Tag Archives: January 23

On January 23, 2018.

On January 23, 2018, Hugh Ramopolo Masekela died aged 78. He was musician (trumpeter, flugelhornist, and cornetist), composer and singer, known as “Father of South African Jazz.” He has recorded 49 albums, and received many awards, including:

  • 1968 – Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Pop Performance – instrumental
  • 2002 – BBC Radio Jazz Awards: International Award of the Year
  • 2005 – Channel O Music Video Awards: Lifetime Achievement Award
  • 2007 – Ghana Music Awards: 2007 African Music Legend Award
  • 2010 – Order of Ikhamanga:South African National Orders Ceremony
  • 2014 – University of York Honorary Doctorate in Music
  • 2015 – Rhodes University: Doctor of Music

On January 23, 2016.

On January 23, 2016, James Stewart Bain aka Jimmy Bain, died aged 68. He was musician (bass), has worked with Phil Lynott, Wild Horses, Gary Moore, World War III and Scorpions, but was best known for playing bass in bands Rainbow and Dio.

On January 23, 2015.


On January 23, 2015, “Caroline Records” released “Man It Feels Like Space Again”, the sixth Pond album.It was recorded in 2014, and was produced by Kevin Parker.


  • Nick Allbrook– vocals, guitar, keys, bass, flute, slide guitar and occasional drums
  • Jay “Gumby” Watson– guitar, vocals, drums, bass, keys and synth
  • Shiny Joe Ryan– guitar, bass, vocals, 12 string guitar, slide guitar
  • Jamie Terry – keys, synth, organ and bass
  • Ginolé – drums
  • Artwork – Ben Montero
  • Mastered By – Rob Grant
  • Mixed By – Kevin Parker
  • Recorded By – Kevin Parker, Lukas Glickman

Track listing:

  1. Waiting Around the Grace – Nick Allbrook, Jay “Gumby” Watson, Shiny Joe Ryan
  2. Elvis Flaming Star – Nick Allbrook, Jay “Gumby” Watson, Shiny Joe Ryan
  3. Holding Out for You – Shiny Joe Ryan
  4. Zond – Nick Allbrook, Jay “Gumby” Watson
  5. Heroic Start – Nick Allbrook
  6. Sitting Up on Our Crane – Jay “Gumby” Watson
  7. Outside is the Right Side – Nick Allbrook, Jay “Gumby” Watson
  8. Medicine Hat – Shiny Joe Ryan
  9. Man it Feels Like Space Again – Nick Allbrook, Jay “Gumby” Watson, Shiny Joe Ryan



On January 23, 2007.


On January 23, 2007, “Sub Pop” label released “Wincing the Night Away”, the third The Shins album.  It was recorded in 2005 and 2006, at James Mercer’s basement studio, Phil Ek’s home in Seattle and in Oregon City, and was produced by James Mercer and Joe Chiccarelli.


  • James Mercer– vocals, guitar, bass guitar, synthesizers, ukelele, banjo, cat piano, percussion, beat and MIDI programming
  • Marty Crandall– synthesizers, organ, bass guitar, percussion
  • Dave Hernandez– lead guitar
  • Jesse Sandoval– drums
  • Chris Funk– lap steel guitar , hammered dulcimer, bouzouki
  • Eric D. Johnson– backing vocals, piano
  • Anita Robinson – backing vocals
  • Paloma Griffin – violin
  • Niels Gallaway – French horn
  • Robert Mercer – illustration, design

Track listing:

All tracks by James Mercer.

  1. Sleeping Lessons
  2. Australia
  3. Pam Berry
  4. Phantom Limb
  5. Sea Legs
  6. Red Rabbits
  7. Turn On Me
  8. Black Wave
  9. Split Needles
  10. Girl Sailor
  11. A Comet Appears

On January 23, 2006.


On January 23, 2006, “Domino” label released “Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not”, the debut Arctic Monkeys studio album.  It was recorded June – September 2005, and was produced by Jim Abbiss and Alan Smyth. With sale of more than 360.000, copies in its first week, the album become the fastest selling debut album in British music history and  has gone quintu platinum in the UK. In 2006 it received the “Mercury Prize for Best Album”. In 2013, magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not” at number 371 on its list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”, and the 30th greatest debut album of all time. In October 2013, magazine “New Musical  Express” ranked the album at number 19 in ist poll of the “500 greatest albums of all time”.


  • Alex Turner- lead vocals, guitar
  • Jamie Cook- guitars, backing vocals
  • Andy Nicholson- bass, backing vocals
  • Matt Helders- drums, percussion, co-lead vocals, backing vocals
  • Juno Liverpool – design
  • Alexandra Wolkowicz – photography
  • Andy Brown – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Alex Turner, except where noted.

  1. The View from the Afternoon
  2. I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor
  3. Fake Tales of San Francisco
  4. Dancing Shoes
  5. You Probably Couldn’t See for the Lights But You Were Staring Straight at Me
  6. Still Take You Home
  7. Riot Van
  8. Red Light Indicates Doors Are Secured
  9. Mardy Bum
  10. Perhaps Vampires is a Bit Strong But…
  11. From the Ritz to the Rubble
  12. A Certain Romance


On January 23, 2006.


On January 23, 2006, “Parlaphone” label released “Keys to the World”, the third Richard Ashcroft studio album. It was recorded in 2005, at the “State of the Ark”, and was produced by Chris Potter and Richard Ashcroft.

All tracks by Richard Ashcroft, except where noted.

  1. Why Not Nothing?
  2. Music Is Power – Richard Ashcroft, Curtis Mayfield
  3. Break the Night with Colour
  4. Words Just Get in the Way
  5. Keys to the World
  6. Sweet Brother Malcolm
  7. Cry Til the Morning
  8. Why Do Lovers?
  9. Simple Song
  10. World Keeps Turning


On January 23, 1995.


On January 23, 1995, “EastWest Records” label released “Octopus”, the seventh Human League studio album.  It was recorded in 1994, and was produced by Ian Stanley.


  • Philip Oakey
  • Joanne Catherall
  • Susan Ann Sulley

Track listing:

  1. Tell Me When – Beckett, Philip Oakey
  2. These Are the Days – Philip Oakey, Ian Stanley
  3. One Man in My Heart – Philip Oakey, Neil Sutton
  4. Words – Russell Dennett, Philip Oakey
  5. Filling up with Heaven – Philip Oakey, Ian Stanley
  6. Houseful of Nothing – Beckett, Philip Oakey, Ian Stanley
  7. John Cleese: Is He Funny? – Philip Oakey
  8. Never Again – Jo Callis, Philip Oakey
  9. Cruel Young Lover – Beckett, Russell Dennett, Philip Oakey