Tag Archives: September

On April 20, 2012.

On April 20, 2012, “ECM” label released “Wisteria”, the thirty-first Steve Kuhn album. It was recorded in September 2011, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Steve Kuhn- piano
  • Steve Swallow- bass guitar
  • Joey Baron- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Kuhn, except where noted.

  1. Chalet
  2. Adagio
  3. Morning Dew
  4. Romance – Dori Caymmi
  5. Permanent Wave – Carla Bley
  6. A Likely Story
  7. Pastorale
  8. Wisteria – Art Farmer
  9. Dark Glasses – Steve Swallow
  10. Promises Kept
  11. Good Lookin’ Rookie – Steve Swallow

On March 23, 1983.

On March 23, 1983, “Phillips” label released “Passion, Grace & Fire”, the second John McLaughlin, Al Di Meola and Paco de Lucía album. It was recorded September – October 1982, at “Marcus Music” in London, and was produced by John McLaughlin, Al Di Meola and Paco de Lucía.


  • John McLaughlin- nylon-string guitar.
  • Al Di Meola- Ovation steel-string acoustic guitar.
  • Paco de Lucía- nylon-string guitar.
  • Marco Utano, Dennis MacKay, Brian Davies, Femi Jiya, Caryl Wheeler, Francis Manzella – engineer
  • George Marino – mastering
  • Andrew Ellis, Rob Brimson – photography

Track listing:

  1. Aspan – John McLaughlin
  2. Orient Blue Suite – Al Di Meola
    • Part I
    • Part II
    • Part III
  3. Chiquito – Paco de Lucía
  4. Sichia – Paco de Lucía
  5. David – John McLaughlin
  6. Passion, Grace & Fire – Al Di Meola

On February 9, 1979.

On February 9, 1979, “Arista” label released “Downwind”, the third Pierre Moerlen’s Gong album (it was the first to be released under that name, the previous two having been released as Gong albums for contractual reasons). It was recorded June – September 1978, and was produced by Pierre Moerlen.


  • Pierre Moerlen– lead vocals, drums, vibraphone, marimba, concert toms, timpani, organ, synthesizer, electric piano, assorted percussion
  • Hansford Rowe– bass
  • Ross Record – vocals, guitar
  • Benoît Moerlen– vibraphon
  • François Causse – percussion
  • Didier Lockwood– violin
  • Didier Malherbe– saxophone
  • Mike Oldfield- guitar, solina strings, bass, Irish drum
  • Steve Winwood– synthesizer
  • Terry Oldfield– flute
  • Mick Taylor- guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Pierre Moerlen, except where noted.

  1. Aeroplane – Pierre Moerlen, Ruan O’Lochlain
  2. Crosscurrents
  3. Downwind
  4. Jin-Go-Lo-Ba – Babatunde Olatunji
  5. What You Know – Pierre Moerlen, Ruan O’Lochlain
  6. Emotions
  7. Xtasea


On February 1, 1999.

On February 1, 1999, “Output” label released “Dialogue”, the debut Kieran Hebden, under his alias Four Tet, studio album. It was recorded October 1997 – September 1998, and was produced by Kieran Hebden.


  • Kieran Hebden – Electronic, keyboards, drums, guitar
  • Jason Evans – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Kieran Hebden.

  1. The Space of Two Weeks
  2. Chiron
  3. Alambradas
  4. 3 Degrees from the Pole
  5. Misnomer
  6. Liquefaction
  7. She Scanned
  8. Calamine
  9. The Butterfly Effect

In January 1971.

In January 1971, “Warner Bros” label released the self-titled, debut Little Feat album. It was recorded August – September 1970,  at “United Western Recorders” and “The Record Plant” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Russ Titelman.


  • Lowell George– lead and backing vocals, alead, rhythm and slide guitars, harmonica
  • Bill Payne– lead and backing, keyboards, piano
  • Roy Estrada– bass, backing vocals
  • Richard Hayward– drums, backing vocals
  • Russ Titelman– percussion, backing vocals, piano
  • Ry Cooder– slide guitar
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow– pedal steel
  • Kirby Johnson – string and horn arrangements

Track listing:

  1. Snakes on Everything – Bill Payne
  2. Strawberry Flats – Bill Payne, Lowell George
  3. Truck Stop Girl – Bill Payne, Lowell George
  4. Brides of Jesus – Bill Payne, Lowell George
  5. Willin’ – Lowel George
  6. Hamburger Midnight – Lowell George, Roy Estrada
  7. Forty-Four Blues/ How Many More Years – Roosevelt Sykes, Chester Burnett
  8. Crack in Your Door – Lowell George
  9. I’ve Been the One – Lowell George
  10. Takin’ My Time – Bill Payne
  11. Crazy Captain Gunboat Willie – Bill Payne, Lowell George

On January 24, 1995.

On January 24, 1995, “Warner Bros” label released “Balance”, the tenth Van Halen studio album. It was recorded May – September, 1994, at “5150 Studios” in Studio City, “Little Mountain Sound Studios” in  Vancouver, and was produced by Bruce Fairbairn. In 2004, the album was certified 3 x Platinum, in US by the “RIAA”.


  • Eddie Van Halen– lead guitar, keyboards, background vocals
  • Michael Anthony– bass, background vocals
  • Sammy Hagar– lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Alex Van Halen– drums, percussion
  • Steve Lukather– background vocals
  • The Monks of Gyuto Tantric University – chants
  • Mike Fraser– mixing
  • George Marino – mastering
  • Erwin Musper – engineer
  • Mike Plotnikoff – engineer
  • Jeri Heiden – art direction
  • Randee Saint Nicholas – photography
  • Glen Wexler – photography (front cover)

Track listing:

All tracks by Eddie Van Halen, Michael Anthony, Sammy Hagar  and  Alex Van Halen.

  1. The Seventh Seal
  2. Can’t Stop Lovin’ You
  3. Don’t Tell Me (What Love Can Do)
  4. Amsterdam
  5. Big Fat Money
  6. Strung Out
  7. Not Enough
  8. Aftershock
  9. Doin’ Time
  10. Baluchitherium
  11. Take Me Back (Déjà Vu)
  12. Feelin’

On January 14, 1980.

On January 14, 1980, “Anthem” label released “Permanent Waves”, the seventh Rush studio album. It was recorded September – October 1979, at “Le Studio” in Morin Heights, Quebec, Canada, and was produced by Terry Brown, Gaddy Lee, Alex Lifeson and Neil Peart.


  • Geddy Lee– lead vocals, bass guitar, Oberheim polyphonic, Minimoog, Taurus pedal synthesizer, OB-1
  • Alex Lifeson– electric and acoustic six- and twelve-string guitars, Taurus pedals
  • Neil Peart– drums, timpani, timbales, orchestra bells, tubular bells, wind chimes, bell tree, triangle, crotales, cover concept
  • Erwig Chuapchuaduah – steel drums
  • Hugh Syme– piano, art direction, design, cover concept
  • Deborah Samuel – photography
  • Fin Costello – photography
  • Flip Schulke – photography
  • Terry Brown– arranger, mixing
  • Paul Northfield– engineer
  • Robbie Whelan – assistant engineer
  • Craig Milliner – mixing assistant
  • Adam Moseley – mixing assistant
  • Ray Staff– mastering
  • Paula Turnbull – cover girl
  • Robert Gage – hairdresser to the cover girl

Track listing:

All lyrics by Neil Peart, except where noted, all music by Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson.

  1. The Spirit of Radio
  2. Freewill
  3. Jacob’s Ladder
  4. Entre Nous
  5. Different Strings – lyrics by Geddy Lee
  6. Natural Science

I: Tide Pools

II: Hyperspace

III: Permanent Waves