Tag Archives: Carla Bley

On May 6, 2016.

On May 6, 2016, “ECM” label released “Andando el Tiempo”, the 28th Carla Bley album. It was recorded in November 2015, at “Auditorio Stello Molo – RSI” in Lugano, Switzerland, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Carla Bley- piano
  • Andy Sheppard- soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone
  • Steve Swallow- bass guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Carla Bley.

  1. Sin Fin
  2. Potación de Guaya
  3. Camino al Volver
  4. Saints Alive!
  5. Naked Bridges/Diving Brides

On February 13, 1986.

On February 13, 1986, “Celluloid Records” label released “Blast of Silence”, the third Golden Palominos studio album. It was recorded in 1985, at “RPM Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Anton Fier.


  • Peter Blegvad– vocals, guitars
  • Carla Bley– piano
  • Jack Bruce– vocals, bass guitar
  • T-Bone Burnett– vocals, guitar
  • Tony Conniff – bass guitar
  • Aïyb Dieng– percussion
  • Don Dixon– vocals, guitar
  • Anton Fier– drums, percussion, additional production
  • Jody Harris– guitar
  • Lisa Herman – piano
  • Robert Kidney – vocals, guitar
  • Bill Laswell– bass guitar
  • Nicky Skopelitis– guitar
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow– steel guitar
  • Larry Saltzman – acoustic guitar
  • Chris Stamey– bass guitar
  • Syd Straw– vocals
  • Matthew Sweet– vocals
  • Pat Thrall– acoustic guitar
  • Bernie Worrell– Hammond organ
  • Larry Hirsch – recording
  • Don Hünerberg – recording
  • Mike Krowiak – engineering, recording
  • Jeff Lippay – recording

Track listing:

  1. I’ve Been the One – Lowell George
  2. Something Becomes Nothing – Peter Blegvad, Anton Fier, Matthew Sweet
  3. The Push and the Shove – Robert Kidney
  4. (Something Else Is) Working Harder – Peter Blegvad, Anton Fier, Jody Harris
  5. Angels – Peter Blegvad, Anton Fier, Syd Straw
  6. Diamond – Peter Holsapple
  7. Faithless Heart – Don Dixon, Anton Fier, Jody Harris
  8. Work Was New – Peter Blegvad, Anton Fier
  9. Stromg, Simple Silence – Peter Blegvad, Anton Fier
  10. Brides of Jesus – Lowell George, Bill Payne


On September 17, 1991.

On September 17, 1991, “Restless” label released “Drunk with Passion”, the fifth Golden Palominos album. It was recorded in 1991, at “Greenpoint Studios” in Brooklyn, New York, and was produced by Anton Fier.


  • Anton Fier– drums, percussion, keyboards
  • Carla Bley– Hammond organ
  • Aïyb Dieng– percussion
  • Robert Kidney – vocals, guitar
  • Amanda Kramer– vocals, keyboards
  • Bill Laswell– bass guitar
  • Bob Mould– vocals, guitar
  • Nicky Skopelitis– acoustic and electric guitar, Dobro guitar
  • Michael Stipe– vocals
  • Richard Thompson– guitar
  • Oz Fritz – recording
  • Tom Mark – recording
  • Steve McLoughlin – recording
  • Robert Musso– recording
  • Wes Naprstek – recording
  • Billy Youdelman – recording
  • Mike Krowiak – mixing, recording
  • David Cook – mixing, recording
  • Jeff Lippay – mixing\
  • Howie Weinberg– mastering
  • John Yates – mixing
  • Vaughan Oliver – illustrations, design
  • Chris Bigg – illustrations, design

Track listing:

  1. Alive and Living Now – Anton Fier, Michael Stipe, Nicky Skopelitis
  2. The Haunting – Amanda Kramer
  3. When the Kingdom Comes – Amanda Kramer, Anton Fier, Nicky Skopelitis
  4. A Sign – Amanda Kramer, Anton Fier, Nicky Skopelitis
  5. Thunder Cries – Amanda Kramer, Anton Fier, Nicky Skopelitis
  6. Hands of Heaven – Amanda Kramer, Anton Fier, Nicky Skopelitis
  7. Dying From the Inside Out – Anton Fier, Bob Mould, Nicky Skopelitis
  8. Begin to Return – Robert Kidney


On April 20, 2012.

On April 20, 2012, “ECM” label released “Wisteria”, the thirty-first Steve Kuhn album. It was recorded in September 2011, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Steve Kuhn- piano
  • Steve Swallow- bass guitar
  • Joey Baron- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Kuhn, except where noted.

  1. Chalet
  2. Adagio
  3. Morning Dew
  4. Romance – Dori Caymmi
  5. Permanent Wave – Carla Bley
  6. A Likely Story
  7. Pastorale
  8. Wisteria – Art Farmer
  9. Dark Glasses – Steve Swallow
  10. Promises Kept
  11. Good Lookin’ Rookie – Steve Swallow

On October 25, 2014.


On October 25, 2014, John Symon Asher “Jack” Bruce aka Jack Bruce died aged 71. Being musician, singer and songwriter, he is best known as member and bass player of Cream. In his more than five decades long career, Bruce has performed and recorded with various famous musician including: Alexis Corner, Graham Bond, John Mayall, Manfred Mann, Eric Clapton, Ginger Baker, Michael Gibbs, Tony Williams, Leslie West, Corky Laing, Carla Bley, Lou Reed, Michael Mantler, Charlie Mariano, John McLaughlin, Cozy Powell, Bernie Marsden, Trevor Rabin, Robin Trower, Mose Allison, Allan Holdsworth, Kip Hanrahan, Mark Nauseef, Miroslav Tadic, Anton Fier, Kenji Suzuki, Dick Heckstall – Smith, John Stevens, Vernon Reid, Cindy Blackman and John Medeski. In March 2011, “Rolling Stone” magazine  readers selected Bruce as the eighth greatest bass guitarist of all time.

On May 25, 1984.

Eric Gale

On May 25, 1984, Eric J. Gale died aged 55. Being jazz and session guitarist, as a leader he recorded twelve albums, and has performed and recorded with some of the biggest names of the music scene, including Clark Terry, Oliver Nelson, Jimmy McGriff, Benny Golson, Van Morrison, Bernard Purdie, Herbie Mann, Yusuf Lateef, Chico Hamilton, Sonny Stitt, Quincy Jones, Al Kooper, Lena Horn, Gabor Szabo, Freddie Hubbard, Dizzy Gillespie, Esther Philips, Chuck Rainey, Johnny Hammond, Stanley Turrentine,  David Newman, Hank Crawford, Grover Washington, Jr., Roberta Flack, Stanley Turrentine, Hubert Laws, Bob James, Joe Higgs, Van McCoy, Ron Carter, George Benson, Phil Upchurch, Tom Scott, Idris Muhammad, Ashford & Simpson, Cedar Walton, Stanley Turrentine, Blood, Sweat & Tears,  Paul Butterfield, Joe Cocker, Lalo Schifrin, Randy Crawford, Rainbow, Lalo Schifrin, Patti Austin, Maynard Ferguson, Ralph MacDonald, Essra Mohawk, Carla Bley, Pee Wee Ellis, Art Farmer, Tom Scott, Jeremy Steig, Joe Farrell, Kenny Loggins, David Matthews and David Ruffin.

On May 3, 1981.


On May 3, 1981, “Harvest” label released “Nick Mason’s Fictitious Sports”, the debut Nick Mason solo album. It was recorded in October 1979,, at “Grog Kill Studios” in New York City and was produced by Carla Bley and Nick Mason.


  • Nick Mason– drums, percussion,  assistant recording engineer
  • Carla Bley– keyboards
  • Robert Wyatt– vocals
  • Karen Kraft– lead vocal, duet vocal, backing vocals
  • Chris Spedding– guitars
  • Steve Swallow– bass guitar
  • Michael Mantler– trumpets, recording engineer
  • Gary Windo– tenor, bass clarinet, flute, additional voices
  • Gary Valente– trombones, additional voices
  • Howard Johnson– tuba
  • Terry Adams– piano, harmonica, clavinet
  • Carlos Ward– additional voices
  • Sharpe – additional voices
  • Vincent Chancey– additional voices
  • Earl McIntyre – additional voices
  • James Guthrie– mixing engineer
  • Hipgnosis & Geoff Halpin – cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Carla Bley.

  1. Can’t Get My Motor to Start
  2. I Was Wrong
  3. Siam
  4. Hot River
  5. Boo To You Too
  6. Do Ya?
  7. Wervin’
  8. I’m a Mineralis