Tag Archives: 1980

On May 30, 1980.

On May 30, 1980, “Jet” label released “G-Force”, the fourth Gary Moore album. It was recorded December 1979 – January 1980. At “Cherokee Studios” in Hollywood, “Record Plant” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Gary Moore, Mark Nauseef, Willie Dee and Tony Newton.


  • Gary Moore– lead and backing vocals, guitars, keyboards, string arrangements
  • Willie Dee – lead and backing vocals, bass, keyboards, Korgbass synthesizer
  • Tony Newton– bass guitar, string arrangements
  • Mark Nauseef– drums, percussion, percussion syntesiszer
  • Joachim Kuhn– additional keyboards
  • Tom Scott– saxophone, string arrangements
  • Thee Ox – marimba
  • Mack, Mark Sackett, Tom La Tondre – engineers
  • Dennis Mackay – remixing
  • Moshe Brakha – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Gary Moore, except where noted.

  1. You
  2. White Knuckles / Rockin’ and Rollin’ – Gary Moore, Mark Nauseef
  3. She’s Got You – Gary Moore, Mark Nauseef
  4. I Look at You
  5. Because of Your Love – Tony Newton, Willie Dee, Duane Hitchings
  6. You Kissed Me Sweetly – Gary Moore, Tony Newton, Willie Dee
  7. Hot Gossip
  8. The Woman’s in Love
  9. Dancin’ – Gary Moore, Mark Nauseef, Tony Newton, Willie Dee

On March 30, 2020.

On March 30, 2020, William Harrison Withers Jr. aka Bill Withers died aged 81. He was singer-songwriter and musician (guitar, keyboards), active from 1970 until 1985. He composed and recorded several major hits, including “Ain’t No Sunshine” (1971), “Grandma’s Hands” (1971), “Use Me” (1972), “Lean on Me” (1972), “Lovely Day” (1977), and “Just the Two of Us” (1980). Withers won three “Grammy Awards” (1971, 1981, 1987), “ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Heritage” award (2006), was inducted into “West Virginia Music Hall of Fame” (2007), was inducted into “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame(2015), and received honorary degree from West Virginia University.

On April 1, 1980.

On April 1, 1980, “ECM” label released “Full Force”, the 27th Art Ensemble of Chicago album. It was recorded in January 1980, at “Columbia Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Lester Bowie– trumpet, celeste, bass drum
  • Malachi Favors– double bass, percussion, melodica
  • Joseph Jarman– vocal, saxophone, clarinet, percussion
  • Roscoe Mitchell– saxophone, clarinet, flute, percussion
  • Don Moye– vocal, drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Magg Zelma – Malachi Favors
  2. Carefree – Roscoe Mitchell
  3. Charlie M – Lester Bowie
  4. Ol’ Time Southside Street Dance – Joseph Jarman
  5. Full Force – Joseph Jarman, Roscoe Mitchell, Don Moye, Lester Bowie, Malachi Favors

In February 1980.

In February 1980, “Arista” label released “1980”, album by Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson. It was recorded August – October 1979, and was produced by Malcolm Cecil, Brian Jackson and Gil Scott-Heron.


  • Brian Jackson – acoustic piano, arrangements, backing vocals, drums, electric piano, kettle drums, keyboard bass, synthesizer, O.N.T.O. synthesizer
  • Gil Scott-Heron – vocals
  • Gordon Goodwin– horns
  • Marlo Henderson– guitar
  • Ed Brady – guitar
  • Harvey Mason– drums
  • Denis Sirias – horns
  • Bill Watrous– horns
  • Carl Cornwell – flute, saxophone
  • Marti McCall – backing vocals
  • Julia Waters – backing vocals
  • Maxine Waters Waddell – backing vocals
  • Malcolm Cecil– engineering, mixing
  • Donn Davenport – art direction
  • John Ford – cover photo
  • Ron Kellum – art direction

Track listing:

All tracks by Gil Scott-Heron, except where noted.

  1. Shut ‘Um Down
  2. Alien (Hold On to Your Dreams)
  3. Willing
  4. Corners – lyrics by Gil Scott-Heron, music by Brian Jackson
  5. 1980
  6. Push Comes to Shove
  7. Shah MOT (The Shah Is Dead/Checkmate)
  8. Late Last Night


On February 17, 1981.

On February 17, 1981, “PGP RTB” label released “Beskonačno”, the fourth Leb i sol studio album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Josip Boček.


  • Vlatko Stefanovski– vocals, guitars
  • Bodan Arsovski – bass guitar
  • Garabet Tavitijan – drums
  • Stjepko Gut – flugelhorn
  • Tahir Durkalić – recording engineer
  • Grčev Miroslav – design
  • Lazo Plavevski – photography
  • Ivo Veljanov – photography

Track listing:

  1. Hars – Garabet Tavitijan
  2. Skakavac – Bodan Arsovski
  3. Živa rana – lyrics by Goran Stefanovski, music by Vlatko Stefanovski
  4. Ajde sonce zajde – traditional, arranged by Vlatko Stefanovski, Bodan Arsovski, Garabet Tavitijan
  5. Beli mrak – lyrics by Goran Stefanovski, music by Vlatko Stefanovski
  6. Neplaćena struja – Garabet Tavitijan
  7. U tom je stvar – Bodan Arsovski
  8. Stomačne vijuge – Vlatko Stefanovski
  9. Kasno popodne – Garabet Tavitijan

On February 9, 1980.

On February 9, 1980, “ZE” label released “Queen of Siam”, the debut Lydia Lunch album. It was recorded in 1979, at “Blank Tape Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Bob Blank and Lydia Lunch.


  • Lydia Lunch – vocals, guitar, piano, arrangements
  • Dougie Bowne – drums
  • Pat Irwin– backing vocals, instruments, arrangement
  • Robert Quine– guitar
  • Jack Ruby (George Scott III)– bass guitar
  • Billy Ver Planck – arrangements with Billy Ver Planck Orchestra
  • Bob Blank – mixing, recording
  • Michael Zilkha- executive producer
  • George DuBose – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Lydia Lunch, except where noted.

  1. Mechanical Flattery
  2. Gloomy Sunday – Sam M. Lewis, Rezső Seress
  3. Tied and Twist
  4. Spooky – Buddy Buie, James Cobb, Harry Middlebrooks, Jr., Mike Shapiro
  5. Los Banditos
  6. Atomic Bongos – Pat Irwin, Lydia Lunch
  7. Lady Scarface
  8. A Cruise to the Moon
  9. Carnival Fat Man
  10. Knives in the Drain – Grant, Lydia Lunch
  11. Blood of Tin

On January 28, 1980.

On January 28, 1980, “Virgin” label released “Terminal Jive”, the ninth Sparks album. It was recorded in 1979, and was produced by Giorgio Moroder and Harold Faltermeyer.


  • Russell Mael- vocals
  • Ron Mael- keyboards
  • G. Snuffy Walden- guitar
  • Richie Zito- bass guitar
  • Harold Faltermeyer- keyboards
  • Keith Forsey- drums
  • Laurie Forsey – backing vocals
  • Brian Reeves, Dennis Drake – engineer
  • Gered Mankowitz- photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Ron Mael and Russell Mael, except where noted.

  1. When I’m With You
  2. Just Because You Love Me
  3. Rock ’n’ Roll People in a Disco World
  4. When I’m With You
  5. Young Girls
  6. Noisy Boys – Harold Faltemeyer, Keith Forsey, Ron Mael, Russell Mael
  7. Stereo – Giorgio Moroder, Ron Mael, Russell Mael
  8. The Greatest Show on Earth – Giorgio Moroder, Harold Faltemeyer, Ron Mael, Russell Mael