All posts by mandevm

On December 5, 2017.

On December 5, 2017, Jean-Philippe Léo Smet aka Johnny Hallyday died aged 74. He was musician (piano, guitar), singer and actor, the pioneer of the French rock and roll scene. He was called “The French Elvis”, and described as “The biggest rock star you’ve never heard of in English-speaking countries”. In 1997, he was made “Chevalier of the Legion of Honour”, and in 2001, Officer of the “Order of the Crown” in Belgium. In his more than four decades long career he worked with many famous musicians including Mick Jones, Jimmy Page, Tony Joe White, Dalida, Bon Jovi, Michael Bolton, Sylvie Vartan, Bono, The Jimi Hendrix Experience, Tommy Brown, Connie Francis, and Laura Pausini. In his lifetime Hallyday released 81 studio and live albums.  

In December 1966.

In December 1966, “Impulse!” label released “Nine Flags”, the ninth Chico O’Farrill album. It was recorded in November 1966, in New York City, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  1. Chico O’Farrill – arranger, conductor
  2. Clark Terry – trumpet, flugelhorn
  3. Art Farmer, Bernie Glow, Jimmy Nottingham – trumpet
  4. Harry DiVito, Urbie Green, J. J. Johnson, Benny Powell – trombone
  5. Julius Watkins – French horn
  6. Jerry Dodgion, Joe Firrantello, Eddie Wasserman, Frank Wess – woodwinds
  7. Seldon Powell – tenor saxophone
  8. Larry Coryell – guitar
  9. Pat Rebillot – piano
  10. George Duvivier – bass
  11. Gus Johnson, Don Lamond, Mel Lewis – drums
  12. Carl Hard – percussion 

Track listing:

All tracks by Chico O’Farrill.

  1. Live Oak
  2. Patcham
  3. Aromatic Tabac
  4. Dry Citrus
  5. Royal Saddle
  6. Panache
  7. Green Moss
  8. Manzanilla
  9. Clear Spruce
  10. The Lady From Nine Flags

In December 1963.

In December 1963, “Philips” label released “Night Lights”, the 36th Gerry Mulligan album. It was recorded September – October 1963, at “Nola Penthouse Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Hal Mooney.


  • Gerry Mulligan – baritone saxophone, piano 
  • Art Farmer – flugelhorn
  • Bob Brookmeyer – valve trombone
  • Jim Hall – guitar
  • Bill Crow – bass
  • Dave Bailey – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Mulligan except where noted.

  1. Night Lights
  2. Morning of the Carnival – Luiz Bonfá, Antônio Maria
  3. In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning – David Mann, Bob Hilliard
  4. Prelude in E Minor – Frédéric Chopin
  5. Festival Minor
  6. Tell Me When

In December 1960.

In December 1960, “Blue Note” label released “Capuchin Swing”, the 17th Jackie Mclean album. It was recorded in April 1960, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood ed by, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Jackie McLean – alto saxophone
  • Blue Mitchell – trumpet
  • Walter Bishop, Jr. – piano
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Art Taylor – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Jackie McLean except where noted.

  1. Francisco
  2. Just for Now – Walter Bishop Jr.
  3. Don’t Blame Me – Dorothy Fields, Jimmy McHugh
  4. Condition Blue
  5. Capuchin Swing
  6. On the Lion – Walter Bishop Jr.

On December 4, 2019.

On December 4, 2019, “Revolver” label released “Conqueror”, the sixth Band-Maid studio album. It was recorded 2018 – 2019, and was produced by Saiki Atsumi, Miku Kobato, kanami Tono, Misa, Akane Hirose, and Tony Visconti.


  • Saiki Atsumi – vocals
  • Miku Kobato – guitar, vocals
  • Kanami Tōno – guitar
  • Misa – bass
  • Akane Hirose – drums

Track listing:

All lyrics by Miku Kobato, except where noted, all music by Saiki Atsumi, Miku Kobato, kanami Tono, Misa, and Akane Hirose.

  1. Page
  2. Glory
  3. Liberal
  4. Endless Story
  5. Mirage
  6. All the Drop of a Hat
  7. Wonderland
  8. Azure
  9. Dilemma
  10. Bubble
  11. The Dragon Cries – lyrics by Tom Kenney
  12. Flying High
  13. Catharsis
  14. Blooming
  15. Reincarnation

On December 4, 2006.

On December 4, 2006, “Columbia” label released “Albertine”, the second Brooke Fraser album. It was recorded 2005 – 2006, and was produced by Marshall Altman.


  • Brooke Fraser – vocals, acoustic guitar, piano, string arrangements, photography
  • Marshall Altman – percussion, background vocals, string arrangements, engineering
  • Michael Chaves – electric guitar
  • Sean Hurley – bass guitar
  • Stevie Blacke – strings, string arrangements
  • Andy Hayes – assistant engineering
  • Don Bartley – mastering
  • Sophie Howarth – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Brook Fraser, except where noted.

  1. Shadowfeet
  2. Deciphering Me
  3. Love, Where Is Your Fire
  4. Love Is Waiting
  5. Albertine
  6. C.S. Lewis Song
  7. Epiloque
  8. Faithful
  9. Seeds – Dave Bassett, Brook Fraser
  10. Hosea’s Wife
  11. The Thief – Brook Fraser, Dan Wilson
  12. Hymn

In December 1959.

In December 1959, “Mercury” label released “The Great Wide World of Quincy Jones”, the sixth Quincy Jones album. It was recorded in November 1959, at “Fine Recording” in New York City, and was produced by Qunicy Jones.


  • Quincy Jones – conductor
  • Art Farmer, Lennie Johnson, Jimmy Maxwell, Lee Morgan, Ernie Royal, Nick Travis – trumpet
  • Billy Byers, Jimmy Cleveland, Urbie Green, Frank Rehak – trombone
  • Julius Watkins – French horn
  • Porter Kilbert, Phil Woods – alto saxophone
  • Budd Johnson – tenor saxophone
  • Jerome Richardson – tenor saxophone, flute, piccolo
  • Sahib Shihab – baritone saxophone
  • Patti Bown – piano
  • Les Spann – guitar, flute
  • Buddy Jones, Buddy Catlett – bass
  • Don Lamond – drums
  • Ralph Burns, Al Cohn, Bill Potts, Ernie Wilkins – arranger

Track listing:

  1. Lester Leaps In – Lester Young
  2. Ghana – Ernie Wilkins
  3. Caravan – Juan Tizol, Duke Ellington, Irving Mills
  4. Everybody’s Blues – Ernie Wilkins
  5. Cherokee (Indian Love Song) – Ray Noble
  6. Air Mail Special – Benny Goodman, Charlie Christian, Jimmy Mundy
  7. They Say It’s Wonderful – Irving Berlin
  8. Chant of the Weed – Don Redman
  9. I Never Has Seen Snow – Harold Arlen, Truman Capote
  10. Eesom – Bill Potts

On december 3, 2008.

On December 3, 2008, Derek Wadsworth died aged 69. He was musician (cornet, trombone, keyboards), composer and arranger. He was musical director for Diana Ross, Dusty Springfield, and the musical “Hair”. As a musician and arranger he worked with Maynard Ferguson, Georgie Fame, Nina Simone, David Essex, Judy Garland, Humphrey Lyttelton, Graham Collier, Tonny Bennett, George Harrison, Tom Jones, Dionne Warwick, Mike Oldfield, Simply Red, Kate Bush, Cat Stevens, Small Faces, Manferd Mann, and the Rolling Stones.