Tag Archives: Dimitri Tiomkin

On May 3, 2019.

On May 3, 2019, “ABC” label released “Tryst”, album by Kate Ceberano and Paul Grabowsky. It was recorded in 2018, and was produced by Paul Grabowsky and Mal Stanley. In 2019, at the “ARIA Music Awards” it won “Best Jazz Album” award. At the “AIR Awards” of 2020, “Tryst” won “Best Independent Jazz Album or EP” award.


  • Kate Ceberano – vocal
  • Paul Grabowsky – piano
  • Mal Stanley – engineer, mixing, mastering
  • Peter Barrett – design
  • Natasha Curato – photography

Track listing:

  1. Wild Is the Wind – Dimitri Tiomkin, Ned Washington
  2. A Song for You – Leon Russell
  3. For Cilla (medley)
  4. Make You Feel My Love – Bob Dylan
  5. Suzanne
  6. Melange D’Amour (medley)
  7. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face – Ewan MacColl
  8.  I Touch Myself – Christina Amphlett, Tom Kelly, Mark McEntee, Billy Steinberg
  9. Forever Young – Bob Dylan
  10. Skylark – Johnny Mercer, Hoagy Carmichael

On October 1, 1999.

On October 1, 1999, “High Note” label released “Chillin’”, the 29th David “Fathead” Newman album. It was recorded in December 1998, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by David “Fathead” Newman and Houston Person.


  • David “Fathead” Newman– soprano, alto and tenor saxophone, flute
  • John Hicks– piano
  • Bryan Carrott– vibraphone
  • Steve Novosel– bass
  • Winard Harper– drums
  • Cadino Newman – vocals

Track listing:

  1. Take the Coltrane – Duke Ellington
  2. Return to Paradise – Dimitri Tiomkin, Ned Washington
  3. The Whole Tzimmes – David “Fathead” Newman
  4. These Foolish Things – Jack Strachey, Holt Marvell, Harry Link
  5. Invitation – Bronisław Kaper, Paul Francis Webster
  6. Chillin’ – David “Fathead” Newman
  7. Caravan – Juan Tizol, Duke Ellington, Irving Mills
  8. Red Top – Lionel Hampton, Ben Kynard

On August 17, 2010.

On August 17, 2010, “Heads Up”, label released “Chamber Music Society”, the third Esperanza Spalding studio album. It was recorded in October 2009 and was produced by Esperanza Spalding, and Gil Goldstein.


  • Esperanza Spalding– vocals, bass guitar, double bass
  • Milton Nascimento– guest vocals
  • Leo Genovese– piano, electric piano, melodica
  • Terri Lyne Carrington– drums
  • Quintino Cinalli – percussion
  • Entcho Todorov – violin
  • Lois Martin – viola
  • David Eggar – cello
  • Ricardo Vogt – nylon-stringed guitar
  • Gretchen Parlato– backing vocals
  • Gil Goldstein– co-arranger

Track listing:

All tracks by Esperanza Spalding, except where noted.

  1. Little Fly – lyrics by William Blake, music by Esperanza Spalding
  2. Knowledge of Good and Evil
  3. Really Very Small
  4. Chacarera – Leo Genovese
  5. Wild Is the Wind – Dimitri Tiomkin, Ned Washington
  6. Apple Blossom
  7. As a Sprout
  8. What a Friend
  9. Winter Sun
  10. Inútil Paisagem – lyrics byAloísio de Oliveira, music by Antonio Carlos Jobim
  11. Short and Sweet
  12. Midnight Sun – lyrics by Johnny Mercer, music by Lionel Hampton, Sonny Burke


In June 1968.

In June 1968, “Blue Note” label released “Contrasts”, the seventh Larry Young album. It was recorded in September 1967, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Larry Young- organ
  • Althea Young – vocals
  • Hank White – flugelhorn
  • Herbert Morgan – tenor saxophone
  • Tyrone Washington- tenor saxophone
  • Eddie Wright – guitar
  • Eddie Gladden- drums
  • Stacey Edwards – congas

Track listing:

 All tracks by Larry Young except where noted.

  1. Majestic Soul
  2. Evening
  3. Major Affair
  4. Wild Is the Wind – Dimitri Tiomkin, Ned Washington
  5. Tender Feelings – Tyrone Washington
  6. Means Happiness


In January 1978.

In January 1978, “Warner Bros” label released “Open Fire”, the first Ronnie Montrose solo album. It was recorded in 1977, and was produced by Edgar Winter.


  • Ronnie Montrose– guitar, theremin, mandolin, mandocello
  • Edgar Winter- piano, harpsichord, Moog sequencer bass
  • Jim Alcivar- Moog synthesizer, martenot, sequencer programming
  • Alan Fitzgerald– bass
  • Rick Shlosser– drums
  • Bob Alcivar- orchestra arrangement, conductor

Track listing:

  1. Openers – Bob Alcivar
  2. Open Fire – Ronnie Montrose, Edgar Winter
  3. Mandolinia – Ronnie Montrose
  4. Town Without Pity – Dimitri Tiomkin, Ned Washington
  5. Leo Rising – Ronnie Montrose
  6. Heads Up – Ronnie Montrose, Edgar Winter
  7. Rocky Road – J. Thomassie, C. Brent, J. Smith
  8. My Little Mystery – Ronnie Montrose
  9. No Beginning/No End – Ronnie Montrose

In May 1964.

In May 1964, “Columbia” label released “Dance with The Shadows”, the third Shadows studio album. It was recorded in 1964, and was produced by Nome Paramor.


  • Hank Marvin– lead guitar, piano, vocals
  • Bruce Welch– rhythm guitar, vocals
  • John Rostill– bass guitar
  • Brian Locking– bass guitar
  • Brian Bennett– drums
  • Malcolm Addey – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Chattanooga Choo Choo – Mack Gordon, Harry Warren
  2. Blue Shadows – Brian Bennett, Brian ‘Licorice’ Locking, Hank Marvin, Bruce Welch
  3. Fandango – Johnny Bradford, Frank Perkins
  4. Tonight (from West Side Story) – Leonard Bernstein, Stephen Sondheim
  5. That’s the Way It Goes – Hank Marvin, Bruce Welch
  6. Big B – Brian Bennett
  7. In the Mood – Joe Garland, Andy Razaf
  8. Lonely Bull(El Solo Toro) – Sol Lake
  9. Dakota – Alan Braden
  10. French Dressing – Brian Bennett
  11. The High and the Mighty – Dimitri Tiomkin
  12. Don’t It Make You Feel Good – Hank Marvin, Bruce Welch
  13. Zambesi – Nico Carstens, Anton De Waal
  14. Temptation – Nacio Brown, Arthur Freed

On January 23, 1976.


On January 23, 1976, “RCA” label released “Station to Station”, the tenth David Bowie studio album. It was recorded September – November 1975, at the “Cherokee Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by David Bowie and Harry Maslin. In 2003, the album was ranked No. 323 on “Rolling Stone” magazine’s list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • David Bowie– vocals, guitar, tenor and alto saxophone, Moog synthesiser, mellotron
  • Carlos Alomar– guitar
  • Roy Bittan– piano
  • Dennis Davis– drums
  • George Murray– bass guitar
  • Warren Peace– backing vocals
  • Earl Slick– guitar
  • Steve Shapiro –photography

All tracks by David Bowie, except where noted.

  1. Station to Station
  2. Golden Years
  3. Word on a Wing
  4. TVC 15
  5. Stay
  6. Wild Is the Wind – Ned Washington, Dimitri Tiomkin