Tag Archives: 1972

On May 3, 1972.

On May 3, 1972, Leslie Cameron Harvey died aged 27. He was musician (guitar) member of the bands Alex Harvey Soul Band, The Blues Council and Cartoone, but he was best known as the guitarist of the band Stone the Crows. He was the brother of Alex Harvey.

On March 30, 2020.

On March 30, 2020, William Harrison Withers Jr. aka Bill Withers died aged 81. He was singer-songwriter and musician (guitar, keyboards), active from 1970 until 1985. He composed and recorded several major hits, including “Ain’t No Sunshine” (1971), “Grandma’s Hands” (1971), “Use Me” (1972), “Lean on Me” (1972), “Lovely Day” (1977), and “Just the Two of Us” (1980). Withers won three “Grammy Awards” (1971, 1981, 1987), “ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Heritage” award (2006), was inducted into “West Virginia Music Hall of Fame” (2007), was inducted into “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame(2015), and received honorary degree from West Virginia University.

On March 24, 2020.

On March 24, 2020, Emmanuel N’Djoké Dibango aka Manu Dibango died aged 86. He was musician (saxophone and vibraphone), developed a musical style fusing jazz, funk, and traditional Cameroonian music. He was a member of the seminal Congolese rumba group, African Jazz, and has collaborated with many musicians, including Fania All Stars, Fela Kuti, Herbie Hancock, Bill Laswell, Bernie Worrell, Ladysmith Black Mambazo, King Sunny Adé, Don Cherry, and Sly and Robbie. He was best known for his 1972 single “Soul Makossa”.

On March 11, 1972.

On March 11, 1972, “Elektra” label released “Heads & Tales”, the debut Harry Chapin album. It was recorded 1971 – 1972, at “Elektra Sound Recorders” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jac Holzman.


  • Harry Chapin– vocals, guitar
  • Steve Chapin– keyboards
  • Ronald Palmer – vocals, guitar
  • John Wallace– vocals, bass
  • Russ Kunkel- drums, percussion
  • Tim Scott – cello

Track listing:

All tracks by Harry Chapin.

  1. Could You Put Your Light On, Please
  2. Greyhound
  3. Everybody’s Lonely
  4. Sometime, Somewhere Wife
  5. Empty
  6. Taxi
  7. Any Old Kind of Day
  8. Dogtown
  9. Same Sad Singer



On March 7, 2000.

On March 7, 2000, “Thrill Jockey” label released “Chore of Enchantment”, the 15th Giant Sand album. It was recorded in 1999, in Tucson, New York City and Memphis, and was produced by John Parish, Jim Dickinson and Kevin Salem.


  • Howe Gelb– vocals, guitar, piano
  • John Convertino– drums
  • Joey Burns – bass, cello, guitar, backing vocals
  • Juliana Hatfield– backing vocals
  • Sofie Albertsen Gelb – backing vocals
  • Jim Dickinson– mellotron, piano, organ
  • John Parish– piano, pump organ, door shutter
  • Kevin Salem – guitar, acoustic guitar, mellotron
  • Susan Marshall-Powell – backing vocals
  • Jackie Johnson – backing vocals
  • William Brown – backing vocals
  • Rich Mercurio – drums
  • John Abbey – bass
  • Rob Arthur – mellotron, organ
  • Nick Luca – piano
  • Neil Harry – pedal steel
  • Alan Bezozi – drum loop
  • Scott Loder – bass
  • David Mansfield– pedal steel, banjo
  • Lydia Kavanaugh – backing vocals
  • Paula Brown – bass, backing vocals
  • Rainer Ptacek– slide guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Howe Gelb.

  1. Overture
  2. (Well) Dusted (For the Millennium)
  3. Punishing Sun
  4. X-Tra Wide
  5. 1972
  6. Temptation of Egg
  7. Raw
  8. Wolfy
  9. Shiver
  10. Dirty from the Rain
  11. Astonished (In Memphis)
  12. No Reply
  13. Satellite
  14. Bottom Line Man
  15. Way to End the Day
  16. Shrine

On January 25, 1973.

On January 25, 1973, “Bearsville” in 1972, label released “A Woofer in Tweeter’s Clothing”, the second Sparks studio album. It was recorded at “ID Sound at La Brea” and “Walley Heider Studios” and was produced by Thaddeus James Lowe.


  • Russell Mael – vocals
  • Ron Mael – keyboards
  • Earle Mankey – guitar
  • Jim Mankey – bass
  • Harley Feinstein – drums

Track listing:

  1. Girl from Germany – Russell Mael, Ron Mael
  2. Beaver O’Lindy – Ron Mael, Russsell Mael, Earle Mankey, Jim Mankey, Harley Feinstein
  3. Nothing is Sacred – Ron Mael
  4. Here Comes Bob – Ron Mael, Russell Mael
  5. Moon Over Kentucky – lyrics by Jim Mankey, music by Ron Mael
  6. Do Re Mi – Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II
  7. Angus Desire – Ron Mael, Russell Mael
  8. Underground – Earle Mankey
  9. The Louvre – Ron Mael, French translation by Josée Becker
  10. Batteries Not Included – Ron Mael
  11. Whippings and Apologies – Ron Mael


In January 1973.

In January 1973, “Ariola” label released “Roadmaster”, the fourth Gene Clark album. It was compiled from various unreleased recordings for” A&M Records” made in 1970 through 1972, produced by Jim Dickson and Chris Hinshaw.


  • Gene Clark– vocals, acoustic guitar, piano
  • Chris Hillman– vocals, bass guitar
  • David Crosby – vocals, guitars
  • Roger McGuinn– vocals, guitars
  • Michael Clarke– drums
  • Bud Shank– flute
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow– pedal steel guitar
  • Bernie Leadon, Rick Roberts– guitars, vocals
  • Clarence White– electric guitar, backing vocals
  • Spooner Oldham– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Chris Ethridge– bass guitar
  • Byron Berline– fiddle
  • Chris Hinshaw – recording engineer
  • Henry Diltz – photography
  • Barry Ballard – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Gene Clark except where noted.

  1. She’s the Kind of Girl
  2. One in a Hundred
  3. Here Tonight
  4. Full Circle Song
  5. In a Misty Morning
  6. Rough and Rocky – Lester Flatt, Earl Scruggs
  7. Roadmaster – Freddy Weller, Spooner Oldham
  8. I Really Don’t Want to Know – Howard Barnes, Don Robertson
  9. I Remember the Railroad
  10. She Don’t Care About Time
  11. Shooting Star