On May 24, 1974.


On May 24, 1974, “RCA” label released “Diamond Dogs”, the eighth David Bowie studio album. It was recorded January 1974 – February 1974, at “Island Studios” and “Olympic Studios” in London, “Ludolph Studios”, in Nederhorst den Berg, and was produced by David Bowie. Thematically, the album is mixture of the George Orwell’s novel “1984” and Bowie’s vision of a post-apocalyptic world.


  • David Bowie- vocals, guitars, saxophones, Moog synthesizer, Mellotron, mixing
  • Earl Slick- guitar
  • Alan Parker- guitar
  • Mike Garson- keyboards
  • Herbie Flowers- bass guitar
  • Tony Newman- drums
  • Aynsley Dunbar- drums
  • Tony Visconti- strings, mixing
  • Keith Harwood- engineer, mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by David Bowie, except where noted.

  • 1.      Future Legend
  • 2.      Diamond Dogs
  • 3.      Sweet Thing
  • 4.      Candidate
  • 5.      Sweet Thing (Reprise)
  • 6.      Rebel Rebel
  • 7.      Rock ‘n’ Roll with Me – David Bowie, Warren Peace
  • 8.      We Are the Dead
  • 9.      1984
  • 10. Big Brother
  • 11. Chant of the Ever Circling Skeletal Family

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.