Tag Archives: Mike Howlett

On February 13, 1976.

On February 13, 1976, “Virgin” label released “Shamal”, the sixth Gong studio album. It was recorded in December 1975, at “Basing Street Studios” and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Nick Mason.


  • Mike Howlett– bass guitar, vocals
  • Didier Malherbe– tenor sax, soprano sax, flute, bansuri, gongs
  • Mireille Bauer– marimba, glockenspiel, xylophone, percussion, gongs
  • Pierre Moerlen– drums, vibraphone, tubular bells
  • Patrice Lemoine – organ, piano, synthesizer
  • Steve Hillage– acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Miquette Giraudy, Sandy Colley – vocals
  • Jorge Pinchevsky – violin
  • Phil Ault, Dave Hutchins, Ben Tavera King, Rick Curtain, Ben King: engineer
  • Clive Arrowsmith: artwork, photography

Track listing:

  1. Wingful of Eyes – Mike Howlett
  2. Chandra – Patrice Lemoine
  3. Bambooji – Didier Malherbe
  4. Cat in Clark’s Shoes – Didier Malherbe
  5. Mandrake – Pierre Moerlen
  6. Shamal – Mike Howlett, Didier Malherbe, Patrice Lemoine, Mireille Bauer

In June 1981.

In June 1981, “T Records” label released “A Product of … ”, the debut Thompson Twins album.  It was recorded in April 1981, and was produced by Dennis Bovell, Mike Howlett, Tom Bailey, Chris Bell, Peter Dodd, Joe Leeway, John Roog and Jane Shorter.


  • Tom Bailey– bass, lead vocals, keyboards, percussion, reeds
  • Chris Bell – drums, backing vocals, percussion
  • Peter Dodd – guitar, backing vocals, percussion, saxophone
  • Joe Leeway– congas, backing vocals, percussion
  • John Roog – guitar, backing vocals, percussion
  • Jane Shorter – saxophone, percussion
  • Steve Dewey – engineer, mixing
  • Alan O’Duffy, John Hade, Tom Bailey – mixing
  • Jonathan Phipps – cover art

Track listing:

All the tracks by Tom Bailey, Chris Bell, Peter Dodd, Joe Leeway, John Roog and Jane Shorter, except where noted.

  1. When I See You
  2. Politics
  3. Slave Trade
  4. Could Be Her…Could Be You
  5. Make Believe
  6. Don’t Go Away
  7. The Price
  8. Oumma Aularesso (Animal Laugh) – traditional, arranged by Tom Bailey
  9. Anything Is Good Enough
  10. A Product Of…
  11. Perfect Game
  12. Vendredi Saint – traditiional; arranged by Tom Bailey



In May 1983.

In May 1983,”Zomba Records” label released “Listen”, the second A Flock of Seagulls album. It was recorded 1982-1983, and was produced by Mike Howlett and Bill Nelson.


  • Mike Score– lead vocals, keyboards, guitar
  • Paul Reynolds– lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Frank Maudsley – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Ali Score – drums
  • Dave Hutchins – engineer, recorded by

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Score, Ali Score, Frank Maudsley and Paul Reynolds.

  1. Wishing (If I Had a Photograph of You)
  2. Nightmares
  3. Transfer Affection
  4. What Am I Supposed to Do
  5. Electrics
  6. The Traveller
  7. 2:30
  8. Over the Border
  9. The Fall
  10. (It’s Not Me) Talking

On October 24, 1980.


On October 24, 1980, “Dindisc” label released “Organisation”, the second Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (OMD) album. It was recorded 1980, at “Ridge Farm Studio”  Rusper”, and ;”Advision Studios” in West End, and was produced by OMD and Mike Howlett.”New Musical Express” magazine named “Organisation” as one of the 50 best albums of 1980.


  • Paul Humphreys– synthesizers, electronic organ, electronic and acoustic piano, rhythm programming, acoustic and electronic percussion and vocals
  • Andy McCluskey– synthesizer, bass guitar, electronic organ, treated acoustic piano, rhythm programming, acoustic and electronic percussion and vocals
  • Malcolm Holmes– drums and percussion

Track listing:

  1. Enola Gay – Andy McCluskey
  2. 2nd Thought – Andy McCluskey
  3. VCL XI – Paul Humphreys, Andy McCluskey
  4. Motion and Heart – Paul Humphreys, Andy McCluskey
  5. Statues – Andy McCluskey
  6. The Misunderstanding – Paul Humphreys, Andy McCluskey
  7. The More I See You – Harry Warren, Mack Gordon
  8. Promise – Paul Humphreys
  9. Stanlow – Paul Humphreys, Andy McCluskey

On December 7, 1973.

Angels Egg

On December 7, 1973, “Virgin” label released “Angels Egg”, the fifth Gong album. It was recorded August 1973, at the “Manor Mobile” in France, and was produced by Gong. ”Angels Egg” is the second of the Gong’s “Radio Gnome” trilogy of albums, following “Flying Teapot” and preceding “You”.


  • Bloomdido Bad De Grass (Didier Malherbe) – tenor / soprano  saxophone , floot, bi-focal vocal
  • Shakti Yoni (Gilli Smyth) – space whisper, loin cackle
  • Being esq. (Mike Howlett, spelled Howlitt on composer credits) – basso profundo
  • Capt. Hillage (Steve Hillage) – lewd guitar
  • Hi T. Moonweed (the favourite) (Tim Blake) – Cynthia “size a”, lady voce
  • Pierre de Strasbourg (Pierre Moerlen, spelled Moerlin on composer credits) – bread & batteur drums, vibes, marimba
  • Mirielle de Strasbourg (Mireille Bauer) – glockenspiel
  • Dingo Virgin (Daevid Allen) – local vocals, aluminium croon, glissando guitar

Track listing

  1. Other Side of the Sky – Tim Blake, Daevid Allen
  2. Sold to the Highest Buddha – Mike Howlett, Daevid Allen
  3. Castle in the Clouds – Steve Hillage
  4. Prostitute Poem – Gilli Smyth, Steve Hillage
  5. Givin My Luv to You – Daevid Allen
  6. Selene – Daevid Allen
  7. Flute Salad – Didier Malherbe
  8. Oily Way – Daevid Allen, Didier Malherbe
  9. Outer Temple – Tim Blake, Steve Hillage
  10. Inner Temple – Daevid Allen, Didier Malherbe
  11. Percolations – Pierre Moerlen
  12. Love is How u Make It – Pierre Moerlen, Daevid Allen
  13. I Niver Glid Before – Steve Hillage
  14. Eat That Phone Book Coda – Didier Malherbe