Tag Archives: David Axelrod

On September 16, 2013.

On September 16, 2013, “Columbia” label released “Rewind the Film”, the eleventh Manic Street Preachers album. It was recorded in 2013, at “Faster Studios” in Cardiff, Wales, “Rockfield Studios” in Monmouthshire, Wales, “Hansa Studios” in Berlin, Germany, and was produced by Alex Silva, Loz Williams, James Dean Bradfield, Nicky Wire, and Sean Moore.


  • James Dean Bradfield– lead vocals, lead, and rhythm guitar
  • Nicky Wire– bass guitar, vocals
  • Sean Moore– drums
  • Cate Le Bon– lead vocals
  • Lucy Rose– vocal
  • Loz Williams – keyboards, engineering, mixing
  • Gavin Fitzjohn– horn arrangement, baritone and tenor saxophone, trumpet
  • John Rey – piano
  • Richard Hawley– lead vocals, Hawaiian guitar
  • Andy Walters, Joanna Walters – violin
  • Barnard Kane – viola
  • Nathan Stone – cello
  • Tim Tautorat – celeste, string arrangement, violin, keyboards
  • Sean Read – horn arrangement, trumpets, saxophone
  • Nick Nasmyth – keyboards
  • Dave Eringa– mixing
  • Guy Massey – mixing
  • Tim Young – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks are written by James Dean Bradfield, Nick Jones, Sean Moore except where noted.

  1. This Sullen Welsh Heart
  2. Show Me the Wonder
  3. Rewind the Film – James Dean Bradfield, Nick Jones, Sean Moore, David Axelrod
  4. Builder of Routines
  5. 4 Lonely Roads
  6. (I Miss the) Tokyo Skyline
  7. Anthem for a Lost Cause
  8. As Holy as the Soil (That Buries Your Skin)
  9. 3 Ways to See Despair
  10. Running Out of Fantasy
  11. Manorbier
  12. 30-Year War

On September 2, 2001.

On September 2, 2001, Jay Migliori died aged 70. He was a musician (saxophone), a founding member of Supersax, a Charlie Parker tribute band. Some artists he performed and recorded with include Charlie Parker, Miles Davis, The Beach Boys, Frank Zappa, Frank Sinatra, Maynard Ferguson, The 5th Dimension, Cannonball Adderley, Nat Adderley, Gene Ammons, Paul Anka, David Axelrod, Hoyt Axton, The Byrds, Captain & Tennille, Harry Chapin, Leonard Cohen, Albert Collins, Dick Dale, Neil Diamond, Woody Herman, Tito Puente, The Manhattan Transfer, Harry Nilsson, Van Dyke Parks, Esther Phillips, Helen Reddy, The Righteous Brothers, The Tubes, Loudon Wainwright III, Joe Williams, Brian Wilson, and Neil Young. As a leader, Migliori released three albums.


On June 7, 2019.

On June 7, 2019, “Concord” label released “Africa Speaks”, the twenty-fifth Santana studio album. It was recorded in 2019, at “Shangri-La” in Malibu, and was produced by Rick Rubin.


  • Carlos Santana– guitars, percussion, backing vocals, executive production, conception, arrangement, musical direction
  • Buika– lead vocals
  • David K. Mathews – Hammond B3 organ, keyboards
  • Salvador Santana– keyboards
  • Tommy Anthony – guitars, musical GPS
  • Benny Rietveld – bass guitar
  • Cindy Blackman Santana– drums
  • Karl Perazzo – timbales, congas, percussion
  • Ray Greene – trombone, backing vocals
  • Laura Mvula– additional vocals
  • Andy Vargas – backing vocals
  • Greg Fidelman, Rob Bisel – recording
  • Dana Nielsen – mixing, recording
  • Sara Lynn Killion, Dylan Neustadter, Tyler Beans – assistant
  • Jim Reitzel – additional engineering
  • Stephen Marcussen – mastering
  • Dave Hanych, Eric Lynn – production coordination
  • Colin Willard, Jeremy Hatcher, Garry Purchit, Gabe Smith, Chloe Poswillo, Ethan Schneiderman – production assistant
  • Rudy Gutierrez – artwork
  • Heather Griffin-Vine – graphic art

Track listing:

  1. Afika Speaks – Carlos Santana, David Axelrod, Buika
  2. Batonga – Carlos Santana, Buika
  3. Oye Este Mi Canto – Carlos Santana, Buika, John Ademola Haastrup
  4. Yo Me Lo Merezco – Carlos Santana, Buika, Jay U Xperience, Stoneface, Drago Uboma
  5. Blue Skies – Carlos Santana, Buika, Laura Mvula, Mike Odumosu
  6. Paraisos Quemados – Carlos Santana, Buika, Mohammed Jabry
  7. Breaking Down the Door – Carlos Santana, Manu Chao, Buika, Drew Gonsalves, Ivan Duran, Rafael de Leon
  8. Les Invisibles – Carlos Santana, Buika, Rachid Taha, Steve Hillage
  9. Luna Hechicera – Carlos Santana, Buika, Ismaël Lô
  10. Bembele – Carlos Santana, Buika, Phillpp Kullmannn, Bojan Vuletic, Michael Timo Ehnes
  11. Candombe Cumbele – Carlos Santana, Buika, Easy Kabaka Brown

In November 1968.

In November 1968, “Reprise” label released “Release of an Oath”, the fourth Electric Prunes studio album. It was recorded in 1968, and was produced by David Hassinger.


  • Howard Roberts, Lou Morrell – guitar
  • Don Randi – keyboards
  • Carol Kaye – bass
  • Earl Palmer – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by David Axelrod.

  1. Kol Nidre
  2. Holy Are You
  3. General Confessional
  4. Individual Confessional
  5. Our Father, Our King
  6. The Adoration
  7. Closing Hymn

In January 1968.


In January 1968, “Reprise” label released “Mass in F Minor” the third Electric Prunes studio album. It was recorded in December 1967, and was produced by David Hassinger.


  • James Lowe – vocals
  • Ken Williams – lead guitar
  • Mike Gannon – rhythm guitar
  • Mark Tulin- bass
  • Michael “Quint” Weakley – drums
  • Richie Podolor- guitar
  • The Collectors– vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by David Axelrod.

  1. Kyrie Eleison
  2. Gloria
  3. Credo
  4. Sanctus
  5. Benedictus
  6. Agnus Dei


On August 8, 1975.


On August 8, 1975, Julian Edwin “Cannonball” Adderley died aged 46. Being alto saxophonist of the hard bop era of the 50s and 60s, he has performed and recorded with some of the most important names of jazz music, including: Kenny Clarke, Nat Adderley, Sarah Vaughan, Dinah Washington, Milt Jackson, Miles Davis, Louis Smith, Gil Evans, John Benson Brooks, Paul Chambers, Philly Joe Jones, Jon Hendricks, Jimmy Heath. Sam Jones, Eddie “Cleanhead” Vinson, Ray Brown, Oscar Peterson, Joe Williams, Gene Ammons, David Axelrod and Raul de Souza. Adderley achieved success with 1966 single “Mercy Mercy Mercy”, a crossover hit on the pop charts and was member of the “dream team” on the Miles Davis essential album Kind of Blue.