Tag Archives: Sun Ra

On March 10, 1995.

On March 10, 1995, “Atlantic” label released “The Real Quiet Storm”, the third James Carter studio album. It was recorded October – November 1994, at “Power Station” in New York City, and was produced by Yves Beauvais.


  • James Carter – soprano, alto, tenor and baritone saxophone, bass flute, bass clarinet
  • Craig Taborn – piano
  • Dave Holland – bass
  • Jaribu Shahid – bass
  • Leon Parker – drums
  • Tani Tabbal – drums

 Track listing:

  1. Round Midnight – Thelonious Monk
  2. You Never Told Me That You Care – Hobart Dotson, Sun Ra
  3. The Intimacy of My Woman’s Beautiful Eyes – James Carter
  4. 1944 Stomp – Don Byas
  5. The Stevedore’s Serenade – Duke Ellington, Irving Gordon
  6. Born to Be Blue – Mel Tormé, Robert Wells
  7. Deep Throat Blues – James Carter
  8. A Ballad for a Doll – Jackie McLean
  9. Eventide – Bill Doggett

On October 19, 1995.

On October 19, 1995, Donald Eugene Cherry died aged 58. He was a musician (trumpet), one of the pioneers in world fusion in the 60s and 70s. Cherry recorded and performed with a number of musicians and bands including Ornette Coleman, Paul Bley, Sonny Rollins, New York Contemporary Five, Naná Vasconcelos, La Monte Young, Abdullah Ibrahim, Carla Bley, Charlie Haden, Allen Ginsberg, Charles Brackeen, Codona, Albert Ayler, Clifford Jordan, Steve Lacy, Michael Mantler, Sunny Murray, Jim Pepper, George Russell, Sun Ra, Lou Reed, Charlie Rouse, Albert Heath, James Mtume, Herbie Hancock, Ed Blackwell, Steve Hillage, Collin Walcott, Latif Khan, Johnny Dyani, Masahiko Togashi, Bengt Berger, Rip Rig + Panic, Bengt Berger Bitter Funeral Beer Band, Dag Vag, Frank Lowe, Jai Uttal, and Ed Blackwell.

On February 15, 2005.

On February 15, 2005, “Narada” label released “Flipside”, the twelfth Jeff Lorber studio album. It was recorded in 2004, and was produced by Jeff Lorber and Steve Dubin.


  • Jeff Lorber – Fender Rhodes, guitar, keyboards, piano, Wah Wah guitar, Wurlitzer
  • Steve Dubin – bass, drum programming
  • Eric Wall – guitar
  • Robbie Nevil – guitar
  • Andrea Martin – background vocals
  • Paul Jackson, Jr. – acoustic and electric guitar
  • Nelson Jackson – horn, keyboards, synthesizer bass
  • Gary Meek – flute, soprano and tenor saxophone
  • Alex Al – bass
  • John Roberts – drums
  • Lenny Castro – percussion, congas
  • Ron King – trumpet
  • David Mann – saxophones, horn arrangements
  • Victor Lawrence – cello
  • Connie Cage – design

Track listing:

  1. Ooh la La
  2. Everybody Knows That
  3. By My Side
  4. Flipside
  5. Santa Monica Triangle
  6. Sun Ra
  7. Angel in Paris
  8. Bombay café
  9. Tune 88
  10. Enchanted Way

On August 14, 1978.

On August 14, 1978, “Philly Jazz” label released “Lanquidity”, the 49th Sun Ra studio album. It was recorded on July 17, 1978, at “Blank tapes Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Sun Ra.


  • Sun Ra – vocals, organ, synthesizer, piano, keyboards, Hammond organ, electric piano, bells, Arp, Fender Rhodes, orchestra bells, Mini Moog, arranger
  • John Gilmore –  tenor saxophone
  • Danny Ray Thompson – flute, baritone saxophone
  • Eddie Gale – trumpet
  • Michael Ray – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Marshall Allen – flute, oboe, alto saxophone
  • Luqman Ali – percussion
  • Michael Anderson – percussion
  • Artaukatune – drums, tympani
  • Disco Kid ( Slo Johnson ) – guitar
  • Dale Williams – guitar
  • Atakatun Odun –  congas
  • Elo Omoe – Flute, bass clarinet
  • Julian Pressley – baritone saxophone
  • James Jacson – oboe, basson, flute, voices
  • June Tyson -voices

Track listing:

All tracks by Sun Ra.

  1. Lanquidity
  2. Where Pathways Meet
  3. That’s How I Feel
  4. Twin Stars of Thence
  5. There Are Other Worlds (They Have Not Told You Of)


On June 12, 2001.

On June 12, 2001, “Ropeadope Records” label released the self-titled, debut The Philadelphia Experiment album. It was recorded September 25-27, 2000, and was produced by Aaron Levinson and Andy Blackman Hurwitz.


  • Uri Caine– electric piano, acoustic piano, organ
  • Christian McBride– acoustic and electric bass
  • Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson– drums
  • Pat Martino– electric guitar
  • John Swana– trumpet
  • Larry Gold – cello, arrangement

Track listing:

  1. Philadelphia Experiment – Uri Caine
  2. Grover – Uri Caine
  3. Lesson #4 – Uri Caine, Christian McBride, Ahmir Thompson
  4. Call for All Demos – Sun Ra
  5. Trouble Man Theme – Marvin Gaye
  6. Ain’t It the Truth – Uri Caine, Christian McBride, Ahmir Thompson
  7. IIe Ife – Sherman Ferguson
  8. The Miles Hit – Uri Caine, Christian McBride, Ahmir Thompson
  9. (Re) Moved – Uri Caine, Christian McBride, Ahmir Thompson
  10. Philadelphia Freedom – Elton John, Bernie Taupin
  11. Mister Magic – Ralph MacDonald, William Salter

On April 7, 2017.

On April 7, 2017, “Modern Harmonic” label released “Thunder of the Gods”, album by Sun Ra and His Arkestra, featuring unreleased live and studio tracks. It was recorded 1966 – 1971, at “Slug’s Saloon” in New York City.


  • Sun Ra– Moog, Intergalactic space organ, Lightening drum, strings
  • Marshall Allen– alto saxophone, oboe, piccolo flute, strings
  • Ronnie Boykins– bass, viola, dutar
  • Robert Cummings – strings
  • Danny Davis – alto saxophone, clarinet, strings
  • Akh Tal Ebar, Kwami Hadi – trumpet
  • John Gilmore– tenor saxophone, strings
  • Ali Hassan – trombone, strings
  • Lex Humphries– drums
  • James Jacson – oboe, flute, log drums, strings
  • Clifford Jarvis– percussion
  • Art Jenkins, Carl Nimrod – strings
  • Eloe Omoe – bass clarinet, strings
  • Pat Patrick– baritone saxophone, strings
  • Danny Ray Thompson – baritone saxophone, flute
  • Charles Stevens – trombone
  • June Tyson– vocals
  • Alzo Wright – cello

Track listing:

All tracks by Sun Ra

  1. Calling Planet Earth – We’ll Wait for You
  2. Moonshots Across the Sky
  3. Thunder of the Gods

On September 6, 1978.

On September 6, 1978, Thomas Blanchard “Tom” Wilson Jr. died aged 47. He was producer best known for his work with Bob Dylan, The Mothers of Invention, The Fraternity of Man, Simon and Garfunkel, the Velvet Underground, Cecil Taylor, Sun Ra, Eddie Harris, Nico, Eric Burdon & the Animals, the Blues Project, the Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem and Soft Machine.

On May 30, 1993.

Sun Ra Brecon Jazz Festival  August 1990 England

On May 30, 1993, Herman Poole Blount aka Sun Ra died aged 79. Being jazz composer, bandleader, musician (piano and synthesizer), poet and philosopher, he is best known for his “Cosmic philosophy”, pioneer of “Afrofuturism” and as a leader of “The Arkestra”, an ensemble with an ever-changing name and flexible line-up.