Tag Archives: Atlantic

In July 1967.

In July 1967, “Atlantic” label released “The Sound of Wilson Pickett”, the sixth Wilson Pickett album. It was recorded in 1967 at “Fame Studios” in Alabama, and was produced by Rick Hall, Tom Dowd and Jerry Wexler.


  • Wilson Pickett – vocals
  • Tommy Cogbill- bass
  • Chips Moman- guitar
  • Junior Lake – bass
  • Roger Hawkins- drums
  • Spooner Oldham- piano. organ
  • Wayne Jackson- trumpet
  • Gene Miller – trumpet
  • Andrew Love- tenor saxophone
  • Charles Chalmers – tenor saxophone
  • Floyd Newman- baritone saxophone

Track listing:

  1. Soul Dance Number Three – Wilson Pickett, Jerry Wexler
  2. Funky Broadway – Arlester “Dyke” Christian
  3. I Need a Lot of Loving Every Day – Dan Penn, Lindon Oldham
  4. I Found A Love, Part I – Wilson Pickett, Willie Schofield, Robert West
  5. I Found A Love, Part II – Wilson Pickett, Willie Schofield, Robert West
  6. You Can’t Stand Alone – Rudy Clark
  7. Mojo Mamma – Bert Berns, Jerry Wexler
  8. I Found The One – Bobby Womack
  9. Something Within Me – Bobby Womack
  10. I’m Sorry About That – Bobby Womack
  11. Love Is a Beautiful Thing – Felix Cavaliere, Eddie Brigati


In June 1988.

In June 1988, “Virgin” label released “Provision”, the third Scritti Politti album. It recorded 1987–1988 at “Minot Sound” in Atlantic, “Hit Factory”, “Right Track”, “Sorcerer Sound” in New York; “Britannia Row”, “AIR, Townhouse”, “Sarm West”, “Swan Yard” in London, and was produced by Green Gartside, David Gamson and John Potoker.


  • Green Gartside– vocals
  • David Gamson– Yamaha DX7, Yamaha TX816, Yamaha QX1, Oberheim Matrix 12, Sequential Circuits Prophet VS, Roland MKS-80, Roland MKS 50, Synclavier
  • Fred Maher– drums, Oberheim DMX, LinnDrum
  • Miles Davis– trumpet
  • Bashiri Johnson– percussion
  • Chris Botti– trumpet
  • Dann Huff– guitar
  • John Mahoney – Synclavier
  • Joe Mennonna – saxophones
  • Jason Miles – keyboard programming
  • Marcus Miller– bass
  • Nick Moroch – guitar
  • Raymond Niznik – Synclavier
  • Kent Smith – horn
  • Andy Snitzer – saxophones
  • Roger Troutman– talk box
  • Mitch Corn – horn
  • Mark Stevens, B.J. Nelson, Fonzi Thornton, Tawatha Agee, Rory Dodd, Diva Gray, Yogi Lee, Eric Troyer– background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Green Gartside and David Gamson; except where noted.

  1. Boom! There She Was
  2. Overnite
  3. First Boy in This Town (Lovesick)
  4. All That We Are
  5. Best Thing Ever – Green Gartside, David Gamson, John Potoker
  6. Oh Patti (Don’t Feel Sorry for Loverboy)
  7. Bam Salute
  8. Sugar and Spice
  9. Philosophy Now

In June 1975.

In June 1975, “Atlantic” label released “Cut the Cake”, the third Average White Band album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by Arif Mardin.


  • Alan Gorrie– vocals, bass, guitar
  • Hamish Stuart– vocals, guitar, bass
  • Roger Ball– keyboards, synthesizer, alto & baritone saxophones, arranger
  • Malcolm Duncan– tenor saxophone
  • Onnie McIntyre – guitar
  • Steve Ferrone– drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Cut the Cake – Hamish Stuart, Roger Ball, Malcolm Duncan, Onnie McIntyre, Steve Ferrone, Alan Gorrie, Robbie McIntosh
  2. School Boy Crush – Hamish Stuart, Roger Ball, Malcolm Duncan, Onnie McIntyre, Steve Ferrone, Alan Gorrie, Robbie McIntosh
  3. It’s A Mystery – Hamish Stuart, Roger Ball, Malcolm Duncan, Onnie McIntyre, Steve Ferrone, Alan Gorrie, Robbie McIntosh
  4. Groovin’ the Night Away – Stuart Hamish Stuart, Roger Ball, Malcolm Duncan, Onnie McIntyre, Steve Ferrone, Alan Gorrie, Robbie McIntosh
  5. If I Ever Lose This Heaven – Leon Ware, Pam Sawyer
  6. Why – Roger Ball, Hamish Stuart, Alan Gorrie
  7. High Flyin’ Woman – Hamish Stuart, Roger Ball, Malcolm Duncan, Onnie McIntyre, Steve Ferrone, Alan Gorrie, Robbie McIntosh
  8. Cloudy – Hamish Stuart, Alan Gorrie
  9. How Sweet Can You Get – Roger Ball, Hamish Stuart, Alan Gorrie
  10. When They Bring Down the Curtain – Alan Gorrie, Roger Ball


On June 20, 2001.

On June 20, 2001, “Atlantic” label released “Beyond Good and Evil”, the seventh  Cult studio album. It was recorded in 2000, and was produced by Bob Rock. The album title is reference to Friedrich Nietzsche’s 1886 book of the same title.


  • Ian Astbury- vocals
  • Billy Duffy- guitars
  • Matt Sorum– drums, percussion
  • Martyn LeNoble, Chris Wyse: bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy, except where noted.

  1. War (The Process)
  2. The Saint
  3. Rise
  4. Take the Power
  5. Breathe – Ian Astbury, Bill Duffy, Mick Jones, Marti Frederiksen
  6. Nico
  7. American Gothic
  8. Ashes and Ghosts – Ian Astbury, Bill Duffy, Bob Rock
  9. Shape the Sky
  10. Speed of Light – Ian Astbury, Bill Duffy, Bob Rock
  11. True Believers
  12. My Bridges Burn

On June 13, 2000.

On June 13, 2000, “Atlantic” label released “Faith and Courage”, the fifth Sinéad O’Connor album. It was recorded 1999-2000, and was produced by Kevin “She’kspere” Briggs, Scott Cutler, Jerry ‘Wonder’ Duplessis, Brian Eno, Skip McDonald, Anne Preven, John Reynolds, Adrian  Sherwood, David A. Stewart and Wyclef Jean.


  • Sinéad O’Connor- vocals, backing vocals
  • Skip McDonald- guitar, bass, keyboards
  • Carlton “Bubblers” Ogilvie – bass, reggae piano
  • Professor Stretch – drum programming, keyboards
  • Rusty Anderson- guitar
  • Scott Cutler- guitar
  • Paul Bushnell – bass
  • Scot Coogan- drums
  • Jeff Turzo- drum programming
  • David Campbell- strings arrangement, viola
  • Joel Derouin – violin
  • Larry Corbet – cello
  • Dave Stewart- guitar
  • John Reynolds- drums
  • Jah Wobble- bass
  • Kieran Kiely – low and high whistles
  • Caroline Dale- strings
  • Andy Wright- programming
  • Mark Price – programming
  • Blandinna Melky Jean – vocals
  • Chris Sharrock- drums
  • Chucko Merchan – bass
  • Little Roy – backing vocals
  • Zac Rae – keyboards
  • David Levita – keyboards
  • Anne Preven- backing vocals
  • Derek Scott – guitar
  • Lil John – drums
  • Karren Berz – orchestral arrangement
  • Simon Mundey – programming
  • Bonjo I Abinghi Noah – percussion

Track listing:

  1. The Healing Room – Sinéad O’Connor
  2. No Man’s Woman – Sinéad O’Connor, Scott Cutler, Anne Preven
  3. Jealous – Sinéad O’Connor, Dave A. Stewart
  4. Dancing Lessons – Sinéad O’Connor, Wyclef Jean, Jerry Duplessis, Blandina Melky Jean, Jimmy Cozier
  5. Daddy I’m Fine – Sinéad O’Connor, Dave A. Stewart
  6. Till I Whisper U Something – Sinéad O’Connor, Dave A. Stewart
  7. Hold Back the Night – Robert Hodgens
  8. What Doesn’t Belong To Me – Sinéad O’Connor
  9. The State I’m In – Scott Cutler, Anne Preven
  10. The Lamb’s Book of Life – Sinéad O’Connor, Kevin “She’kspere” Briggs
  11. If U Ever – Sinéad O’Connor
  12. Emma’s Song – Sinéad O’Connor
  13. Kyrié Eléison – traditional, arr. by Sinéad O’Connor, Adrian Sherwood, Skip McDonald, Alan Branch


On June 4, 2013.

On June 4, 2013, “Atlantic” label released “Evil Friends”, the seventh Portugal. The Man album. It was recorded in 2013, and was produced by Danger Mouse.


  • John Baldwin Gourley – vocals, guitar, organ, synthesizers
  • Zachary Scott Carothers – bass, percussion, backing vocals
  • Kyle O’Quin – piano, synthesizers, whistle
  • Noah Gersh – guitar, percussion, backing vocals
  • Kane Ritchotte– percussion, backing vocals
  • Danger Mouse– synthesizer
  • Phillip Peterson – strings, Arranging

Track listing:

All tracks by John Baldwin Gourley and Danger Mouse.

  1. Plastic Soldiers
  2. Creep in a T-Shirt
  3. Evil Friends
  4. Modern Jesus
  5. Hip Hop Kids
  6. Atomic Man
  7. Sea of Air
  8. Waves
  9. Holy Roller (Hallelujah)
  10. Someday Believers
  11. Purple Yellow Red and Blue
  12. Smile