Tag Archives: Tony Newman

On March 1, 1978.

On March 1, 1978, “Purple” label released “Northwinds”, the second David Coverdale album. It was recorded March – April 1977, at “Air Studios” in London, and was produced by Roger Glover.


  • David Coverdale- lead vocals, piano, electric piano
  • Micky Moody- guitars, backing vocals
  • Tim Hinkley- keyboards, backing vocals
  • Alan Spenner- bass
  • Tony Newman- drums, percussion
  • Roger Glover- synthesizer, clavinet, cowbell
  • Graham Preskett – violin
  • Lee Brilleaux– harmonica
  • Ronnie James Dio, Wendy Dio – backing vocals
  • Jon Walls – recording engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by David Coverdale, except where noted.

  1. Keep On Giving Me Love – David Coverdale, Micky Moody
  2. Northwinds
  3. Give Me Kindness
  4. Time & Again
  5. Queen of Hearts – David Coverdale, Micky Moody
  6. Only My Soul
  7. Say You Love Me
  8. Breakdown – David Coverdale, Micky Moody

In January 1975.

In January 1975, “RCA” label released “Play Don’t Worry”, the second Mick Ronson album. It was recorded in 1974, at “Trident Studios”, “Scorpio Sound” and “Sundragon Studios” in London, “Strawberry Studios” in Juan La Pins, France, and was produced by Mick Ronson.


  • Mick Ronson– vocals, guitar, bass, drums, harmonica, piano, clavinet, synthesizer, arrangements, mixing
  • Trevor Bolder– bass, horn
  • Mike Garson– piano
  • Ritchie Dharma, Aynsley Dunbar, Tony Newman– drums
  • Jeff Daly – saxophone, flutes
  • Neil Kernon– ARP synthesizer
  • Paul Francis – drums
  • John Mealing– piano
  • Ian Hunter– backing vocals
  • Vicky Silva, Miquel Brown, Beverly Baxton – backing vocals
  • Sid Sax – string conductor
  • Dennis Mackay, Peter Fielder, Ted Sharp, Ray Hendrickson, Ian Major – engineers
  • Clive Arrowsmith- photography

Track listing:

  1. Billy Porter – Mick Ronson
  2. Angel No. 9 – Craig Fuller
  3. This Is for You – Laurie Heath
  4. White Light/White Heat – Lou Reed
  5. Play Don’t Worry – Mick Ronson, Bob Sargeant
  6. Hazy Days – Mick Ronson
  7. Girl Can’t Help It – Bobby Troup
  8. Empty Bed (Io Me Ne Andrei) – Claudio Baglioni, Antonio Coggio, Mick Ronson
  9. Woman – Adam Taylor

In June 1976.

In June 1976, “Harvest” label released “Yes We Have No Mañanas (So Get Your Mañanas Today)”, the seventh Kevin Ayers studio album. It was recorded in 1976, at “Basing Street Studios” in London, and was produced by Muff Winwood.


  • Kevin Ayers- guitar, vocals
  • Billy Livsey– keyboards
  • Charlie McCracken – bass
  • J. Cole- steel guitar
  • Tony Newman- drums
  • Roger Pope – drums
  • Rick Wills- bass
  • Zoot Money- keyboards
  • Andy Roberts – guitar,
  • Nick Rowley – keyboards
  • Ollie Halsall– guitar
  • Rob Townsend- drums, percussion
  • Roger Saunders – guitar
  • Mickey Feat – bass
  • Pip Williams, David Bedford- arranger

Track listing:

  1. Star– Kevin Ayers
  2. Mr Cool – Kevin Ayers
  3. The Owl – Kevin Ayers
  4. Love’s Gonna Turn You Round – Kevin Ayers
  5. Falling In Love Again- Connelly , Hollander
  6. Help Me – Kevin Ayers
  7. Ballad Of Mr Snake – Kevin Ayers
  8. Everyone Knows The Song– Kevin Ayers
  9. Yes I Do – Kevin Ayers
  10. Blue – Kevin Ayers

In June 1969.

In June 1969, “Columbia” label released “Beck-Ola”, the second Jeff Beck album. It was recorded in April 1969, at “De Lane Lea Studios”, “Abbey Road Studios  and  “Trident Studios” in London; “Mirasound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Mickie Most.


  • Jeff Beck– guitars, backing vocals
  • Rod Stewart– vocals
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano, organ
  • Ronnie Wood– bass
  • Tony Newman– drums
  • Micky Waller– drums

Track listing:

  1. All Shook Up – Otis Blackwell, Elvis Presley
  2. Spanish Boots – Ronnie Wood, Jeff Beck, Rod Stewart
  3. Girl From Mill Valley – Nicky Hopkins
  4. Jailhouse Rock – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  5. Plynth (Water Down the Drain) – Nicky Hopkins, Ronnie Wood, Rod Stewart
  6. The Hangman’s Knee – Tony Newman, Jeff Beck, Nicky Hopkins, Rod Stewart, Ronnie Wood
  7. Rice Pudding – Nicky Hopkins, Ronnie Wood, Jeff beck, Tony Newman

On May 24, 1974.


On May 24, 1974, “RCA” label released “Diamond Dogs”, the eighth David Bowie studio album. It was recorded January 1974 – February 1974, at “Island Studios” and “Olympic Studios” in London, “Ludolph Studios”, in Nederhorst den Berg, and was produced by David Bowie. Thematically, the album is mixture of the George Orwell’s novel “1984” and Bowie’s vision of a post-apocalyptic world.


  • David Bowie- vocals, guitars, saxes, Moog synthesizer, Mellotron, mixing engineer
  • Earl Slick- guitar
  • Mike Garson- keyboards
  • Herbie Flowers- bass guitar
  • Tony Newman- drums
  • Aynsley Dunbar- drums
  • Alan Parker- guitar
  • Tony Visconti- strings, mixing engineer
  • Keith Harwood- engineer, mixing engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by David Bowie, except where noted.

  • 1.      Future Legend
  • 2.      Diamond Dogs
  • 3.      Sweet Thing
  • 4.      Candidate
  • 5.      Sweet Thing (Reprise)
  • 6.      Rebel Rebel
  • 7.      Rock ‘n’ Roll with Me – Bowie, Warren Peace
  • 8.      We Are the Dead
  • 9.      1984
  • 10. Big Brother
  • 11. Chant of the Ever Circling Skeletal Family

On March 11, 1977.


On March 11, 1977, “EMI” label released “Dandy in the Underworld”, the twelfth and the final T. Rex studio album. It was recorded in August 1976, at “MRI Studios” in Los Angeles, “United Decibel Studios”, “AIR Studios” and “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Marc Bolan.


  • Marc Bolan– vocals, guitar, bass guitar, percussion, maracas, tambourine
  • Steve Harley, Alfalpha, Nick Laird-Clowes, Andy Harley, Sam Harley, Gloria Jones, Colin Jacas  – backing vocals
  • Dino Dines– keyboards
  • Tony Newman– drums
  • Herbie Flowers, Scott Edwards – bass guitar
  • Paul Humphrey– drums
  • Miller Anderson– guitar
  • Steve Currie– bass guitar
  • Davy Lutton – drums
  • Chris Mercer – saxophone
  • Bud Beadle – saxophone, flute
  • B. Long– violin

Track listing:

All tracks by Marc Bolan.

  1. Dandy in the Underworld
  2. Crimson Moon
  3. Universe
  4. I’m a Fool for You Girl
  5. I Love to Boogie
  6. Visions of Domino
  7. Jason B. Sad
  8. Groove a Little
  9. The Soul of My Suit
  10. Hang Ups
  11. Pain and Love
  12. Teen Riot Structure