Tag Archives: January

On April 13, 1978.

On April 13, 1978, “Atlantic” label released “Almighty Fire”, the twenty-fourth Aretha Franklin studio album. It was recorded January – March 1978, at “Curtom Studios” in Chicago, IL, “ABC Recording Studios” in Los Angeles, CA, “Whitney Recording Studios” in Glendale, CA, and was produced by Curtis Mayfield.


  • Aretha Franklin – vocals, cover art concept
  • Curtis Mayfield– guitar
  • Gary Thompson – guitar
  • Joseph “Lucky” Scott – bass guitar
  • Donnell Hagan – drums
  • Henry Gibson– congas
  • Rich Tufo – keyboards, arrangements
  • Lenard Druss – horns contractor
  • Sol Bobrov – strings contractor
  • Alfonzo Surrett – background vocals
  • Mattie Butler – background vocals
  • Ricki Linton – background vocals
  • Denese Heard and the Jones Girls– background vocals
  • Roger Anfinsen, Fred Breitberg – engineers
  • Roger Anfinsen – remix
  • Dennis King – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Curtis Mayfield, except where noted.

  1. Almighty Fire (Woman of the Future)
  2. Lady, Lady
  3. More Than Just a Joy
  4. Keep On Loving You
  5. I Needed You Baby
  6. Close to You
  7. No Matter Who You Love
  8. This You Can Believe
  9. I’m Your Speed – Aretha Franklin, Glynn Turman



On March 23, 1956.

On March 23, 1956, “RCA Victor” label released the self-titled, debut Elvis Presley album. It was recorded July 1954 – January 1956, at “”RCA Victor Studios” in Nashville, Tennessee, “RCA Victor Studios” in New York City, “Sun Studio” in Memphis, Tennessee, and was produced by Sam Phillips (Sun recordings) and Steve Sholes (RCA recordings). “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album cover at number 40, on its list of the “100 Greatest Album Covers”. The album was certified Platinum in US by the “RIAA”.


  • Elvis Presley– vocals, acoustic guitar, piano
  • Scotty Moore– electric guitar
  • Chet Atkins– acoustic guitar
  • Floyd Cramer– piano
  • Shorty Long– piano
  • Bill Black– bass
  • Doug Poindexter– percussion, guitar
  • J. Fontana– drums
  • Johnny Bernero – drums
  • Gordon Stoker– backing vocals
  • Ben Speer– backing vocals
  • Brock Speer– backing vocals

 Track listing:

  1. Blue Suede Shoes – Carl Perkins
  2. I’m Counting On You – Don Robertson
  3. I Got a Woman – Ray Charles, Renald Richard
  4. One Sided Love Affair – Bill Campbell
  5. I Love You Because – Leon Payne
  6. Just Because – Bob Shelton, Joe Shelton, Sydney Robin
  7. Tutti Frutti – Dorothy LaBostrie, Richard Wayne Penniman
  8. Tryin’ to Get You – Rose Marie McCoy, Charles Singleton
  9. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down and Cry (Over You) – Howard Biggs, Joe Thomas
  10. I’ll Never Let You Go (Little Darlin’) – Jimmy Wakely
  11. Blue Moon – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  12. Money Honey – Jesse Stone


On March 19, 1962.

On March 19, 1962, “Columbia” label released “The Electrifying Aretha Franklin”, the second Aretha Franklin studio album. It was recorded July – December 1961, January 1962, at “Columbia Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by John H. Hammond.


  • Aretha Franklin– vocals, piano
  • John H. Hammond– personal supervisor
  • Richard Wess – arrangements

Track listing:

  1. You Made Me Love You – Joe McCarthy, James Vincent Monaco
  2. I Told You So – John Leslie McFarland
  3. Rock-a-Bye Your Baby With a Dixie Melody – Sam M. Lewis, Jean Schwartz, Joe Young
  4. Nobody Like You – James Cleveland
  5. Exactly Like You – Jimmy McHugh, Dorothy Fields
  6. It’s So Heartbreakin’ – John Leslie McFarland
  7. Rough Lover – John Leslie McFarland
  8. Blue Holiday – Willie Denson, Luther Dixon
  9. Just for You – Bailey, John Leslie McFarland
  10. That Lucky Old Sun(Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day) – Haven Gillespie, Harry Beasley Smith
  11. I Surrender, Dear – Harry Barris, Gordon Clifford
  12. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive – Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer

On March 3, 2008.

On March 3, 2008, “Inside Out” label released “Not as Good as the Book”, the fourth  Tangent studio album. It was recorded January 2006 – November 2007, and was produced by Andy Tillison.


  • Andy Tillison– vocals, organ, piano, Moog synthesizer, guitars
  • Guy Manning– vocals, acoustic guitar, mandolin, bouzouki
  • Jonas Reingold– bass guitar
  • Jaime Salazar– drums
  • Theo Travis– saxophone, flute
  • Jakko Jakszyk– vocals, guitars
  • Julie King– vocals
  • Unknown Frenchman – violin
  • Antoine Ettori – cover artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Andy Tillison.

A Crisis in Mid-Life

  1. A Crisis in Mid-Life
  2. Lost in London 25 Years Later
  3. The Ethernet
  4. Celebrity Purée
  5. Not as Good as the Book
  6. A Sale of Two Souls
  7. Bat Out of Basildon

Throwing Metal at the Sky

  1. Part One – Four Egos One War

I. Ours

II. Theirs (incl. Ours Reprise)

III. His

IV. Mine

  1. Part Two – The Full Gamut

I. The D599

II. Gothenburg

III. Last Tango

IV. Studio Tan

V. Not a Drill

VI. Southend on Sea

VII. The A1 North of Paris

VIII. Four Last Days

IX. The D599 & The A61



On February 19, 2002.

On February 19, 2002, “Sanctuary” label released “Back on Track”, the eleventh and final Humble Pie album. It was recorded December 2001 – January 2002, at “Jacobs Studios” in Surrey, and “Astoria Studios” in Hampton, Greater London, and was produced by Andy Jackson and Dave Colwell.


  • Dave “Bucket” Colwell– guitar, dobro, mandolin
  • Jerry Shirley– drums
  • Greg Ridley– vocals, bass
  • Bobby Tench– vocals, guitar
  • Zoot Money– vocals, piano, Hammond organ
  • Victor Martin – Hammond organ
  • John Melling – piano, string arrangements
  • Andy Jackson – engineer, mixing
  • Damon Iddins – engineer
  • Jerry Shirley – executive producer

Track listing:

  1. Dignified- Dave Colwell
  2. Real Thing – Dave Colwell, Mick Lister
  3. Trouble – Greg Ridley
  4. Ain’t No Big Thing – Dave Colwell, Jerry Shirley, Bobby Tench
  5. Stay One More Night – Dave Colwell, Robert Hart
  6. Still Got a Story to Tell – Dave Colwell
  7. All I Ever Needed – Dave Colwell
  8. This Time – Jerry Shirley, Charlie Huhn
  9. Flat Busted – Jerry Shirley, Charlie Huhn
  10. Between Old Teddy and Your Mum – Dave Colwell, Bob Halligan



In February 1968.

In February 1968, “Enterprise” and “Atlantic” labels released “Presenting Isaac Hayes”, the debut Isaac Hayes studio album. It was recorded in January 1968, at “Stax Studios” in Memphis, Tennessee, and was produced by Alvertis Isbell, Al Jackson, Jr. and Donald “Duck” Dunn.


  • Isaac Hayes- vocals, piano
  • Donald “Duck” Dunn- bass guitar
  • Al Jackson Jr.- drums
  • Arif Mardin, Steve Cropper– mixing
  • Alvertis Isbell– supervision
  • Bill Kington, API Photographers – photography
  • Loring Eutemey – cover design

Track listing:

  1. Precious, Precious – Isaac Hayes
  2. When I Fall in Love – Edward Heyman, Victor Young
  3. Medley: I Just Want to Make Love to You / Rock Me Baby – Willie Dixon, Riley B. King, Joe Josea
  4. Medley: I’m Going to Chicago Blues / Misty – Count Basie, Jimmy Rushing, Erroll Garner, Johnny Burke
  5. You Don’t Know Like I Know – Isaac Hayes, David Porter

On January 29, 1979.

On January 29, 1979, “Xanadu” label released “Skate Board Park”, the eleventh Joe Farrell album. It was recorded in January 1979, and was produced by Don Schlitten.


  • Joe Farrell– tenor sax
  • Chick Corea– piano, electric piano
  • Bob Magnusson– bass
  • Larance Marable– drums
  • Arne Frager – engineer
  • Paul Goodman– mixing
  • Joe Farrell – liner notes
  • Don Schlitten– design, photography

Track listing:

  1. Skate Board Park – Joe Farrell
  2. Cliche Romance – Joe Farrell
  3. High Wire – The Aerialist – Chick Corea
  4. Speak Low – Nash, Kurt Weill
  5. You Go to My Head – F. Coots, H. Gillespie
  6. Bara-Bara – Joe Farrell