Tag Archives: April

On April 18, 1980.

On April 18, 1980, “Charisma” label released “Do They Hurt?”, the fifth Brand X album. It was recorded in April 1979, at “Startling Studios” in Ascot, UK, and was produced by Neil Kernon, John Goodsall, J. Peter Robinson, Percy Jones, Phil Collins, Robin Lumley and John Giblin.


  • John Goodsall– vocals, guitar
  • Peter Robinson– keyboards, gong, synth
  • Robin Lumley– piano, keyboards
  • Percy Jones– vocals, bass
  • John Giblin– bass
  • Mike Clark– drums
  • Phil Collins– drums
  • Morris Pert– percussion

Track listing:

  1. Noddy Goes to Sweden – Percy Jones
  2. Voidarama – John Goodsall
  3. Act of Will – John Goodsall
  4. Fragile – Percy Jones, Peter Robinson
  5. Cambodia – John Goodsall
  6. Triumphant Limp – John Goodsall, John Giblin, Robin Lumley, Phil Collins
  7. D. M.Z. – Percy Jones

On March 6, 2006.

On March 6, 2006, “Play it Again Sam”, label released “Mr Beast”, the fifth Mogwai studio album. It was recorded April – October 2005, at “Castle of Doom Studios” in Glasgow, Scotland, and was produced by Tony Doogan, Stuart Braithwaite, Dominic Aitchison, Martin Bulloch, John Cummings and Barry Burns.


  • Stuart Braithwaite– vocals, guitar
  • Dominic Aitchison– bass guitar
  • Martin Bulloch– drums
  • John Cummings– guitar
  • Barry Burns– vocals, piano, guitar, flute
  • Craig Armstrong– keyboard
  • Tetsuya Fukagawa– vocals
  • Amanda Church – covert artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Stuart Braithwaite, Dominic Aitchison, Martin Bulloch, John Cummings, and Barry Burns, except where noted.

  1. Auto Rock
  2. Glasgow Mega-Snake
  3. Acid Food
  4. Travel is Dangerous
  5. Team Handed
  6. Friend of the Night
  7. Emergency Trap
  8. Folk Death 95
  9. I Choose Horses – lyrics by Tetsuya Fukagawa
  10. We’re No Here

On March 1, 1978.

On March 1, 1978, “Purple” label released “Northwinds”, the second David Coverdale album. It was recorded March – April 1977, at “Air Studios” in London, and was produced by Roger Glover.


  • David Coverdale- lead vocals, piano, electric piano
  • Micky Moody- guitars, backing vocals
  • Tim Hinkley- keyboards, backing vocals
  • Alan Spenner- bass
  • Tony Newman- drums, percussion
  • Roger Glover- synthesizer, clavinet, cowbell
  • Graham Preskett – violin
  • Lee Brilleaux– harmonica
  • Ronnie James Dio, Wendy Dio – backing vocals
  • Jon Walls – recording engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by David Coverdale, except where noted.

  1. Keep On Giving Me Love – David Coverdale, Micky Moody
  2. Northwinds
  3. Give Me Kindness
  4. Time & Again
  5. Queen of Hearts – David Coverdale, Micky Moody
  6. Only My Soul
  7. Say You Love Me
  8. Breakdown – David Coverdale, Micky Moody

On February 21, 2012.

On February 21, 2012, “Cooking Vinyl” label released “Roses”, the sixth   Cranberries studio album. It was recorded 18 April – 15 May and 20 – 22 June 2011, at “Metalworks Studios” in Mississauga, Ontario and “Miloco Studios” in London, and was produced by Stephen Street.


  1. Dolores O’Riordan– lead vocals, rhythm and lead guitar, keyboards
  2. Mike Hogan – bass, backing vocals
  3. Noel Hogan– lead and rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  4. Fergal Lawler – drums

Track listing:

All lyrics by Dolores O’Riordan, all music by Dolores O’Riordan and Noel Hogan, except where noted.

  1. Conduct
  2. Tomorrow – Dolores O’Riordan
  3. Fire & Soul
  4. Raining in my Heart
  5. Losing My Mind
  6. Schizophrenic Playboy
  7. Waiting in Walthamstow – Dolores O’Riordan
  8. Show Me – Dolores O’Riordan
  9. Astral Projections
  10. So Good – Dolores O’Riordan
  11. Roses


On January 19, 2018.

On January 19, 2018, “Idlewild” label released “I Like Fun”, the twentieth They Might Be Giants studio album. It was recorded in April 2017, and was produced by Pat Dillett, John Flansburgh and John Linnell.


  • John Flansburgh– vocals, guitars
  • John Linnell– vocals, keyboards, woodwinds
  • Marty Beller– drums, percussion
  • Danny Weinkauf– bass
  • Dan Miller– guitars
  • Curt Ramm – trumpet
  • Chris Anderson – mellotron
  • Pat Dillett– mixing
  • James Yost – engineering
  • UE Nastasi – mastering
  • Paul Sahre– design
  • Joe Hollier – photography

Track listing:

All tracks written by John Flansburgh and John Linnell, except where noted.

  1. Let’s Get This Over With
  2. I Let My Body
  3. All Time What
  4. By the Time You Get This
  5. An Insult to the Fact Checkers
  6. Bluebeard
  7. I Like Fun
  8. Push Back the Hands
  9. This Microphone
  10. The Bright Side
  11. When the Lights Come On
  12. Lake Monsters
  13. McCafferty’s Bib

On January 13, 2017.

January 13, 2017, “ECM” label released “Up and Coming”, the 37th John Abercrombie album. It was recorded April – May 2016, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • John Abercrombie – guitar
  • Joey Baron– drums
  • Marc Copland– piano
  • Drew Gress– double bass
  • James Farber – engineer
  • Nate Odden – assistant
  • Thom Beemer – assistant

Track listing:

All tracks by John Abercrombie except where noted.

  1. Joy
  2. Flipside
  3. Sunday School
  4. Up and Coming
  5. Tears – Marc Copland
  6. Silver Circle – Marc Copland
  7. Nardis – Miles Davis
  8. Jumbles


In November 1987.

In November 1987, “White/Hot” label released “Calenture”, the fourth Triffids studio album. It was recorded April – August 1987, at “Townhouse Three” in Livingstone, “Mark Angelo” in London, “Amazon” in Liverpool and “Wool Hall” in Bath, and was produced by Gil Norton, Craig Leon, David McComb, Robert McComb, Jill Birt, Martyn P.Casey, Graham Lee and Alsy MacDonald.


  • David McComb– vocals, guitar, arrangement (strings)
  • Robert McComb– guitar, backing vocals, violin
  • Jill Birt– keyboards
  • Martyn P. Casey– bass guitar
  • Graham Lee– guitar, autoharp
  • Alsy MacDonald– drums, backing vocals
  • Nick Allum – drums
  • Mick Doonan, Keith Hancock, Ben Hoffnung, Billy Kinsely, Jane Norton – musician
  • Craig Leon– background vocals
  • Adam Peters – guitar, keyboards, strings arrangement
  • Sean Pugh – piano
  • Andy Mason, Ben Kape, George Schilling, Gil Norton, Keith Andrews, Marc Crellin, Mark Angelo Lusardi, Tony Harris – engineer
  • Tim Young – mastering
  • Island Art – art work

Track listing:

All tracks by David McComb, except where noted.

  1. Bury Me Deep in Love
  2. Kelly’s Blues
  3. Trick of the Light – David McComb, Graham Lee
  4. Hometown Farewell Kiss
  5. Unmade Love
  6. Open for You – Jill Birt
  7. Holy Water
  8. Blinder by the Hour
  9. Vagabond Holes
  10. Jerdacuttup Man – David McComb, James Paterson
  11. Save What You Can – David McComb, James Paterson