On January 1, 1983.


On January 1, 1983, “Epic” label release “Feline”, the seventh Stranglers studio album.  It was recorded in December 1982, at the “ICP Studios” in Brussels, and was produced by Steve Churchyard, Hugh Cornwell, Jean-Jacques Burnel,Dave Greenfield and Jet Black. The album first edition was sold with a free one-sided 7″ single “Aural Sculpture Manifesto”.


  • Hugh Cornwell- vocals, guitar
  • Jean-Jacques Burnel- bass, vocals
  • Dave Greenfield- keyboards
  • Jet Black- drums, percussion
  • Anna Von Stern, France Lhermitte – backing vocals
  • Tony Visconti– mixing
  • Nick Marchant – art direction, design
  • Tim Widdal – design

Track listing:

All tracks by The Stranglers.

  1. Midnight Summer Dream
  2. It’s a Small World
  3. Ships That Pass in the Night
  4. European Female (In Celebration Of)
  5. Let’s Tango in Paris
  6. Paradise
  7. All Roads Lead to Rome
  8. Blue Sister
  9. Never Say Goodbye

On January 1, 1974.

Court and spark

On January 1, 1974, “Asylum” label released “Court and Spark”, the sixth Joni Mitchell studio album.  It was recorded in 1973, and was produced by Joni Mitchell.  The album was certified 2 x Platinum in the US by the “RIAA” and was voted the best album of the year for 1974 in “The Village Voice Pazz & Jop Critics Poll.” In 2003, the album was ranked at number 113 in “Rolling Stone” magazine list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Joni Mitchell– lead and backing vocals, acoustic guitar, piano,  clavinet
  • John Guerin– drums and percussion
  • Wilton Felder– bass
  • Max Bennett– bass
  • Jim Hughart – bass
  • Milt Holland– chimes
  • Tom Scott– woodwinds and reeds
  • Chuck Findley– trumpet
  • Joe Sample– electric piano, clavinet
  • David Crosby– background vocals
  • Graham Nash– background vocals
  • Susan Webb – background vocals
  • Larry Carlton– electric guitar
  • Wayne Perkins– electric guitar
  • Dennis Budimir – electric guitar
  • Robbie Robertson– electric guitar
  • José Feliciano– electric guitar
  • Cheech Marin– background voice
  • Tommy Chong– background voice

Track listing:

All track by Joni Mitchell, except where noted.

  1. Court and Spark
  2. Help me
  3. Free Man in Paris
  4. People’s Parties
  5. Same Situation
  6. Car on a Hill
  7. Down to You
  8. Just Like This Train
  9. Raise on Robbery
  10. Trouble Child
  11. Twisted – Annie Rose, Wardell Gray


On January 1, 1970.


On January 1, 1970, “Polydor” label released self-titled, debut Stone the Crows album. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced by Mark London.


  • Colin Allen– drums, percussion
  • Maggie Bell– vocals
  • Jimmy Dewar– vocals, bass guitar
  • Les Harvey– acoustic, electric guitars
  • John McGinnis– organ, piano, keyboards

Track listing:

  1. The Touch of Your Loving Hand – Jimmy Dewar, Les Harvey
  2. Raining in Your Heart – Jimmy Dewar, Les Harvey
  3. Blind Man – Josh White Jr.
  4. The Fool on the Hill – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  5. I saw America – Daevid Allen, Colin Allen, Les Harvey, Mark London


On January 1, 1970.


On January 1, 1970, “Polydor” label released “On the Boards”, the second Taste album. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced Tony Colton.


  • Rory Gallagher– vocals, guitars, saxophone, harmonica
  • Richard “Charlie” McCracken – bass guitar
  • John Wilson– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Rory Gallagher.

  1. What’s Going On
  2. Railway and Gun
  3. It’s Happened Before, It’ll Happen Again
  4. If the Day Was Any Longer
  5. Morning Sun
  6. Eat My Words
  7. On the Boards
  8. If I Don’t Sing I’ll Cry
  9. See Here
  10. I’ll Remember

On January 1, 1966.


On January 1, 1966, “King” label released “I Got You (I Feel Good)”, the thirteenth James Brown studio album.

Track listing:

  1. I Got You (I Feel Good)
  2. Lost Someone
  3. Night Train
  4. You’ve Got the Power
  5. Love Don’t Love Nobody
  6. Think
  7. Good Good Lovin’
  8. I Can’t Help It (I Just Do-Do-Do)
  9. I’ve Got Money
  10. Three Hearts In a Tangle
  11. Suds
  12. Dancin’ Little Thing

On December 31, 1980.


On December 31, 1980, “Island” label released “Arc of a Diver”, the second Steve Winwood studio album. It was recorded in 1980 at the “Netherturkdonic Studios” in Gloucestershire, and was produced by Steve Winwood.


  • Steve Winwood– lead and backing vocals,, acoustic and electric guitars, mandolin, bass, drums, percussion, drum machines, keyboards, synthesizers, organ
  • Tony Wright – cover artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Winwood and Will Jennings except where noted.

  1. While You See a Chance
  2. Arc of a Diver – Steve Winwood, Vivian Stanshall
  3. Second-Hand Woman – Steve Winwood, George Fleming
  4. Slowdown Sundown
  5. Spanish Dancer
  6. Night Train
  7. Dust – Steve Winwood, George Fleming


On December 29, 1971.

America - America

On December 29, 1971, “Warner Bros” label released the debut, self-titled America studio album. It was recorded in 1971, at the “Trident Studios” and “Morgan Studios” in London, and was produced by Ian Samwell and Jeff Dexter. The album was initially released without the track “A Horse with No Name”, which was released as a single in late 1971. When “A Horse with No Name” became a worldwide hit in early 1972, the album was re-released with that track. The album was certified Platinum in the US by the “RIAA”.


  • Dewey Bunnell– lead and backing vocals, 6-string acoustic guitar
  • Gerry Beckley– bass, 6 and 12-string acoustic guitars, lead and backing vocals ,electric guitar, chimes, piano
  • Dan Peek– 6 and 12-string acoustic guitars, lead and backing vocals, electric guitar, piano, bass
  • Ray Cooper– percussion
  • Dave Atwood –drums
  • Kim Haworth – drums
  • David Lindley– electric guitar, steel guitar
  • Nigel Waymouth– cover photos, design
  • Flash Fox –logo and graphics

Track listing:

  1. Riverside – Dewey Bunnell
  2. Sandman – Dewey Bunnell
  3. Three Roses – Dewey Bunnell
  4. Children – Dewey Bunnell
  5. Here – Dewey Bunnell
  6. I Need You – Gerry Beckley
  7. Rainy Day – Dan Peek
  8. Never Found the Time – Dan Peek
  9. Clarice – Gerry Beckley
  10. Donkey Jaw – Dan Peek
  11. Pigeon Song – Dewey Bunnell

On December 29, 1969.

Grand Funk album

On December 29, 1969, “Capitol” label released “Grand Funk”, the second Grand Funk Railroad studio album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Terry Knight.


  • Don Brewer – lead vocals, drums
  • Mark Farner- lead vocals, guitars, keyboards, harmonica
  • Mel Schacter – bass

All tracks by Mark Farner, except where noted.

  1. Got This Thing on the Move
  2. Please Don’t Worry – Don Brewer, Mark Farner
  3. High Falootin’ Woman
  4. Limousine Driver
  5. In Need
  6. Winter and My Soul
  7. Paranoid
  8. Inside Looking Out – John Lomax,Alan Lomax, Eric Burdon, Bryan “Chas” Chandler




On December 28, 1983.

Dennis Wilson

On December 28, 1983, Dennis Carl Wilson died aged 39. Being songwriter, singer and musician, he was best known as a co-founder and member of the Beach Boys. In 1977, Dennis released his only solo album “Pacific Ocean Blue”.In 1988. He was posthumously inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame” as a member of the Beach Boys.



On December 28, 1976.

Freddie King jpg

On December 28, 1976, Freddie King died aged 42. Being guitarist and singer his music roots were from Chicago and Texas blues and he is often mentioned as one of “the Three Kings” of electric blues guitar along with Albert King and B.B. King. Freddie King was one of the first bluesmen to have a multi-racial backing band at live performances. His biggest successes were singles “Have You Ever Loved a Woman” (1960) and “Hide Away” (1961).King inspired many famous musicians including Eric Clapton, Jerry Garcia,Peter Green, Dickey Betts and Stevie Ray Vaughan.  In 2012 Freddie King was inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame”.