Tag Archives: March

On April 7, 2017.

On April 7, 2017, “Bella Union” label released “Pure Comedy”, the third Josh Tillman album, under his pseudonym Father John Misty. It was recorded in March 2016 at “United Recording Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jonathan Wilson and Josh Tillman. In its choice of the “100 Best Albums of the Year”, “The Sunday Times” ranked “Pure Comedy” at number one.


  • Josh Tillman– vocals, horn and vocal arrangement, mixing, art direction
  • Jonathan Wilson– performance, mixing
  • Thomas Bartlett, Elijah Thomson, Daniel Bailey, Keefus Ciancia, Kyle Flynn – performance
  • Gavin Bryars– horn arrangement
  • James King– horn arrangement
  • Paul Jacob Cartwright, Tom Lea, Nico Muhly– string arrangement
  • Gavin Bryars – string arrangement, vibraphone
  • Chavonne Stewart – vocal arrangement, additional vocals
  • George Potts Young, De’Ante Duckett, Ryan Stewart, Tiffanie Cross, Vanessa Grundy, Shanika Bereal, Celeste Young, Dominique Dubose – additional vocals
  • Greg Leisz– pedal steel, lap steel
  • Kelsey Lu – cello
  • Trevor Spencer – mixing, engineering
  • Vira Byramji, Dave Cerminara, Rouble Kapoor, Bryce Gonzales – additional engineering
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering
  • Ed Steed – illustrations, art direction
  • Sasha Barr – art direction, additional art, designs

Track listing:

All tracks by Josh Tillman.

  1. Pure Comedy
  2. Total Entertainment Forever
  3. Things It Would Have Been Helpful to Know Before the Revolution
  4. Ballad of the Dying Man
  5. Birdie
  6. Leaving LA
  7. A Bigger Paper Bag
  8. When the God of Love Returns There’ll Be Hell to Pay
  9. Smoochie
  10. Two Wildly Different Perspectives
  11. The Memo
  12. So I’m Growing Old on Magic Mountain
  13. In Twenty Years or So

On April 1, 2014.

On April 1, 2014, “Favorite Gentlemen / Loma Vista Recordings” labels released “Cope”, the fourth Manchester Orchestra studio album. It was recorded June 2012 – March 2013, at “Fluxivity Studios” in Brooklyn, NY, and was produced by Dan Hannon, Andy Hull, Chris Freeman, Andy Prince and Tim Very.


  • Andy Hull – vocals, guitar
  • Chris Freeman – keyboards
  • Andy Prince – bass
  • Tim Very – drums
  • Robert McDowell – guitar, engineer
  • Nick Day, Brad Fisher – engineer
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • John Agnello – mixing
  • Jordan Noel – layout, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Andy Hull.

  1. Top Notch
  2. Choose You
  3. Girl Harbor
  4. The Mansion
  5. The Ocean
  6. Every Stone
  7. All That I Really Wanted
  8. Trees
  9. Indentions
  10. See It Again
  11. Cope

On March 28, 2005.

On March 28, 2005, “Lava” label released “Deadwing”, the eighth Porcupine Tree studio album. It was recorded March – October 2004, and was produced by Steven Wilson, Gavin Harrison and Richard Barbieri.


  • Steven Wilson- vocals, guitars, piano, keyboards, hammered dulcimer, bass guitar, mixing
  • Richard Barbieri– keyboards, synthesizers
  • Colin Edwin- bass guitar
  • Gavin Harrison– drums, percussion
  • Mikael Åkerfeldt – backing vocals, second guitar solo
  • Adrian Belew- solo guitar
  • Paul Northfield, George Schilling – recording engineer
  • Andy VanDette – mastering
  • 5.1 producer – Jeff Levison
  • 5.1 mixing – Elliot Scheiner
  • 5.1 mastering – Darsy Proper

Track listing:

All tracks by Steven Wilson, except where noted.

  1. Deadwing
  2. Shallow
  3. Lazarus
  4. Halo – Richard Barbieri, Colin Edwin, Gavin Harrison, Steven Wilson
  5. Arriving Somewhere but Not Here
  6. Mellotron Scratch
  7. Open Car
  8. Start of Something Beautiful – Gavin Harrison, Steven Wilson
  9. Glass Arm Shattering – Richard Barbieri, Colin Edwin, Gavin Harrison, Steven Wilson

On March 18, 2016.

On March 18, 2016, “Caroline International” released “Post Pop Depression”, the eighteenth Iggy Pop studio album. It was recorded January – March 2015, at “Rancho De La Luna” in Joshua Tree, California, “Pink Duck Studios” in Burbank, California, and was produced by Josh Homme.


  • Iggy Pop— vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Josh Homme— vocals, guitar, bass, piano, synthesizers, mellotron, percussion
  • Dean Fertita— guitar, piano, synthesizers, bass guitar
  • Matt Helders— drums, percussion, tom-toms, shaker, backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Break Into Your Heart
  2. Gardenia
  3. American Valhalla
  4. In the Lobby
  5. Sunday
  6. Vulture
  7. German Days
  8. Chocolate Drops
  9. Paraguay

In March 1964.

In March 1964, “Verve” label released “Getz/Gilberto”,album by Stan Getz and João Gilberto.It was recorded in March 1963, at “A&R Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Creed Taylor. The artwork was by artist Olga Albizu. In 1965, “Getz/Gilberto” received “Grammy Awards” for “Best Jazz Instrumental Album”, “Individual or Group and Best Engineered Recording – Non-Classical;” and “Album of the Year”. It is considered to be the album that popularized bossa nova worldwide. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 447 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Stan Getz– tenor saxophone
  • João Gilberto– vocals, guitar
  • Antônio Carlos Jobim– piano
  • Astrud Gilberto – vocals
  • Sebastião Neto – double bass
  • Milton Banana– drums, pandeiro

Track listing:

  1. The Girl from Ipanema – Antônio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes, Norman Gimbel
  2. Doralice – Antônio Almeida, Dorival Caymmi
  3. Para Machucar Meu Coração – Ary Barroso
  4. Desafinado – Antonio Carlos Jobim, Newton Mendonça
  5. Corcovado (Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars) – Antônio Carlos Jobim
  6. Só Danço Samba – Antônio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes
  7. O Grande Amor – Antônio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes
  8. Vivo Sonhando – Antônio Carlos Jobim



On March 10, 2017.

On March 10, 2017, “Zuma Rock” label released “Black and White Rainbows”, the seventh Bush studio album. It was recorded March 2016 – March 2017, and was produced by Bob Rock and Gavin Rossdale.


  • Gavin Rossdale– lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Chris Traynor– lead guitar
  • Corey Britz – bass, backing vocals
  • Robin Goodridge – drums
  • John Ewing, Jr. – engineer, mixing
  • Neil Krug – art direction, photography
  • Stephen Marcussen– mastering
  • Gavin Rossdale – mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by Gavin Rossdale, except where noted.

  1. Mad Love
  2. Peace – s
  3. Water
  4. Lost in You – Gavin Rossdale, Dave Stewart
  5. Sky Turns Day Glo
  6. Toma Mi Corazón
  7. All the Worlds Within You
  8. Nurse
  9. The Beat of Your heart
  10. Dystopia
  11. Ray of Light
  12. Ravens
  13. Nothing but a Car Chase
  14. The Edge of Love
  15. People at War

On March 6, 2001.

On March, 6, 2001, “Astralwerks” label released “Quiet Is the New Loud”, the debut Kings of Convenience album. It was recorded in 2000, and was produced by Ken Nelson, Erlend Øye and Eirik Glambek Bøe.


  • Erlend Øye– lead and harmony vocals, steel string acoustic and electric guitars, piano, drums, percussion, string arrangements
  • Eirik Glambek Bøe– lead and harmony vocals, nylon string acoustic and electric guitars, piano, drums, string arrangements
  • Ian Bracken – cello
  • Matt McGeever – cello
  • Ben Dumville – trumpet
  • Tarjei Strøm – drum fills

Track listing:

All tracks by Eirik Glambek Bøe and Erlend Øye, except where noted.

  1. Winning a Battle, Losing the War
  2. Toxic Girl
  3. Singing Softly to Me
  4. I Don’t Know What I Can Save You From
  5. Failure
  6. The Weight of My Words
  7. The Girl from Back Then
  8. Leaning Against the Wall
  9. Little Kids
  10. Summer on the Westhill
  11. The Passenger
  12. Parallel Lines – Eirik Glambek Bøe, Erlend Øye, Daisy Simons