” in New York City, and was produced by Joshua Redman.


  • Joshua Redman – tenor saxophone, liner notes
  • Brian Blade – drums
  • Scott Colley – bass
  • Ron Miles – cornet
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • James Farber– associate producer, engineer
  • Owen Mulholland – assistant engineer
  • John Gall – design
  • Jon Brown – band photo
  • Hans Jörgen Johansen – cover photo
  • Robert Hurwitz – executive producer

Track listing:

  1. New Year – Scott Colley
  2. Unanimity – Joshua Redman
  3. Haze and Aspirations – Scott Colley
  4. It’s Not the Same – Joshua Redman
  5. Blues for Charlie – Joshua Redman
  6. Playing – Charlie Haden
  7. Comme II Faut – Ornette Coleman
  8. The Rest – Joshua Redman

On April 15, 2020.

On April 15, 2020, Lee Konitz died aged 92. He was composer and musician (alto saxophone), performing in a wide range of jazz styles, including bebop, cool jazz, and avant-garde jazz, noted for improvising long, melodic lines with the rhythmic interest coming from odd accents, Konitz has recorded and performed with many famous musicians including Miles Davis, Ornette Coleman, Elvin Jones, Charlie Haden, Dave Holland, Lennie Tristano, Stan Kenton, Chick Corea, Gerry Mulligan, Claude Thornhill, Ralph Burns, Gil Evans, Warne Marsh, Dave Pike, Attila Zoller, Charles Mingus, Dave Brubeck, Warne Marsh, Hal Galper, Bill Evans, Martial Solal, Max Roach, Don Friedman, Kenny Wheeler, Kenny Werner, Brian Dickenson, Paul Motian,  Bill Frisell, Gary Peacock, and Joey Baron.


On March 30, 2006.

On March 30, 2006, “ECM” label released “The Third Quartet”, the 36th John Abercrombie album. It was recorded in June 2005, at “Avatar Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • John Abercrombie – guitar
  • Mark Feldman– violin
  • Marc Johnson– double bass
  • Joey Baron– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by John Abercrombie except where noted.

  1. Banshee
  2. Number 9
  3. Vingt Six
  4. Wishing Bell
  5. Bred
  6. Tres
  7. Round Trip – Ornette Coleman
  8. Epilogue – Bill Evans
  9. Elvin
  10. Fine


On April 27, 2012.

On April 27, 2012, “ECM” label released “Within a Song”, the 35th John Abercrombie album.  It was recorded in September 2011, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • John Abercrombie – guitar
  • Joe Lovano– tenor saxophone
  • Drew Gress– double bass
  • Joey Baron– drums

Track listing:

  1. Where Are You? – Harold Adamson, Jimmy McHugh
  2. Easy Rider – John Abercrombie
  3. Within a Song/Without a Song – John Abercrombie, Billy Rose, Edward Eliscu, Vincent Youmans
  4. Flamenco Sketches – Miles Davis
  5. Nick of Time – John Abercrombie
  6. Blues Connotation – Ornette Coleman
  7. Wise One – John Coltrane
  8. Interplay – Bill Evans
  9. Sometimes Ago – Sergio Mihanovich

On April 15, 1996.

On April 15, 1996, “Verve” label released “Number Two Express”, the second Christian McBride studio album. It was recorded in 1995 at “Clinton Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Richard Seidel and Don Sickler.


  • Christian McBride– upright and electric bass
  • Kenny Barron– piano
  • Chick Corea– piano
  • Gary Bartz– alto saxophone
  • Kenny Garrett– alto saxophone
  • Steve Nelson – vibes
  • Mino Cinelu– percussion
  • Jack DeJohnette– drums
  • Jim Anderson– recording

Track listing:

All tracks by Christian McBride, except where noted.

  1. Whirling Dervish
  2. Youthful Bliss
  3. Tones for Joan’s Bones – Chick Corea
  4. EGAD
  5. Miyako – Wayne Shorter
  6. Divergence
  7. Jayne – Ornette Coleman
  8. Morning Story
  9. Grove
  10. Little Sunflower – Freddie Hubbard


On August 26, 2016.

On August 26, 2016, “Okeh Records” label released “It’s Hard”, the twelfth Bad Plus studio album. It was recorded in April 2016, and was produced by Reid Anderson, Ethan Iverson and David King.


  • Reid Anderson– bass
  • Ethan Iverson– piano
  • David King– drums

Track listing:

  1. Maps – Brian Chase, Karen Lee Orzolek, Nick Zinner
  2. Games Without Frontiers – Peter Gabriel
  3. Time After Time – Cyndi Lauper, Rob Hyman
  4. I Walk the Line – Johnny Cash
  5. Alfombra Magica – Bill McHenry
  6. The Beautiful Ones – Prince
  7. Don’t Dream It’s Over – Neil Finn
  8. Staring at the Sun – Tunde Adebimpe, David Andrew Sitek
  9. Mandy – Scott English, Richard Kerr
  10. The Robots – Florian Schneider, Karl Bartos, Ralf Hütter
  11. Broken Shadows – Ornette Coleman

On September 12, 2006.

On September 12, 2006, “Sound Grammar” label released “Sound Grammar”, the 50th Ornette Coleman album as a band leader. It was recorded live on October 14, 2005, in Ludwigshafen, Germany, and was produced by Ornette Coleman and  Michaela Deiss. In 2007, the album won the 2007 “Pulitzer Prize for Music”.


  • Ornette Coleman- alto saxophone, violin, trumpet
  • Denardo Coleman- drums, percussion
  • Gregory Cohen- bass
  • Tony Falanga – bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Ornette Coleman.

  1. Intro – (MC’s spoken introduction)
  2. Jordan
  3. Sleep Talking – (a.k.a. “Sleep Talk” from Of Human Feelings)
  4. Turnaround – (a.k.a. “Turnabout” from Tomorrow Is the Question!)
  5. Matador – (a.k.a. “Picolo Pesos” from Sound Museum)
  6. Waiting for You – (a.k.a. “House of Stained Glass” from Colors)
  7. Call to Duty – (has been performed live under the title “Crying Without Tears”)
  8. Once Only – (a.k.a. “If I Only Knew as Much About You” from Tone Dialing)
  9. Song X – (from Song X)