Tag Archives: Polydor

In April 1985.

In April 1985, “Polydor” label released “Across a Crowded Room”, the third Richard Thompson solo album. It was recorded September-October 1984, at “RAK Studios” in London, and was prod Joe Boyd.


  • Richard Thompson– guitar, vocals
  • Bruce Lynch– bass guitar
  • Dave Mattacks– drums
  • Dave Bitelli(de) – alto saxophone
  • Pete Thomas– tenor saxophone
  • Simon Nicol– guitar
  • Christine Collister, Phil Barnes, Clive Gregsonand The Soultanas – backing vocals
  • Alan Dunn – accordion
  • Philip Pickett– shawm, crumhorn, recorder and symphony.

Track listing:

All tracks by Richard Thompson

  1. When the Spell Is Broken
  2. You Don’t Say
  3. I Ain’t Going to Drag My Feet No More
  4. Love in a Faithless Country
  5. Fire in the Engine Room
  6. Walking Through a Wasted Land
  7. Little Blue Number
  8. She Twists the Knife Again
  9. Ghosts in the Wind



In April 1976.

In April 1976, “Polydor” label released the debut, self-titled Pat Travers album. It was recorded in 1976, and was produced by Emil Zoghby and Pat Travers.


  • Pat Travers- guitar, keyboard, vocals
  • Peter ‘Mars’ Cowling- bass
  • Roy Dyke- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Pat Travers; except where noted.

  1. Stop and Smile
  2. Feelin’ Right
  3. Magnolia – J. Cale
  4. Makes No Difference
  5. Boom Boom (Out Goes the Lights) – Stan Lewis
  6. Mabellene – Chuck Berry, Russ Fratto, Alan Freed
  7. Hot Rod Lincoln – Charlie Ryan, W. S. Stevenson
  8. As My Life Flies – Pat Travers, S. Traver
  9. Medley Parts 1 & 2

In April 1974.

In April 1974, “Polydor” label released “Hamburger Concerto”, the fourth Focus studio album. It was recorded January-March 1974, at “Olympic Sound Studios” and was produced by Mike Vernon.The album title track is based on Variations on a Theme by Haydn by Johannes Brahms. “Delitae Musicae”,


  • Thijs van Leer– organ, flute, piano, harpsichord, moog, vocals
  • Jan Akkerman– guitar
  • Bert Ruiter– bass guitar
  • Colin Allen– drums

Track listing:

  1. Harem Scarem – Thijs van Leer
  2. La Cathedrale de Strasbourg – Thijs van Leer
  3. Birth – Jan Akkerman
  4. Hamburger Concerto
  • Starter – Thijs van Leer
  • Rare – Jan Akkerman
  • Medium I – Thijs van Leer
  • Medium II – Jan Akkerman
  • Well Done – Thijs van Leer
  • One for the Road – Jan Akkerman


In April 1970.

In April 1970, “Polydor” label released “Cucumber Castle”, the seventh Bee Gees studio album. It was recorded May – October1969 at “IBC Studios” in London, and was produced by Barry Gibb, Maurice Gibb, and Robert Stigwood.  The album featured songs from their television special of the same name, which was named after a song on their 1967 album “Bee Gees 1st”.


  • Barry Gibb– lead, harmony and backing vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Maurice Gibb– harmony and backing vocals, bass guitar, acoustic and electric guitar, piano, Mellotron; lead vocals, drums
  • Colin Petersen– drums
  • Vince Melouney– guitar
  • P. Arnold– backing vocals
  • Terry Cox– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Barry Gibb and Maurice Gibb, except where noted.

  1. If Only I Had My Mind on Something Else
  2. “O.I.O.
  3. Then You Left Me
  4. The Lord
  5. I Was the Child
  6. I Lay Down and Die
  7. Sweetheart
  8. Bury Me Down By the River
  9. My Thing
  10. The Chance of Love
  11. Turning Tide – Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb
  12. Don’t Forget to Remember

In March 1987.

In March 1987, “Polydor” label released “Running in the Family”, the seventh Level 42 studio album. It was recorded in 1986, at “Sarm West” and “Maison Rouge”, and was produced by Wally Badarou, Mark King, Phil Gould, Boon Gould, Wally Badarou, Mike Lindup, Gary Barnacle and Krys Mach. The album was certified 2 x Platinum in the UK by “BPI”.

  • Mark King– bass, lead vocals
  • Phil Gould– drums
  • Boon Gould– lead and rhythm guitars
  • Wally Badarou– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Mike Lindup– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Gary Barnacle– saxophone
  • Krys Mach – saxophone

Track listing:

  1. Lessons in Love – Wally Badarou,  Gould, Mark King
  2. Children Say – Mark King, Mike Lindup, Phi Gould
  3. Running in the Family – Phil Gould, Wally Badarou, Mark King
  4. It’s Over – Mark King, R. Gould, Wally Badarou
  5. To Be with You Again – Mark King, R. Gould
  6. Two Solitudes – Mark King, Phil Gould, Mike Lindup
  7. Fashion Fever – Mark King, Phil Gould, R. Gould, Mike Lindup
  8. The Sleepwalkers – Mark King, Phil Gould
  9. Freedom Someday – Mark King, Phil Gould, R. Gould, Mike Lindup


In March 1982.

In March 1982, “Polydor” label released “The Anvil”, the second Visage studio album. It was recorded in 1981, at “Mayfair Studios” in London, and was produced by Midge Ure, Steve Strange, Dave Formula, Billy Currie and Rusty Egan. The album’s front cover photograph was taken by Helmut Newton.


  • Steve Strange– lead vocals
  • Midge Ure– guitars, backing vocals, synthesizer
  • Dave Formula– synthesizer
  • Billy Currie– electric violin, synthesizer
  • Rusty Egan– drums, backing vocals, electronic drums
  • Barry Adamson– bass
  • Gary Barnacle– saxophone
  • Perri Lister– backing vocals
  • Lorraine Whitmarsh – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Billy Currie, Rusty Egan, Dave Formula, Steve Strange and Midge Ure.

  1. The Damned Don’t Cry
  2. Anvil (Night Club School)
  3. Move Up
  4. Night Train
  5. The Horseman
  6. Look What They’ve Done
  7. Again We Love
  8. Wild Life
  9. Whispers


In March 1978.

In March 1978, “Polydor” label released “Champagne Jam” the seventh Atlanta Rhythm Section album. It was recorded 1977-1978, at “Studio One” in Doraville, Georgia, and was produced by Buddy Buie and Robert Nix.


  • Barry Bailey – electric guitar
  • Jo Jo Billingsley – vocals
  • Buddy Buie – vocals
  • R. Cobb – guitar, electric guitar, vocals
  • Dean Daughtry – keyboards
  • Paul Davis – vocals
  • Paul Goddard – bass guitar
  • Ronnie Hammond – vocals, background vocals
  • Robert Nix – drums, background vocals
  • Artimus Pyle- percussion
  • Engineer: Rodney Mills
  • Mixing: Rodney Mills
  • Mastering: Bob Ludwig & Rodney Mills at Masterdisk
  • Art direction: Mike McCarty
  • Design: Mike McCarty
  • Photography: Rick Diamond

Track listing:

  1. Large Time – Barry Bailey, Buddy Buie, Robert Nix
  2. I’m Not Gonna Let It Bother Me Tonight – Buddy Buie, Dean Daughtry, Robert Nix
  3. Normal Love – Buddy Buie, R. Cobb, Dean Daughtry, Robert Nix
  4. Champagne Jam – Buddy Buie, R. Cobb, Robert Nix
  5. Imaginary Lover – Buddy Buie, Dean Daughtry, Robert Nix
  6. The Ballad of Lois Malone – Barry Bailey, Buddy Buie, Dean Daughtry, Robert Nix
  7. The Great Escape – Barry Bailey, Buddy Buie, Robert Nix
  8. Evileen – Buddy Buie, Dean Daughtry, Robert Nix
  9. NITP – Dean Daughtry, Buddy Buie