Tag Archives: ninth album

On October 15, 1996.

On October 15, 1996, “Columbia” label released “Breathe”, the ninth Midnight Oil studio album. It was recorded in 1996, in Sydney and New Orleans, and was produced by Malcolm Burn.


  • Peter Garrett- lead vocals
  • Bones Hillman- bass, vocals
  • Rob Hirst- drums, vocals
  • Jim Moginie- guitars, keyboards, vocals
  • Martin Rotsey– guitars
  • Malcolm Burn- guitars, organ, bass
  • Emmylou Harris– vocals
  • Buddy Miller– guitars
  • Daryl Johnson – djembe
  • Ethan Allan – piano

Track listing:

  1. Underwater – Peter Garrett, Bones Hillman, Rob Hirst, Jim Moginie, Martin Rotsey
  2. Surf’s Up Tonight – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  3. Common Ground – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  4. Time to Heal – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  5. Sins of Omission – Peter Garrett, Bones Hillman, Rob Hirst, Jim Moginie, Martin Rotsey, Malcolm Burn
  6. One Too Many Times – Jim Moginie
  7. Star of Hope – Jim Moginie
  8. In the Rain – Peter Garrett
  9. Bring on the Change – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  10. Home – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  11. E-Beat – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  12. Barest Degree – Bones Hillman, Rob Hirst
  13. Gravelrash – Peter Garrett, Bones Hillman, Rob Hirst, Jim Moginie, Martin Rotsey



In September 1978.

In September 1978, “ARC” label released “Mr. Gone”, the ninth Weather Report album. It was recorded in May 1978, at “Devonshire Sound Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Joe Zawinul and Jaco Pastorius.


  • Joe Zawinul- modified Rhodes 88 electric piano, acoustic piano, two ARP 2600 synthesizers, Oberheim polyphonic synthesizer, Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 synthesizer, Mu-Tron Bi-Phase and Mu-Tron Volume Wah effects, kalimba, thumbeki drums, sleigh bells, melodica, high hat, voice
  • Wayne Shorter- tenor, alto and soprano saxophone, voice
  • Jaco Pastorius- bass, drums, timpani, voice
  • Peter Erskine- drums , high hat , voice
  • Tony Williams, Steve Gadd- drums
  • Manolo Badrena- voice solo
  • Jon Lucien, Deniece Williams- voice
  • Maurice White- vocal
  • Alex Kazanegras – engineer
  • Dave Mancini – second engineer
  • Nancy Donald – cover design
  • Lou Beach – cover illustration

Track listing:

  1. The Pursuit of the Woman with the Feathered Hat – Joe Zawinul
  2. River People – Jaco Pastorius
  3. Young and Fine – Joe Zawinul
  4. The Elders – Wayne Shorter, arranged by Joe Zawinul
  5. Gone – Joe Zawinul
  6. Punk Jazz – Jaco Pastorius
  7. Pinocchio – Wayne Shorter
  8. And Then – music – Joe Zawinul, lyrics – Sam Guest

In September 1971.

In September 1971, “Polydor” label released “Trafalgar”, the ninth Bee Gees album. It was recorded January – April 1971, at “IBC Studios” in London, and was produced by Robert Stigwood, Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb and Maurice Gibb.


  • Barry Gibb– lead, harmony and backing vocal, rhythm guitar
  • Robin Gibb– lead, harmony and backing vocal
  • Maurice Gibb– harmony and backing vocal, bass, piano, mellotron, guitar, organ, lead vocal, drums
  • Geoff Bridgford – drums
  • Alan Kendall– lead guitar
  • Bryan Scott – engineer
  • Bill Shepherd – orchestral arrangement

Track listing:

  1. How Can You Mend a Broken Heart – Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb
  2. Israel – Barry Gibb
  3. The Greatest Man in the World – Barry Gibb
  4. It’s Just the Way – Maurice Gibb
  5. Remembering – Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb
  6. Somebody Stop the Music – Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb
  7. Trafalgar – Maurice Gibb
  8. Don’t Wanna Live Inside Myself – Barry Gibb
  9. When Do I – Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb
  10. Dearest – Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb
  11. Lion in Winter – Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb
  12. Walking Back to Waterloo – Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb, Maurice Gibb


On September 4, 2012.

On September 4, 2012, “Domino” label released “Centipede Hz”, the ninth Animal Collective album. It was recorded January – February 2012, at “Sonic Ranch” in Tornillo, Texas, and was produced by Ben H. Allen III, Avey Tare, Panda Bear, Deakin and Geologist.


  • Avey Tare– vocals, synthesizers, piano, guitar, sampler, sequencer, percussion
  • Panda Bear– vocals, drums, sampler, percussion
  • Deakin– vocals, baritone guitar, sampler, percussion
  • Geologist– sampler, synthesizers, piano, percussion
  • Dave Scher– lap steel guitar, melodica
  • Riverside Middle School Choir – vocals
  • Ben H. Allen III – recording, engineering, mixing
  • Manuel Calderon, Rob Skipworth, Brad Truax, Joe D’Agostino, Sumner Jones, Alex Tumay– recording assistant
  • Joe Lambert – mastering
  • Dave Portner– photography, artwork
  • Abby Portner, Rob Carmichael – artwork
  • @Atibaphoto – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Avey Tare, Panda Bear, Deakin and Geologist.

  1. Moonjock
  2. Today’s Supernatural
  3. Rosie Oh
  4. Applesauce
  5. Wide Eyed
  6. Father Time
  7. New Town Burnout
  8. Monkey Riches
  9. Mercury Man (contains sample of the song “Invasion” by King Tubby)
  10. Pulleys
  11. Amanita

On September 3, 2012.

On September 3, 2012, “Kscope” label released “All the Wars”, the ninth Pineapple Thief studio album. It was recorded in 2012, and was produced by Bruce Soord.


  • Bruce Soord: vocals, guitar, arrangement
  • Steve Kitch: keyboards, mixing, arrangement
  • Jon Sykes: bass guitar, vocals, arrangement
  • Keith Harrison: drums, vocals, arrangement
  • Recorded by Mark Bowyer
  • Mixed, additional production by Mark Bowyer and Steve Kitch

Track listing:

All tracks by Bruce Soord.

  1. Burning Pieces
  2. Warm Seas
  3. Last Man Standing
  4. All the Wars
  5. Build a World
  6. Give it Back
  7. Someone Pull Me Out
  8. One More Step Away
  9. Reaching Out

In August 1975.

In August 1975, “Hi” label released “Al Green Is Love”, the ninth Al Green studio album. It was recorded 1974 – 1975, and was produced by Willie Mitchell.


  • Al Green – vocals
  • Larry Lee, Teenie Hodges- guitar
  • Leroy Hodges- bass
  • Charles Hodges- organ, piano
  • Howard Grimes- drums, congas
  • Conga Lou (Johnny Keyes) – congas
  • Archie Turner, Michael Allen – piano
  • Charles Chalmers, Donna Rhodes, Sandra Rhodes – backing vocals
  • Andrew Love, Lewis Collins – tenor saxophone
  • Wayne Jackson- trumpet
  • James Mitchell – baritone saxophone, string arrangements
  • Jack Hale – trombone
  • The Memphis Strings – strings

Track listing:

All tracks by Al Green; except where noted.

  1. L-O-V-E (Love) – Al Green, Willie Mitchell, Mabon “Teenie” Hodges
  2. Rhymes – Al Green, Mabon “Teenie” Hodges
  3. The Love Sermon – Al Green, Willie Mitchell, Earl Randle
  4. There Is Love – Willie Mitchell, Lawrence Seymore, Yvonne Mitchell
  5. Could I Be the One? – Al Green, Willie Mitchell, Ann Mitchell
  6. Love Ritual
  7. I Didn’t Know
  8. Oh Me, Oh My (Dreams in My Arms) – Al Green, Willie Mitchell, Mabon “Teenie” Hodges
  9. I Gotta Be More (Take Me Higher)
  10. I Wish You Were Here – Willie Mitchell

On August 20, 1980.

On August 20, 1980, “RCA” label released “24 Carrots”, the ninth Al Stewart studio album. It was recorded in May 1980 at “Davlen Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Chris Desmond and Al Stewart. It was his first album with his band Shot in the Dark.


  • Al Stewart- vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, synthesizer
  • Peter White- keyboards, acoustic and lectric guitar
  • Adam Yurman – electric guitar, backing vocals
  • Robin Lamble – bass guitar, backing vocals, acoustic guitar, percussion
  • Krysia Kristianne – backing vocals
  • Bryan Savage – alto saxophone, flute
  • Harry Stinson, Ken Nicol- backing vocals
  • Bob Marlette– keyboards
  • Russ Kunkel, Mark Sanders, Jeff Porcaro, Steve Chapman, Beau Segal – drums
  • Lenny Castro– congas
  • Robin Williamson– mandocello
  • Sylvia Woods- Celtic harp
  • Jerry McMillan – violin

Track listing:

  1. Running Man
  2. Midnight Rocks
  3. Constantinople
  4. Merlin’s Time
  5. Mondo Sinistro
  6. Murmansk Run/Ellis Island
  7. Rocks in the Ocean
  8. Paint by Numbers
  9. Optical Illusion