Tag Archives: eighth album

In December 1990.

In December 1990, “Metadigital” label released the self-titled, eighth and the final Kino (Russian: Кино) studio album. It was recorded in 1990, in Plienciems, Latvia, and was produced by Yuri Aizenshpis.  Among the fans it is also known as the “Black Album”.


  • Виктор Цой (Viktor Tsoi) – vocals, guitar
  • Юрий Каспарян (Yuri Kasparyan) – lead guitar
  • Игорь Тихомиров (Igor Tikhomirov) – bass guitar
  • Георгий Гурьянов (Georgy Guryanov) – drum machine

Track listing:

  1. Кончится лето (Summer is Ending)
  2. Красно-жёлтые дни (Reddish-Yellow Days)
  3. Нам с тобой (For You and Me)
  4. Звезда (Star)
  5. Кукушка (Cuckoo)
  6. Когда твоя девушка больна (When Your Girlfriend is Ill)
  7. Муравейник (Anthill)
  8. Следи за собой (Watch Yourself)
  9. Сосны на морском берегу (Pines at the Sea Shore)
  10. Завтра война (War Tomorrow)

In December 1975.

In December 1975, “Impulse” label released “Sizzle”, the eighth Sam Rivers album. It was recorded on December 9, 1975, at “Generation Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Esmond Edwards.


  • Sam Rivers- soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, flute, piano
  • Ted Dunbar- guitar
  • Dave Holland- bass, cello
  • Barry Altschul- drums
  • Warren Smith- drums, vibes, tympani

Track listing:

All tracks by Sam Rivers

  1. Dawn
  2. Flare
  3. Flame
  4. Scud

On November 21, 1989.

On November 21, 1989, “Virgin” label released “Beauty”, the eighth Ryuichi Sakamoto studio album. It was recorded in 1989, at “Take One Studio”, “Zero Studio”, “Onkio Haus”, “Sound Inn Studio” in Tokyo, “Platinum Island Recording Studio”, “Right Tracks Studio”, “Bear Tracks”, “The Power Station” in New York City, “Complex” in Los Angeles, and was produced by  Ryuichi Sakamoto.


  • Ryuichi Sakamoto– vocals, mixing, engineering, arranger, keyboards, piano
  • Arto Lindsay– vocals, rap
  • Brian Wilson– vocals
  • Kazumi Tamaki, Misako Koja – vocals, shamisen
  • Nicky Holland – vocals
  • Yoriko Ganeko – vocals, shamisen, castanets
  • Youssou N’Dour, Laura Shaheen, Robert Wyatt, Jill Jones– vocals
  • Alex Brown, Angel Rogers, Anita Sherman – backing vocals
  • Kirk Crumpler – keyboards, programmer
  • Carlos Lomas, Bun Itakura, Dali Kimoko-N’Dala, Robbie Robertson– guitar
  • Eddie Martinez– guitar, soloist
  • Pino Palladino, Mark Johnson, Larry White – bass
  • Sly Dunbar– drums
  • Pandit Dinesh– tabla
  • Naná Vasconcelos, Paco Yé, Seidou “Baba” Outtara, Sibiri Outtara – percussion
  • Magatie Fall – talking drum
  • Milton Cardona– shekere
  • Shankar– double violin
  • Sang Won Park– zither
  • Sham Guibbory – string section leader
  • Jiang Jian Huo – erhu
  • Greg Calbi, Jason Corsaro – engineer, mixing
  • Ikuo Honma, Kinji Yoshino, Mark Lynette, Naoto Shibuya, Roger Moutenot, Yutaka Arai – engineer
  • Carmen Rizzo– engineer, mixing, programmer
  • Dan Gellert, Douglas Rose, Gary Solomon, John Herman, Junichi Yamazaki , Michael White, Seiichi Yoritomi, Tetsuya Ishizuka, Yuuki Mizutani, Darin Prindle, Kevin Casey, Sylvia Massy– assistant engineer
  • Masaya Nishida, Jeff Bova, Bill Seery – programming
  • Yuji Suguyama – programming, computer operation
  • Shingo Take – sampling

Track listing (Japanese version):

All tracks by Ryuchi Sakamoto.

  1. Calling from Tokyo
  2. A Rose
  3. Asadoya Yunta
  4. Futique
  5. Amore
  6. We Love You
  7. Diabaram
  8. A Pile of Time
  9. Romance
  10. Chinsagu No Hana
  11. Adagio

In November 1984.

In November 1984, “Epic” label released “Aural Sculpture”, the eighth Stranglers album. It was recorded 1983 – 1984, at “ICP Recording Studios” in Brussels, and was produced by Laurie Latham, Hugh Cornwell, Jean-Jacques Burnel,  Dave Greenfield and Jet Black.


  • Hugh Cornwell- vocals, guitar
  • Jean-Jacques Burnel– vocals, bass
  • Dave Greenfield– keyboards
  • Jet Black– percussion
  • Tim Whitehead – saxophone
  • Paul Spong – trumpet
  • Paul Nieman – trombone
  • Carmen Franco – vocals
  • George Chandler, Jimmy Chambers, Tony Jackson – backing vocals
  • Christian “Djoum” Ramon, Erwin Autrique – additional engineering
  • Simon Cantwell – art direction
  • John King – artwork (ear sculpture)
  • John Kisch – front cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Hugh Cornwell, Jean-Jacques Burnel,  Dave Greenfield and Jet Black.

  1. Ice Queen
  2. Skin Deep
  3. Let Me Down Easy
  4. No Mercy
  5. North Winds
  6. Uptown
  7. Punch & Judy
  8. Spain
  9. Laughing
  10. Souls
  11. Mad Hatter



On November 12, 2002.

On November 12, 2002, “Artemis” label released “Loose Screw”, the eighth  Pretenders studio album. It was recorded June 2001 – April 2002, and was produced by Jonathan Quarmby and Kevin Bacon.


  • Chrissie Hynde– lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Adam Seymour– lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Andy Hobson – bass
  • Martin Chambers– drums
  • Kevin Bacon– bass
  • Jonathan Quarmby– keyboards
  • Colin Elliot, Mark “Wiff” Smith– percussion
  • Priscilla Jones, Tom Kelly, Mark Sheridan – backing vocals
  • The Duke Quartet – strings, brass
  • Kick Horns – brass

Track listing:

All tracks by Adam Seymour and Chrissie Hynde, except where noted.

  1. Lie to Me
  2. Time
  3. You Know Who Your Friends Are
  4. Complex Person
  5. Fools Must Die
  6. Kinda Nice, I Like It
  7. Nothing Breaks Like a Heart – Chrissie Hynde, Billy Steinberg, Tom Kelly
  8. I Should Of
  9. Clean Up Woman
  10. The Losing
  11. Saving Grace – Chrissie Hynde, Billy Steinberg, Tom Kelly
  12. Walk like a Panther – Richard Barratt, Jason Buckle, Jarvis Cocker, Dean Honer


In November 1978.

In November 1978, “EMI” label released “Sanctuary”, the eighth J. Geils Band studio album. It was recorded in 1978, at “Longview Farms” in North Brookfield, Massachusetts, “Record Plant Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Seth Justman and Joseph Wissert.


  • Peter Wolf– vocals
  • John Geils– guitar
  • Magic Dick– harmonica
  • Seth Justman– vocals, keyboards
  • Danny Klein– bass
  • Stephen Bladd – vocals, drums
  • Paula Bisacca – layout design
  • David Brown, David Hewitt, Jon Mathias, Kooster McAllister, Frank Pavlich, David Thoener – engineer
  • Jesse Henderson, Jon Mathias – assistant engineer
  • David Thoener – mixing
  • Joe Brescio, Elliot Federman – mastering
  • Mike Ragogna – project director
  • David Richman – production coordionator
  • Seth Justman – arranger
  • Alen MacWeeney, Rob Van Petten – photography
  • John Tobler – linear notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Seth Justman and Peter Wolf, except where noted.

  1. I Could Hurt You
  2. One Last Kiss
  3. Take it Back
  4. Sanctuary
  5. Teresa
  6. Wild Man
  7. I Can’t Believe You
  8. I Don’t Hang Around Much Anymore
  9. Just Can’t Stop Me

On October 1, 2013.

On October 1, 2013, “ANTI” label released “B-Room”, the eighth Dr. Dog album. It was recorded in 2013, and was produced by Nathan Sabatino.


  • Toby “Old Tober” Leaman – vocals, bass, guitar
  • Scott “Mickenz” McMicken – vocals, guitar, bass, Casio, banjo, percussion, autoharp, samples
  • Frank “Fx Mackanoid” McElroy – guitar, vocals
  • Zach “Z.U.” Miller – keyboards, piano, vocals, air organ, guitar
  • Eric “Slick” Slick – drums, percussion, marimba, synth, saxophone, samples
  • Dimitri “Gasoline Monster” Manos – percussion, marimba, drums, effects, samples, autoharp

Track listing:


  1. The Truth
  2. Broken Heart
  3. Minding the Usher
  4. Distant Light
  5. Phenomenon
  6. Too Weak to Ramble
  7. Long Way Down
  8. Cuckoo
  9. Twilight
  10. Rock & Roll
  11. Love
  12. Nellie l