Tag Archives: ian Gillan

On June 6, 2019.

On June 6, 2019, Malcolm John Rebennack aka Dr. John, died aged 77. He was singer – songwriter and musician (piano, keyboards and guitar), regarded as one of the greatest New Orleans music icons. He had successful solo career and performed and recorded with many famous musicians and bands, including Art Blakey, Ringo Starr & His All-Starr Band, Van Morrison, Dan Auerbach, Eric Clapton, Bob Seger, Joe Walsh, Canned Heat, The Rolling Stones, Mike Bloomfield, Spiritualized, David Newman, Ray Anderson, Levon Helm, John Hammond, Gregg Allman, Papa John Creach, Bennie Wallace, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Harry Connick Jr., Hank Crawford, Jimmy Smith, Jools Holland, Steve Tyrell, B. B. King and Marcus Miller. Dr. John won six “Grammy Awards”, and was inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame” in 2011. In May 2013, he received honorary doctorate of fine arts from “Tulane University.

On April 26, 2013.

On April 26, 2013, “earMusic” label released “Now What?!”, the 19th Deep Purple studio album. It was recorded in 2012, at “The Tracking Room”, “Anarchy Studios” and “Rainbow Recorders” in Nashville, Tennessee, and was produced by Bob Ezrin.


  • Ian Gillan– vocals
  • Steve Morse– guitar
  • Roger Glover– bass
  • Ian Paice– drums
  • Don Airey– keyboards
  • Jason Roller – acoustic guitar
  • Eric Darken– percussion
  • Mike Johnson – steel guitar
  • David Hamilton – additional keyboards
  • Students of Nimbus School of Recording Arts– gang vocals
  • Bob Ezrin– additional backing vocals, percussion, mixing
  • Justin Cortelyou – engineer, mixing
  • Li Xiao Le – assistant engineer
  • Zach Allan, Jarad Clement, Rob Harris, Mike Airey, Nathan Sage – additional engineers
  • Greg Calbi- mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Don Airey, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Steve Morse, Ian Paice and Bob Ezrin.

  1. A Simple Song
  2. Weirdistan
  3. Out of Hand
  4. Hell to Pay
  5. Bodyline
  6. Above and Beyond
  7. Blood from a Stone
  8. Uncommon Man
  9. Après Vous
  10. All the Time in the World
  11. Vincent Price


On November 24, 2008.

On November 24, 2008, Michael Gary Pearson aka Michael Lee died aged 39. He was drummer who toured and recorded with many famous musicians and music acts, including Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, The Cult, Echo & the Bunnymen, Aerosmith, Lenny Kravitz, Jeff Martin, Little Angels,  Ian Gillan, The Quireboys and Thin Lizzy.

In July 1976.

In July 1976, “Polydor” label released “Child in Time”, the debut Ian Gillan Band album. It was recorded December 1975 – January 1976, at “Musicland Studios” in Munich, and was produced by Roger Glover.


  • Ian Gillan– vocals, harmonica
  • Ray Fenwick– guitars, slide guitar, vocals
  • John Gustafson– bass guitar, vocals
  • Mark Nauseef– drums, percussion
  • Mike Moran– Fender Rhodes, Hohner Clavinet, Hammond organ, ARP 2600, piano, ARP string ensemble
  • Roger Glover– synthesizer (ARP 2600), kalimba, vocals

Track listing:

  1. Lay Me Down – Ian Gillan, Ray Fenwick, Mark Nauseef, John Gustafson
  2. You Make Me Feel So Good – Ian Gillan, Mike Moran, Dave Wintour, Bernie Holland, Andy Steele
  3. Shame – Ian Gillan, Ray Fenwick, Mark Nauseef, John Gustafson
  4. My Baby Loves Me – Ian Gillan, Ray Fenwick, Mark Nauseef, Roger Glover
  5. Down the Road – Ian Gillan, Ray Fenwick, Mark Nauseef, John Gustafson, Roger Glover
  6. Child in Time – Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord, Ian Paice
  7. Let It Slide – Ian Gillan, Ray Fenwick, Mark Nauseef, John Gustafson, Mike Moran


On April 4, 2006.

On April 4, 2006, “Steamhammer” label released “The Village Lanterne”, the fifth Blackmore’s Night studio album. It was recorded 2005-2006, and was produced by Pat Regan.


  • Ritchie Blackmore– electric guitars, acoustic guitars, various drums, hurdy-gurdy
  • Candice Night– lead vocals, backing vocals, shawms, rauchpfeife,  recorder, chanters
  • Pat Reganand the Minstrel Hall Consort – keyboards
  • Sir Robert of Normandie (Robert Curiano) – bass
  • Sisters of the Moon: Lady Madeline and Lady Nancy (Madelineand Nancy Posner) – harmony vocals
  • Bard David of Larchmont(David Baranowski) – keyboards
  • Sarah Steiding– violin
  • Anton Fig– drums
  • Albert Dannemann– bagpipes, backing vocals
  • Ian Robertson, Jim Manngard – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. 25 Years – Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  2. Village Lanterne – Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  3. I Guess It Doesn’t Matter Anymore – Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  4. The Messenger – Ritchie Blackmore
  5. World of Stone – trad. arr. Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  6. Faerie Queen / Faerie Dance – Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  7. Teresa – Eric Bazilian, Rick Chertoff, Rob Hyman, Joan Osborne
  8. Village Dance – Ritchie Blackmore
  9. Mond Tanz / Child in Time – Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord, Ian Paice
  10. Streets of London – Ralph Mctell
  11. Just Call My Name (I’ll Be There) – Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  12. Olde Mill Inn – Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  13. Windmills – Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  14. Street of Dreams – Ritchie Blackmore, Joe Lynn Turner


On January 13, 1973.


On January 13, 1973, “EMI / Purple” label released “Who Do We Think We Are”, the seventh Deep Purple album. It was recorded July 1972 in Rome, and October 1972 in Frankfurt, with the “Rolling Stones Mobile Studio”, and was produced by Ritchie Blackmore, Jon Lord, Ian Paice, Ian Gillan and Roger Glover. It was band’s last album with singer Ian Gillan and bassist Roger Glover (until 1984 album “Perfect Strangers”).


  • Ritchie Blackmore– lead guitar, bass guitar
  • Jon Lord– keyboards, organ, piano
  • Ian Paice– drums, percussion
  • Ian Gillan– lead vocals
  • Roger Glover– bass guitar
  • Martin Birch – engineer
  • Roger Glover, John Coletta – cover design
  • Mixed by Ian Paice and Roger Glover

Track listing:

All tracks by Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord and Ian Paice.

  1. Woman from Tokyo
  2. Mary Long
  3. Super Trouper
  4. Smooth Dancer
  5. Rat Bat Blue
  6. Place in Line
  7. Our Lady


On June 3, 1970.


On June 3, 1970, “Harvest” label released “Deep Purple in Rock”, the fourth Deep Purple studio album. It was recorded October 1969 – April 1970, at “IBC Studios”, “De Lane Lea Studios” and “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Deep Purple. In 2005, “Classic Rock” magazine  awarded “In Rock”, with the “Classic Rock and Roll of Honor Award” in the category “Classic Album”.


  • Ritchie Blackmore – guitar
  • Jon Lord– keyboards, organ
  • Ian Paice– drums, percussion
  • Ian Gillan– lead vocals
  • Roger Glover– bass
  • Andy Knight – engineer IBC Studios
  • Martin Birch– engineer De Lane Lea
  • Phil McDonald – engineer Abbey Road Studios
  • Peter Mew– remastering
  • Tom Bender, Jason Butera – additional studio work

Track listing:

All tracks by Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord and Ian Paice.

  1. Speed King
  2. Bloodsucker
  3. Child in Time
  4. Flight of the Rat
  5. Into the Fire
  6. Living Wreck
  7. Hard Lovin’ Man