Tag Archives: David Bowie

On December 26, 2012.

On December 26, 2012, Fontella Marie Bass died aged 72. She was musician (piano, singer) and songwriter, collaborated with Little Milton, Bobby McClure (The Oliver Sain Soul Revue featuring Fontella and Bobby McClure), Maurice White, David Bowie, Minnie Ripeton and Art Ensemble of Chicago. She recorded 8 albums during her career.


On December 20, 2013.

On December 20, 2013, David Richards died aged 57. He was musician (keyboards), engineer and record producer, who engineered and co-produced albums for many artists, including David Bowie, Queen, Roger Taylor, Chris Rea, Jimmy Nail, Feargal Sharkey, Iggy Pop, Magnum, Virginia Wolf, The Cross, Freddie Mercury, Montserrat Caballé, Yes, Brian May and Duran Duran.


On May 8, 2007.

On May 8, 2007, “Heads Up” label released “Prog”, the fifth Bad Plus studio album. It was recorded in September 2006, at “Pachyderm Studio” in Cannon Falls, Minnesota, and was produced by Tony Plat, Orrin Evans, Reid Anderson and Dave King.


  • Orrin Evans – piano
  • Reid Anderson – bass
  • Dave King – drums
  1. Everybody Wants to Rule the World – Chris Hughes, Roland Orzabal, Ian Stanley
  2. Physical Cities – Reid Anderson
  3. Life on Mars? – David Bowie
  4. Mint – Ethan Iverson
  5. Giant – Reid Anderson
  6. Thriftstore Jewelry – David King
  7. Tom Sawyer – Pye Dubois, Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson, Neil Peart
  8. This Guy’s in Love with You – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  9. The World is the Same – Reid Anderson
  10. 1980 World Champion – Dave King

On January 13, 2017.

On January 13, 2017, “Universal Music Group” label released “Piano Portraits”, album by Rick Wakeman. It was recorded July – August 2016, at “The Old Granary Studio” in Norfolk, UK, and was produced by Rick Wakeman.


  • Rick Wakeman– Steinway Model D concert grand piano
  • Erik Jordan – engineer
  • Ian Brown – project co-ordinator
  • Stylorouge – design
  • Rob O’Connor – photographer
  • Dick Beetham – mastering at 360 Mastering

Track listing:

  1. Help – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  2. Stairway to Heaven – Robert Plant, Jimmy Page
  3. Life on Mars – David Bowie
  4. I’m Not in Love – Eric Stewart, Graham Gouldman
  5. Wonderous Stories – Jon Anderson
  6. Berceuse – Gabriel Fauré, arr. Rick Wakeman
  7. Amazing Grace – traditional, arr. by Rick Wakeman
  8. Swan Lake – Peter Tchaikovsky, arr. by Rick Wakeman
  9. Morning Has Broken – traditional, arr. by Rick Wakeman
  10. Summertime – George Gershwin
  11. Space Oddity – David Bowie
  12. Dance of the Damselflies – Rick Wakeman
  13. Clair de Lune – Claude Debussy, arr. by Rick Wakeman
  14. I Vow to Thee, My Country – Gustav Holst, arr. by Rick Wakeman
  15. Eleanor Rigby – John Lennon, Paul McCartney

On September 2, 1991.

On September 2, 1991, “Victory Music” label released “Tin Machine II”m the second Tin Machine album. It was recorded 1989 – 1991, in Sydney and Los Angeles, and was produced by Tim Palmer, Hugh Padgham, David Bowie, Reeves Gabrels, Hunt Sales, Tony Sales, Kevin Armstrong and Tim Palmer.


  • David Bowie– lead vocals, guitar, piano, saxophone
  • Reeves Gabrels– lead guitar, backing vocals, vibrators, organ
  • Hunt Sales– drums, percussion, backing and lead vocals
  • Tony Sales– bass, backing vocals
  • Kevin Armstrong– rhythm guitar, piano
  • Tim Palmer– percussion, additional piano

Track listing:

All tracks by David Bowie and Reeves Gabrels except where noted.

  1. Baby Universal
  2. One Shot – David Bowie, Reeves Gabrels, Hunt Sales, Tony Sales
  3. You Belong in Rock n’ Roll
  4. If There Is Something – Bryan Ferry
  5. Amlapura
  6. Betty Wrong
  7. You Can’t Talk – David Bowie, Reeves Gabrels, Hunt Sales, Tony Sales
  8. Stateside – David Bowie, Hunt Sales
  9. Shopping for Girls
  10. A Big Hurt – David Bowie
  11. Sorry – Hunt Sales
  12. Goodbye Mr. Ed – David Bowie, Hunt Sales, Tony Sales
  13. Hammerhead (hidden track) – David Bowie, Hunt Sales



On September 1, 1984.

On September 1, 1984, “EMI America” label released “Tonight”, the sixteenth David Bowie studio album. It was recorded May – June 1984, at “Le Studio” in Quebec, Canada, and was produced by David Bowie, Derek Bramble and Hugh Padgham.


  • David Bowie– vocals
  • Derek Bramble – guitar; guitar synthesizer; bass guitar; synthesiser; backing vocals
  • Carlos Alomar– guitars
  • Omar Hakim– drums
  • Carmine Rojas– bass guitar
  • Guy St. Onge – marimba
  • Sammy Figueroa– percussion
  • Tina Turner– lead vocals
  • Iggy Pop– backing
  • Robin Clark, George Simms, Curtis King – backing vocals

The Borneo Horns

  • Stanley Harrison– alto saxophone; tenor saxophone
  • Lenny Pickett– tenor saxophone; clarinet
  • Steve Elson – baritone saxophone
  • Arif Mardin– string arrangements; synthesisers

Track listing:

  1. Loving the Alien – David Bowie
  2. Don’t Look Down – Iggy Pop, James Williamson
  3. God Only Knows – Brian Wilson, Tony Asher
  4. Tonight – David Bowie, Iggy Pop, Ricky Gardiner
  5. Neighborhood Threat – David Bowie, Iggy Pop, Ricky Gardiner
  6. Blue Jean – David Bowie
  7. Tumble and Twirl – David Bowie, Iggy Pop
  8. I Keep Forhettin – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  9. Dancing With the Big Boys – David Bowie, Carlos Alomar

On July 6, 2006.

On July 6, 2006, “4AD” label released “Return to Cookie Mountain”, the second TV on the Radio studio album. It was recorded in 2006, and was produced by David Andrew Sitek.


  • Kyp Malone – vocals, bass, guitar
  • David Bowie, Kazu Makino, Omega “C Taylor” Moon, Katrina Ford, Shanina Robinson – vocals
  • David Andrew Sitek – samples, guitars, bass, flute, keys, synth, magic
  • Gerard Smith – piano, drums, bass, electric sitar
  • Jaleel Bunton – drums, guitars, piano, percussion, Rhodes
  • Jeremy Wilms – cello
  • Martin Perna – baritone saxophone
  • Tunde Adebimpe – vocals, percussion
  • Choir – Jaleel Bunton, Akwetey & Aku Orraca-Tetteh, Devang Shah, Aaron Aites, Tunde Adebimpe, Gerard Smith
  • Akwetey, Aku, Devang Shah (Dragons of Zynth) – percussion
  • Martin Perna, Chris Taylor – horns
  • Stuart D. Bogie – bass harmonica, bass clarinet
  • Chris Taylor – clarinet, horn arrangements

Track listing:

  1. I Was a Lover – Kyp Malone, David Andrew Sitek
  2. Hours – Tunde Adebimpe
  3. Province – Kip Malone, David Andrew Sitek
  4. Playhouses – Kip Malone
  5. Wolf Like Me – Tunde Adebimpe
  6. A Method – Tunde Adebimpe
  7. Let the Devil In – Kip Malone
  8. Dirtywhirl – Tunde Adebimpe
  9. Blues from Down Here – Kip Malone
  10. Tonight – Tunde Adebimpe
  11. Wash the Day – Kip Malone, David Andrew Sitek, Tunde Adebimpe

Samples used:

  • Teardrop by Massive Attack
  • Lou Reed’s 1975 album Metal Machine Music