Tag Archives: Sonny Rollins

In December 1978.

In December 1978, “Baystate” label released the self-titled debut The Super Jazz Trio album. It was recorded in November 1978, at “Sound Ideas Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Yoshio Ozawa.


  • Tommy Flanagan – piano
  • Reggie Workman – bass
  • Joe Chambers – drums

Track listing:

  1. Pent Up House – Sonny Rollins
  2. Condado Beach – Joe Chambers
  3. Let’s Call This – Thelonious Monk
  4. So Sorry Please – Bud Powell
  5. Ballad – Tommy Flanagan
  6. Milestones – Miles Davis

On December 27, 1992.

On December 27, 1992, “Criss Cross” label released “Downtown Sounds”, the debut Grant Stewart album. It was recorded in 1992, at “RPM Sound” in New York City, and was produced by Gerry Teekens.


  • Grant Stewart – tenor sax
  • Joe Magnarelli – trumpet
  • Brad Mehldau – piano
  • Peter Washington – bass
  • Kenny Washington – drums
  • Max Bolleman – engineer
  • Gerry Teekens – design
  • Ron Schwerin – photography

Track listing:

  1. Audobahn – Sonny Rollins
  2. Smada – Billy Strayhorn
  3. Daydream – Billy Strayhorn, Duke Ellington, John La Touche
  4. From This Moment On – Cole Porter
  5. A Bee Has Two Brains – Johnny Ellis
  6. Sweet and Lovely – Gus Arnheim, Harry Tobias, Jules Lemare
  7. Intimacy of the Blues – Billy Strayhorn
  8. Ko-Ko – Charlie Parker

In December 1957.

In December 1957, “Riverside” label released “That’s Him!”, the second Abbey Lincoln album. It was recorded in October 1957, at “Reeves Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Bill Grauer and Orrin Keepnews.


  • Abbey Lincoln – vocals
  • Kenny Dorham – trumpet
  • Sonny Rollins – tenor saxophone
  • Wynton Kelly – piano, bass
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Max Roach – drums

Track listing:

  1. Strong Man – Oscar Brown, Jr.
  2. Happiness Is a Thing Called Joe – Harold Arlen, E.Y. “Yip” Harburg
  3. My Man – Jacques Charles, Channing Pollack, Albert Willemetz, Maurice Yvain
  4. Tender as a Rose – Phil Moore
  5. That’s Him – Ogden Nash, Kurt Weill
  6. I Must Have That Man! – Dorothy Fields, Jimmy McHugh
  7. Porgy – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward
  8. When a Woman Loves a Man – Bernie Hanighen, Gordon Jenkins, Johnny Mercer
  9. Don’t Explain – Arthur Herzog, Jr., Billie Holiday

On October 19, 1995.

On October 19, 1995, Donald Eugene Cherry died aged 58. He was a musician (trumpet), one of the pioneers in world fusion in the 60s and 70s. Cherry recorded and performed with a number of musicians and bands including Ornette Coleman, Paul Bley, Sonny Rollins, New York Contemporary Five, Naná Vasconcelos, La Monte Young, Abdullah Ibrahim, Carla Bley, Charlie Haden, Allen Ginsberg, Charles Brackeen, Codona, Albert Ayler, Clifford Jordan, Steve Lacy, Michael Mantler, Sunny Murray, Jim Pepper, George Russell, Sun Ra, Lou Reed, Charlie Rouse, Albert Heath, James Mtume, Herbie Hancock, Ed Blackwell, Steve Hillage, Collin Walcott, Latif Khan, Johnny Dyani, Masahiko Togashi, Bengt Berger, Rip Rig + Panic, Bengt Berger Bitter Funeral Beer Band, Dag Vag, Frank Lowe, Jai Uttal, and Ed Blackwell.

On September 24, 2013.

September 24, 2013, “High Note” label released “One for Rudy”, the 32ndJoey DeFrancesco album. It was recorded in June 2013, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Joey DeFrancesco.


  • Joey DeFrancesco– Hammond B3
  • Steve Cotter – guitar
  • Ramond Banda – drums

Track listing;

  1. I Don’t Wanna Be Kissed – Jack Elliot, Harold Spina
  2. Budo – Miles Davis
  3. Goodbye – Gordon Jenkins
  4. Canadian Sunset – Eddie Heywood, Norman Gimbel
  5. Up Jumped Spring – Freddie Hubbard
  6. Way Out West – Sonny Rollins
  7. After You’ve Gone – Turner Layton, Henry Creamer
  8. Monk’s Dream – Thelonious Monk
  9. Stardust – Hoagy Carmichael, Mitchell Parish
  10. One for Rudy – Joey DeFrancesco

On September 17, 2012.

On September 17, 2012, “Nonesuch” label released “Where Do You Start”, the 29th Brad Mehldau album. It was recorded November 2008 – April 2011, at “Avatar Studios” in New York, and was produced by Brad Mehldau.


  • Brad Mehldau– piano
  • Larry Grenadier– bass
  • Jeff Ballard– drums

Track listing:

  1. Got Me Wrong – Jerry Cantrell
  2. Holland – Sufjan Stevens
  3. Brownie Speaks – Clifford Brown
  4. Baby Plays Around – Cait O’Riordan, Elvis Costello
  5. Airegin – Sonny Rollins
  6. Hey Joe – Billy Roberts
  7. Samba e Amor – Chico Buarque
  8. Jam – Brad Mehldau
  9. Time Has Told Me – Nick Drake
  10. Aquelas Coisas Todas – Toninho Horta
  11. Where Do You Start? – Marilyn Bergman, Alan Bergman, Johnny Mandel

In August 1965.

In August 1965, “Impulse” label released “Sonny Rollins on Impulse!” the 24th Sonny Rollins album (his debut on Impulse! Label). It was recorded in July 1965, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • Sonny Rollins– tenor saxophone
  • Ray Bryant– piano
  • Walter Booker– bass
  • Mickey Roker– drums

Track listing:

  1. On Green Dolphin Street – Bronislaw Kaper, Ned Washington
  2. Everything Happens to Me – Tom Adair, Matt Dennis
  3. Hold ‘Em Joe – Harry Thomas
  4. The Blue Room – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
  5. Three Little Words – Bert Kalmar, Harry Ruby


In August 1964.

In August 1964, “RCA Victor” label released “The Standard Sonny Rollins”, the 23rd Sonny Rollins album. It was recorded June – July 1064, in New York City, and was produced by George Avakian.


  • Sonny Rollins– tenor saxophone
  • Herbie Hancock- piano
  • Jim Hall- guitar
  • David Izenzon- bass
  • Teddy Smith– bass
  • Bob Cranshaw– bass
  • Stu Martin- drums
  • Mickey Roker– drums

Track listing:

  1. Autumn Nocturne – Kim Gannon, Josef Myrow
  2. Night and Day- Cole Porter
  3. Love Letters – Edward Heyman, Victor Young
  4. My One and Only Love – Robert Mellin, Guy Wood
  5. Three Little Words – Bert Kalmar, Harry Ruby
  6. Trav’lin’ Light – Johnny Mercer, Jimmy Mundy, Trummy Young
  7. I’ll Be Seeing You – Sammy Fain, Irving Kahal
  8. My Ship – Ira Gershwin, Kurt Weill
  9. It Could Happen to You – Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen
  10. Long Ago (and Far Away) – George Gershwin, Jerome Kern

In August 1962.

In August 1962, “RCA Victor” label released “What’s New?” the 20th Sonny Rollins album. It was recorded April – May 1962, in New York City, and was produced by George Avakian and John Snyder.


  • Sonny Rollins– tenor saxophone
  • Jim Hall– guitar
  • Bob Cranshaw– bass
  • Ben Riley– drums
  • Denis Charles – percussion
  • Frank Charles – percussion
  • Willie Rodriguez – percussion
  • Candido– percussion
  • Jay Newland – engineer
  • Ray Hall – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Sonny Rollins except where noted.

  1. If Ever I Would Leave You – Alan Jay Lerner, Frederick Loewe
  2. Jungoso
  3. Bluesongo
  4. The Night Has a Thousand Eyes – Buddy Bernier, Jerry Brainin
  5. Brown Skin Girl – Norman Span

On June 24, 2008.

On June 24, 2008, “Justin Time” label released “About Time”, the 91st Paul Bley album. It was recorded in May 2007, at “Nola’s Penthouse Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Jim West.


  • Paul Bley– piano

Track listing:

  1. About Time – Paul Bley
  2. Pent-Up House – Sonny Rollins