Tag Archives: Claire Hamill

On May 10, 2020.

On May 10, 2020, John Michael McKenzie died aged 64. He was musician (bass, guitar, backing vocals), member of the bands Global Village Trucking Company and Man. He recorded and performed with Eurythmics, The Pretenders, Alison Moyet, Lionel Richie, Dr. John, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Annette Peacock, Steve Hillage, Noel McCalla, Bob Young, Shusha Guppy, Wham!, Deke Leonard, Morrissey-Mullen, Claire Hamill, Space Monkey, Jim Diamond, Bob Dylan, Al Corley, Jeffrey Lee Pierce, Microdisney, Five Star, Endgames, John Mizarolli, Gary Moore, Ian Paice, Jaki Graham, Don Airey, Richard Bailey, Peter Auty, Billy Bremner, Terry Stannard, Simon Kirke, Earl Slick, Graham Lyle, Chris Thompson, Patti Austin, Latin Quarter, Phil Manzanera, Matt Bianco, Pete Brown, Helen Watson, Kevin Rowland, Shakira, David Bowie, Tina Turner, Eric Burdon, Kajagoogoo, Johnny Mathis, Everything But The Girl, Todd Sharpville, Branford Marsalis, Rui Veloso, Tim Finn, Ive Mendes, Tom Scott, David Dundas, Danny Tenaglia, The Christians, Phenix Horns, Duran Duran’s Andy Taylor, Jimmy Iovine, Dave Stewart, Wild, Leon Ware, Eternal, James Ingram, Francis Rossi, Karl Jenkins, Albert Lee, Barbara Dickson, Davy Spillane, Charles Aznavour, Raw Stylus, Linda Taylor, Blair Cunningham, Andy Newmark, Teresa Teng, Annabel Lamb, Nadirah X, Bob Clearmountain, Mitchell Froom, Arthur Louis, and Reggae Philharmonic Orchestra.

On November 22, 1979.

On November 22, 1979, “Atlantic” label released “The Steve Howe Album”, the second Steve Howe album. It was recorded in 1979, and was produced by Steve Howe.


  • Steve Howe – acoustic, electric, bass, Spanish, Danelectro sitar and pedal steel guitar, mandolin, six-string banjo, Moog synthesizer, string ensembl
  • Claire Hamill– vocals
  • Ronnie Leahy– Korg & ARP synthesizers, Hammond organ
  • Patrick Moraz– piano
  • Alan White– drums
  • Bill Bruford– drums
  • Clive Bunker– percussion
  • Graham Preskett – violin
  • 59 piece classical orchestra arranged and conducted by Andrew Jackman

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Howe except where noted.

  1. Pennants
  2. Cactus Boogie
  3. All’s a Chord
  4. Diary of a Man Who Vanished
  5. Look Over Your Shoulder
  6. Meadow Rag
  7. The Continental – Con Conrad, Herb Magidson
  8. Surface Tension
  9. Double Rondo – music by Steve Howe, orchestrated by Andrew Jackman
  10. Concerto In D (Second Movement) – Antonio Vivaldi, arranged by Steve Howe

In July 1981.

In July 1981, “Polydor” label released “The Friends of Mr Cairo”, the second Jon and Vangelis album. It was recorded 1980 – 1981 at “Davout Studios” in Paris, and “Nemo Studios” in London, and was produced by Vangelis and Jon Anderson.


  • Jon Anderson – vocals
  • Vangelis – composer, arranger, performer
  • Dick Morrissey– saxophone, flute
  • David Coker – voices
  • Sally Grace– voices
  • Dennis Clarke – saxophone
  • Claire Hamill– backing vocals
  • Carol Kenyon– backing vocals
  • Roger Roche – engineer
  • Raine Shine – engineer
  • Alwyn Clayden – sleeve
  • Veronique Skawinska – photography

Track listing:

  1. The Friends of Mr Cairo
  2. Back to School
  3. Outside of This (Inside of That)
  4. State of Independence
  5. Beside
  6. The Mayflowe


On January 18, 1980.


On January 18, 1980, “MCA” released “Just Testing”, the tenth Wishbone Ash studio album.  It was recorded in 1979, at the “Surrey Sound Studios” and “Kingsway Recorders” in England, and was produced by Martin Turner, John Sherry and Wishbone Ash. It  was the last Wishbone Ash’s album with the bass guitarist and vocalist Martin Turner, until the release of “Nouveau Calls” in 1987.


  • Andy Powell– electric and acoustic guitars, back up vocals
  • Laurie Wisefield– electric and acoustic guitars, back up vocals
  • Martin Turner– lead vocals, bass guitar, acoustic guitar, back up vocals
  • Steve Upton– drums, percussion
  • Claire Hamill– vocal contributions
  • Ian Kew – organ
  • Hipgnosis – art direction, photography
  • Colour prints by Maintide

Track listing:

  1. Living Proof – Laurie Wisefield, Claire Hamil
  2. Haunting Me – Martin Turner
  3. Insomnia – Martin Turner
  4. Helpless – P. Kendrick
  5. Pay the Price – Martin Turner
  6. New Rising Star – Martin Turner
  7. Master of Disguise – Andy Powell
  8. Lifeline – Martin Turner, Andy Powell, Laurie Wisefield, Steve Upton