Tag Archives: Broadway

In March 1962.

In March 1962, “Verve” label released “Rhythm Is My Business”, album by Ella Fitzgerald. It was recorded on January 30 and 31, 1962, and was produced by Norman Granz.


  • Ella Fitzgerald- vocals
  • Taft Jordan, Ernie Royal, Joe Wilder – trumpet
  • Melba Liston, Kai Winding, Britt Woodman – trombone
  • Carl Davis, Jerry Dodgion, William Shakesnider, Les Taylor, Phil Woods – reeds
  • Hank Jones- piano
  • Mundell Lowe- guitar
  • Lucille Dixon, George Duvivier – double bass
  • Gus Johnson- drums
  • Bill Doggett- arranger, conductor, organ

Track listing:

  1. Rough Ridin’ – Ella Fitzgerald, Hank Jones, William Tennyson
  2. Broadway – Billy Bird, Teddy McRae, Henri Woode
  3. You Can Depend On Me – Charles Carpenter, Louis Dunlap, Earl Hines
  4. Runnin’ Wild – Arthur Gibbs, Joe Grey, Leo Wood
  5. Show Me the Way to Get Out of This World ‘Cause That’s Where Everything Is – Les Clark, Matt Dennis
  6. I’ll Always Be In Love With You – Bud Green, Herman Ruby, Sam H. Stept
  7. Hallelujah, I Love Him So – Ray Charles
  8. I Can’t Face the Music – Rube Bloom, Ted Koehler
  9. No Moon at All – Redd Evans, Dave Mann
  10. Laughin’ on the Outside – Ben Raleigh, Bernie Wayne
  11. After You’ve Gone – Henry Creamer, Turner Layton

On December 12, 1980.


On December 12, 1980, “CBS” label released “Sandinista!”, the fourth Clash studio album. The triple album 36 songs were recorded February – August 1980, at “Pluto Studios” in Manchester; “The Power Station” in New York, “Electric Lady Studios”, New York City, “Channel One Studios” in Kingston, and  at “Wessex Studios” in London, and was produced by Mikey Dread, Joe Strummer, Mick Jones, Paul Simonon and Topper Headon. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Sandinista” on number 404, on it’s list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”; Sandinista! was voted best album of the year in the Pazz & Jop critics poll in The Village Voice and in 2012, “Slant” magazine ranked the album at number 85 on its “Best Albums of the 1980s”.


  • Joe Strummer– lead vocals, guitars
  • Mick Jones– guitars, vocals
  • Paul Simonon– bass, vocals
  • Topper Headon– drums, vocals
  • Tymon Dogg – vocals, violin, keyboard
  • Mickey Gallagher(Blockheads) – keyboards
  • Norman Watt-Roy(Blockheads) – bass
  • Ellen Foley- co-lead vocal
  • Davey Payne(Blockheads) – saxophone
  • Den Hegarty(Darts) – vocals
  • Luke & Ben Gallagher – vocals
  • Maria Gallagher – coda vocals
  • Gary Barnacle– saxophone
  • Arthur Edward “Bill” Barnacle – trumpet
  • Jody Linscott– percussion
  • Ivan Julian(Voidoids) – guitar
  • Noel ‘Tempo’ Bailey – guitar
  • Lew Lewis(Eddie and the Hot Rods) – harmonica

Track listing:

All tracks by the

Joe Strummer, Mick Jones, Paul Simonon and Topper Headon, except where noted.

  1. The Magnificent Seven
  2. Hitsville K.
  3. Junco Partner
  4. Ivan Meets G.I.Joe
  5. The Leader
  6. Something About England
  7. Rebel Waltz
  8. Look Here – Mose Allison
  9. The Crooked Beat
  10. Somebody Got Murdered
  11. One More Time –Joe Strummer, Mick Jones, Paul Simonon, Topper Headon, Mikey Dread
  12. One More Dub – Joe Strummer, Mick Jones, Paul Simonon, Topper Headon,  Mikey Dread
  13. Lightning Strikes
  14. Up in Heaven
  15. Corner Soul
  16. Let’s Go Crazy
  17. If Music Could Talk – Joe Strummer, Mick Jones, Paul Simonon, Topper Headon, Mikey Dread
  18. The Sound of Sinners
  19. Police on My Back – Eddy Grant
  20. Midnight Log
  21. The Equaliser
  22. The Call Up
  23. Washington Bullets
  24. Broadway
  25. Lose This Skin – Tymon Dogg
  26. Charlie Don’t Surf
  27. Mensforth Hill
  28. Junkie Slip
  29. Kingston Advice
  30. The Street Parade
  31. Version City
  32. Living in Fame – Joe Strummer, Mick Jones, Paul Simonon, Topper Headon, Mikey Dread
  33. Sillicone on Sapphire
  34. Version Pardner
  35. Career Opportunities
  36. Shepherds Delight

On September 14, 1970.

The Byrds - Untitled

On September 14, 1970, “Columbia Records” released The Byrds ninth album “Untitled”. The double album features live concert recordings from February 28, 1970, at the “Colden Center Auditorium”, Queens College, in New York, and from March 1, 1970, at the “Felt Forum”, in New York, and new compositions, recorded from May 26 – June 11, 1970, at the “Columbia Studios”, in Hollywood, CA. This is band’s first official release of any live recordings and first appearance on a Byrds’ record of new member Skip Battin, who had replaced the band’s previous bass player, John York, in 1969. The studio material features new composed tracks, self-penned material, including a songs composed by Byrds leader Roger McGuinn and “Broadway” theatre director Jacques Levy for a country rock musical that the pair were developing. The album was produced by Terry Melcher and Jim Dickson.


  • Roger McGuinn- guitar, Moog synthesizer, vocals
  • Clarence White- guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Skip Battin- electric bass, vocals
  • Gene Parsons- drums, guitar, harmonica, vocals
  • Gram Parsons- backing vocal
  • Terry Melcher- piano
  • Byron Berline- fiddle
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow- pedal steel guitar

Track listing:

Side 1 (live)

  1. Lover of the Bayou – Roger McGuinn and Jacques Levy
  2. Positively 4th Street – Bob Dylan
  3. Nashville West – Gene Parsons and Clarence White
  4. So you want to be a Rock ‘n’ Roll star – Roger McGuinn and Chris Hillman
  5. Tambourine man – Bob Dylan
  6. Spaceman – Roger McGuinn

Side 2 (live)

  1. Eight miles high – Gene Clark, Roger McGuinn and David Crosby

Side 3 (studio)

  1. Chestnut Mare – Roger McGuinn and Jacques Levy
  2. Truck stop girl – Lowell George and Bill Payne
  3. All the things – Roger McGuinn and Jacques Levy
  4. Yesterday’s train – Gene Parsons and Skip Battin
  5. Hungry planet – Skip Battin, Kim Fowley and Roger McGuinn

Side 4 (studio)

  1. Just a season – Roger McGuinn and Jacques Levy
  2. Take a whiff on me – Huddie Ledbetter, John Lomax and Alan Lomax
  3. You all look alike – Skip Battin and Kim Fowley
  4. Well come back home – Skip Battin