Tag Archives: Karl Jenkins

On May 10, 2020.

On May 10, 2020, John Michael McKenzie died aged 64. He was musician (bass, guitar, backing vocals), member of the bands Global Village Trucking Company and Man. He recorded and performed with Eurythmics, The Pretenders, Alison Moyet, Lionel Richie, Dr. John, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Annette Peacock, Steve Hillage, Noel McCalla, Bob Young, Shusha Guppy, Wham!, Deke Leonard, Morrissey-Mullen, Claire Hamill, Space Monkey, Jim Diamond, Bob Dylan, Al Corley, Jeffrey Lee Pierce, Microdisney, Five Star, Endgames, John Mizarolli, Gary Moore, Ian Paice, Jaki Graham, Don Airey, Richard Bailey, Peter Auty, Billy Bremner, Terry Stannard, Simon Kirke, Earl Slick, Graham Lyle, Chris Thompson, Patti Austin, Latin Quarter, Phil Manzanera, Matt Bianco, Pete Brown, Helen Watson, Kevin Rowland, Shakira, David Bowie, Tina Turner, Eric Burdon, Kajagoogoo, Johnny Mathis, Everything But The Girl, Todd Sharpville, Branford Marsalis, Rui Veloso, Tim Finn, Ive Mendes, Tom Scott, David Dundas, Danny Tenaglia, The Christians, Phenix Horns, Duran Duran’s Andy Taylor, Jimmy Iovine, Dave Stewart, Wild, Leon Ware, Eternal, James Ingram, Francis Rossi, Karl Jenkins, Albert Lee, Barbara Dickson, Davy Spillane, Charles Aznavour, Raw Stylus, Linda Taylor, Blair Cunningham, Andy Newmark, Teresa Teng, Annabel Lamb, Nadirah X, Bob Clearmountain, Mitchell Froom, Arthur Louis, and Reggae Philharmonic Orchestra.

On March 22, 1975.

On March 22, 1975, “Harvest” label released “Bundles”, the eighth Soft Machine  album. It was recorded in July 1974 at “CBS Whitfield St Studios” in London, and was produced by Roy Babbington, Allan Holdsworth, Karl Jenkins, John Marshall and Mike Ratledge.


  • Allan Holdsworth– acoustic, 12-string and electric guitars
  • Roy Babbington– bass guitar
  • Karl Jenkins– oboe, piano, electric piano, soprano saxophone
  • John Marshall– drums, percussion
  • Mike Ratledge– Lowrey Holiday Deluxe organ, Fender Rhodes electric piano, AKS synthesizer
  • Ray Warleigh– alto and bass flute

Track listing

All tracks by Karl Jenkins except where noted.

  1. Hazard Profile Part One
  2. Hazard Profile Part Two (Toccatina)
  3. Hazard Profile Part Three
  4. Hazard Profile Part Four
  5. Hazard Profile Part Five
  6. Gone Sailing – Allan Holdsworth
  7. Bundles
  8. Land of the Bag Snake – Allan Holdsworth
  9. The Man Who Waved at Trains – Mike Ratledge
  10. Peff – Mike Ratledge
  11. Four Gongs Two Drums – John Marshall
  12. The Floating World

On October 30, 1970.

On October 30, 1970, “DJM” label released “Tumbleweed Connection”, the third Elton John studio album. It was recorded March 1970, at “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon.


  • Elton John – lead and backing vocals, piano, Hammond organ
  • Madeline Bell, Tony Burrows, Kay Garner, Tony Hazzard, Tammi Hunt, Dusty Springfield, Heather Wheatman, Yvonne Wheatman – backing vocals
  • Paul Buckmaster– arrangement, conductor, orchestration
  • Brian Dee– Hammond organ
  • Ian Duck – harmonica
  • Lesley Duncan– backing vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Mike Egan – acoustic guitar
  • Herbie Flowers, Dave Glover, Chris Laurence – bass guitar
  • Gordon Huntley – steel guitar
  • Karl Jenkins– oboe
  • Robin Jones – congas, tambourine
  • Skaila Kanga– harp
  • Barry Morgan– drums
  • Dee Murray– backing vocals, bass guitar
  • Nigel Olsson– backing vocals, drums
  • Roger Pope – drums, percussion
  • Caleb Quaye– lead guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Les Thatcher – acoustic guitar, twelve-string acoustic guitar
  • Johnny Van Derek – violin
  • Robin Geoffrey Cable – engineer
  • Gus Skinas – editing
  • David Larkham – art direction, design, cover design, artwork, photography
  • Barry Wentzell, Ian Digby-Ovens – photography
  • John Tobler– liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Elton John and Bernie Taupin, except where noted.

  1. Ballad of a Well-Known Gun
  2. Come Down in Time
  3. Country Comfort
  4. Son of Your Father
  5. My Father’s Gun
  6. Where to Now St. Peter?
  7. Love Song – Lesley Duncan
  8. Amoreena
  9. Talking Old Soldiers
  10. Burn Down the Mission


In June 1976.

In June 1976, “Harvest” label released “Softs”, the ninth Soft Machine studio album. It was recorded January – March 1976, at at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Roy Babbington, John Etheridge, John Marshall, Alan Wakeman and Karl Jenkins.


  • Roy Babbington– bass guitar
  • John Etheridge– acoustic and electric guitars
  • John Marshall– drums, percussion
  • Alan Wakeman– soprano and tenor saxophones
  • Karl Jenkins– piano, electric piano, pianette, string and Mini-Moog synthesizers, orchestrations
  • Mike Ratledge– synthesizer

Track listing:

All tracks by Karl Jenkins except where noted.

  1. Aubade
  2. The Tale ofTaliesin
  3. Ban-BanCaliban
  4. Song ofAeolus
  5. Out of Season
  6. Second Bundle
  7. Kayoo – John Marshall
  8. The Camden Tandem – John Etheridge, John Marshall
  9. Nexus
  10. One Over the Eight – Karl Jenkins, John Marshall, John Etheridge,Alan Wakeman,Roy Babbington
  11. Etika – John Etheridge