Tag Archives: Davy Spillane

On May 10, 2020.

On May 10, 2020, John Michael McKenzie died aged 64. He was musician (bass, guitar, backing vocals), member of the bands Global Village Trucking Company and Man. He recorded and performed with Eurythmics, The Pretenders, Alison Moyet, Lionel Richie, Dr. John, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Annette Peacock, Steve Hillage, Noel McCalla, Bob Young, Shusha Guppy, Wham!, Deke Leonard, Morrissey-Mullen, Claire Hamill, Space Monkey, Jim Diamond, Bob Dylan, Al Corley, Jeffrey Lee Pierce, Microdisney, Five Star, Endgames, John Mizarolli, Gary Moore, Ian Paice, Jaki Graham, Don Airey, Richard Bailey, Peter Auty, Billy Bremner, Terry Stannard, Simon Kirke, Earl Slick, Graham Lyle, Chris Thompson, Patti Austin, Latin Quarter, Phil Manzanera, Matt Bianco, Pete Brown, Helen Watson, Kevin Rowland, Shakira, David Bowie, Tina Turner, Eric Burdon, Kajagoogoo, Johnny Mathis, Everything But The Girl, Todd Sharpville, Branford Marsalis, Rui Veloso, Tim Finn, Ive Mendes, Tom Scott, David Dundas, Danny Tenaglia, The Christians, Phenix Horns, Duran Duran’s Andy Taylor, Jimmy Iovine, Dave Stewart, Wild, Leon Ware, Eternal, James Ingram, Francis Rossi, Karl Jenkins, Albert Lee, Barbara Dickson, Davy Spillane, Charles Aznavour, Raw Stylus, Linda Taylor, Blair Cunningham, Andy Newmark, Teresa Teng, Annabel Lamb, Nadirah X, Bob Clearmountain, Mitchell Froom, Arthur Louis, and Reggae Philharmonic Orchestra.

On May 9, 1994.

On May 9, 1994, “Virgin” label released “Far From Home”, the eighth and final Traffic studio album. It was recorded 1974 – 1994, at Woodstock, Kilcoole, Eire, and was produced by Steve Winwood and Jim Capaldi.


  • Steve Winwood– lead and backing vocals, organs, piano, synthesizers, lead guitar, basses, flute, saxophone, congas, timbales, programming
  • Jim Capaldi– drums, backing vocals, percussion, art direction
  • Davy Spillane- Uilleann pipes
  • Mick Dolan- rhythm guitar, AKAI S1000 programming, engineering, mixing
  • Karim Benzezour – assistant mixing engineer
  • Tim Young – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Winwood and Jim Capaldi except where noted.

  1. Riding High
  2. Here Comes a Man
  3. Far from Home
  4. Nowhere is Their Freedom
  5. Holy Ground – Stevie Winwood, Jim Capaldi, Davy Spillane
  6. Some Kinda Woman
  7. Every Night, Every Day
  8. This Train Won’t Stop
  9. State of Grace
  10. Mozambique

In April 1988.

In April 1988, “London” label released “North and South”, the sixth Gerry Rafferty studio album. It was recorded in 1988, and was produced by Gerry Rafferty and Hugh Murphy.


  • Gerry Rafferty – vocals, organ, synthesiser, piano, guitar
  • Mo Foster– bass, fretless bass
  • Andrew White– soprano saxophone
  • Jerry Donahue– guitar
  • Bryn Haworth– slide guitar
  • Geraint Watkins– accordion
  • Arran Ahmun – drums, percussion
  • Alan Clark– synthesiser, Hammond organ
  • Mel Collins– saxophone
  • Betsy Cook– electric piano
  • Ken Craddock– synthesiser, Hammond organ
  • Ian Maidman – bass
  • William Malone – strings, arranger
  • Morris Pert– percussion
  • Davy Spillane– whistle, uilleann pipes
  • Pete Zorn– bass
  • Ric Sanders– fiddle
  • Gered Mankowitz– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Rafferty

  1. North and South
  2. Moonlight and Gold
  3. Tired of Talking
  4. Hearts Run Dry
  5. A Dangerous Age
  6. Shipyard Town
  7. Winter’s Come
  8. Nothing Ever Happens Down Here
  9. On a Night Like This
  10. Unselfish Love

In March 1983.

In March 1983, “Mercury” label released “Inarticulate Speech of the Heart” the fourteenth Van Morrison studio album. It was recorded in 1982, at “The Town House” in London, “The Record Plant” in “Harbour Sound” in Sausalito, “Tres Virgos” in San Rafael and “Lombard Sound” in Dublin, and was produced by Van Morrison.


  • Van Morrison– guitar, electric piano, alto saxophone, vocals
  • David Hayes– bass
  • Mark Isham– synthesizer, trumpet
  • John Allair – organ, electric piano
  • Pee Wee Ellis– tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute
  • Tom Donlinger – percussion, drums
  • Mihr Un Nisa Douglass – backing vocals
  • Stephanie Douglass – backing vocals
  • Pauline Lozana – backing vocals
  • Arty McGlynn– acoustic guitar
  • Davy Spillane– Uilleann pipes, alto flute
  • Chris Michie– guitar
  • Annie Stocking – backing vocals
  • Bianca Thornton– backing vocals
  • Peter Van Hooke– drums, tambourine

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison.

  1. Higher than the World
  2. Connswater
  3. River of Time
  4. Celtic Swing
  5. Rave On, John Donne
  6. Inarticulate Speech of the Heart No. 1
  7. Irish Heartbeat
  8. The Street Only Knew Your Name
  9. Cry for Home
  10. Inarticulate Speech of the Heart No. 2
  11. September Night


On February 7, 1989.


On February 7, 1989, “Warner Bros.” released “Spike”, the 12th Elvis Costello studio album. It was recorded 1987 – 1988, and was produced by Elvis Costello, Kevin Killen and T-Bone Burnett.


  • Elvis Costello– vocals, acoustic guitar, bass guitar, electric guitar, mandolin, piano, bells, acoustic bass guitar, organ, melodica
  • T-Bone Burnett– acoustic guitar, bass, national steel guitar
  • Cait O’Riordan– maracas, bells
  • Derek Bell– Irish harp, hammered dulcimer
  • Frankie Gavin – fiddle
  • Dónal Lunny– acoustic guitar, bouzouki, electric bouzouki
  • Davy Spillane– pipe, uilleann pipes, Low whistle
  • Steve Wickham– fiddle
  • Christy Moore– bodhran
  • Pete Thomas– drums
  • Lionel Batiste– bass drum
  • Gregory Davis– trumpet
  • Willie Green – drums
  • Kevin Harris– tenor saxophone
  • Charles Joseph– trombone
  • Kirk Joseph– sousaphone
  • Roger Lewis– baritone saxophone, soprano saxophone
  • Jenell Marshall– snare drum
  • Allen Toussaint– grand piano
  • Efrem Towns– trumpet
  • Michael Blair – glockenspiel, marimba, tambourine, xylophone, bells, timpani, vibraphone, Chinese drums, Oldsmobilehubcap, Parade drum, anvil, whiplash, crash-box, temple bells, snare drum, “magic table”, metal pipe, “Martian dog bark”
  • Ralph Forbes – electric drums, drum programming
  • Mitchell Froom– organ, harmonium, electric piano, chamberlin,Indian harmonium
  • Roger McGuinn– twelve-string guitar, Rickenbacker bass guitar
  • Jim Keltner– tom-toms, snare drum, Chinese cymbal
  • Jerry Marotta– drums
  • Buell Neidlinger– cello, double bass
  • Marc Ribot– banjo, electric guitar, Spanish guitar, sounds
  • Jerry Scheff– electric bass, double bass, fuzz bass
  • Benmont Tench– piano, clavinet, spinet, Vox Continental
  • Tom “T-Bone” Wolk– accordion, bass
  • Chrissie Hynde– harmony vocals
  • Nick Lowe– bass
  • Paul McCartney– Hofner bass guitar, Rickenbacker bass guitar
  • Pete Thomas – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Elvis Costello, except where noted.

  1. …This Town…
  2. Let Him Dangle
  3. Deep Dark Truthful Mirror
  4. Veronica – Elvis Costello and Paul McCartney
  5. God’s Comic
  6. Chewing Gum
  7. Tramp the Dirt Down
  8. Stalin Malone
  9. Satellite
  10. Pads, Paws and Claws – Elvis Costello and Paul McCartney
  11. Baby Plays Around – Elvis Costello and Cait O’Riordan
  12. Miss Macbeth
  13. Any King’s Shilling
  14. Coal-Train Robberies
  15. Last Boat Leaving